RSS

“The Fall Guy”

12 Feb

 

8.10   arrived in office in usual dozy mode

8.15   switched computer on

8.20   Checked office email – (yawn!)

8.25   Checked personal email – (almost as big a yawn!)

8.26   Checked Blog – Blog still working but the theme has gone.  Blog is now in most basic format.  WordPress site looks the same as mine as do other WordPress blogs.  Non WordPress blogs sites seem ok.  This is not looking good. 

8.30   Checked WordPress forums to see if anyone else has this problem.  The whole world seems to have this problem with huge numbers of WordPress blogs reduced to basic format.  This is accompanied by much wailing and gnashing of teeth by disgruntled bloggers threatening to sue or at best castigate (sp) the offenders.

8.32   Wrote a disclaimer on the blog in case anyone turns up advising them it’s WordPress that’s all screwed up, not their computer and I don’t want castigated (sp) either.

8.34   Decided to edit the letters in my warning to BOLD to make the warning more obvious…

 

…and that’s where my problems begin!  

 

8.35   Noticed Outlook Express had shut down and reopened.  Strange?  Doesn’t normally do that.

8.36  Now I seem to have been turfed off the internet by the office security software and it wants me to sign in again.  I type in my username and password.

8.37   The security commeseriat identifies me as a potential threat to national security (doesn’t everyone) and denies me access to the internet.  I try again a few times to no avail then phone our computer helpline.  I am told someone will call me shortly.  I ask them not to call me Shortly.  I haven’t been called that since I was at school.

9.10   Phone call from the computer helpline.  Seems I’ve been a naughty boy because the WordPress “theme” fiasco has convinced our office satellite of MI5 that there are “sex acts”  taking place on my blog.  This is a shame because I don’t seem to be able to access the blog at the minute to verify whether or not this is the case.

9.11   I’m told to be a good chap and please keep away from my blog as there is currently a significant virus contamination of the organisation’s computers and it looks like huge numbers of  them are going to need their software rebuilt from scratch.   I’m just a minor irritation that they’d rather not have to deal with and apart from that if I make a nuisance of myself again they’ll pin the whole virus contamination fiasco on me.  Have a nice Day.

 
3 Comments

Posted by on February 12, 2009 in General Drivel

 

3 responses to ““The Fall Guy”

  1. beatingthebounds

    February 12, 2009 at 10:01 pm

    Passed me by completely.

     
  2. fatdogwalks

    February 12, 2009 at 10:31 pm

    Was sorted out by lunchtime. I can’t even see the post in the Forums for it now. It was pretty spectacular – a white background with everything forming a long list down the LHS of the screen. Ironically my office computer, which mangles galleries and distributes the photos randomly around the screen, seemed to like this format and for once behaved impecably…until it shut me out that is.

    Your blog was well and truly mangled as well btw Mark (lol). Doesn’t seem to have had any lasting effects thankfully.

     
  3. Tessa Park

    February 15, 2009 at 6:27 pm

    I hate it when random IT stuff happens! 😦

     

Leave a Reply

 
