RSS

Geocaching – Day 1

28 Feb

A New Hobby – A Bright New Dawn

(you would think…wouldn’t you?)

I was given a new toy for Christmas, a Garmin Etrex Vista CX.  Not that I really needed one, but I reckoned J felt that the insurance company would be more likely to shelve out if I had all possible safety gear with me.

All I had to do now was get it to work.

Since I have to dog walk even though I’m not off on a trip to the wilds, I thought I may as well do something creative…and geocaching sprang to mind.  Could be fun a wee bit of a treasure hunt and see things I wouldn’t normally have bothered about.  I checked out the main site and found a couple of local caches.

I was impressed that I managed to download the coordinates into my GPS without too much difficulty other than, I suppose, having to update the Garmin drivers because the software they supplied was so out of date it didn’t work with Windows Vista.

All that was left to do was head the 5 minutes down the road in the car to Plean Country Park and let the quest begin…

So why didn’t we find the cache?

Well…I was within, I would say, about 3m of the cache when I found the GPS a bit vague.  One minute it was 3m one way…2 steps further on it was 6m in a totally different direction.  Not being used to the vagaries of my little box of tricks I decided to check out the clue that went with the cache (left at home 😳 ) to make it easier to find…then once I’ve found the cache check the co-ords to see if it was me or the machine.  Suppose I could have triangulated it from a series of points…but that just seemed like a little too much like hard work :D.

Certainly added a bit of spice to the normal dog walking plod!  We will return – ain’t no way a small tupperware box is gonna beat me!

 
19 Comments

Posted by on February 28, 2009 in General Drivel

 

19 responses to “Geocaching – Day 1

  1. scott

    February 28, 2009 at 5:34 pm

    I did a spot of accidental geocaching once. I was wandering up Meikle Bin and had stopped (I won’t say exactly where!) for a wee break when Molly wandered happily past with a tupperware container clamped firmly in her jaws. I assumed it was someone’s lost lunch, but closer inspection revealed it was indeed a geocache. There was an email address still legible so I did my civic duty and told the folk who’d stashed it that they were lucky it wisny the Wee Black Dug that found it or she’d have scoffed the contents regardless of the fact they weren’t actually food.

    :0)

     
  2. FOC

    February 28, 2009 at 8:04 pm

    Think I can see it in the; It’s so close I can almost smell it… photo

     
  3. Anonymous

    February 28, 2009 at 10:44 pm

    Hi Ken

    I sometimes like to try and find a nearby cache when hillwalking. I feel a bit like a plonker getting excited about finding a tupperware box filled with cheap trinkets you would otherwise throw away!! It is good to practice using your GPS instead of leaving in the bottom of your rucksack till the day your need it in earnest.

    Irene

     
  4. Anonymous

    February 28, 2009 at 10:46 pm

    Ken

    I thought I was registered on this site but can’t see where to log in. What chance have I got navigating on the hills if I can’t find my way round a website!!!

    Irene

     
  5. fatdogwalks

    March 1, 2009 at 7:49 pm

    Scott:

    I just about went after that one…didn’t realise I was going to have to chase a dog all over the hill to get it 😆 ! I have read of ones with food in 😕 …and not unsurprisingly these caches becoming soggy because rats are gnawing their way in!

     
  6. fatdogwalks

    March 1, 2009 at 7:51 pm

    FOC:

    Welcome to the blog 😀 . Many thanks for taking the time to comment.

    You’re right about the wall…the cache was a wee bit along the wall from there. I take it you’ve been to this one?

     
  7. fatdogwalks

    March 1, 2009 at 7:53 pm

    Irene:

    You figured out how not to be anonymous yet 😆 ?

     
  8. craggy-irene

    March 1, 2009 at 9:15 pm

    Not yet, Ken!

     
  9. craggy-irene

    March 1, 2009 at 9:16 pm

    I am talking rubbish…….YES!!!!

     
  10. fatdogwalks

    March 1, 2009 at 11:19 pm

    A massive round of applause echoes around every corner of the blog!!!!

    Well done Irene 😆 😆 😆

     
  11. Andrew

    March 2, 2009 at 12:04 am

    I still seem to be anonymous.
    I know that i registered and had a piccie of my good self dangling down the In pin but it seems to have gone.
    No idea how to put the smileys in either.

     
  12. fatdogwalks

    March 2, 2009 at 12:29 am

    Andrew,

    Irene had the same problem but just managed to solve it. My fault I’m afraid – I made it easier to post so you don’t have to sign in but in doing that it seems that something else needs to be done to stop you being anonymous. I tried to log in as someone else to try to find out but my machine keeps recognising me. Have a word with Irene.

     
  13. craggy-irene

    March 2, 2009 at 4:47 pm

    Hi Andrew

    I just added my log in name and email address to the boxes above your message and lo and behold my photo and name just appeared! It is great not to be anonymous!!!

     
  14. Midgefodder

    March 3, 2009 at 5:33 pm

    Thanks Irene.
    All we need to learn now is how to put the smileys in
    Cheers

     
  15. Midgefodder

    March 3, 2009 at 5:40 pm

    Hurrah it works

     
  16. craggy-irene

    March 3, 2009 at 9:59 pm

    🙂

     
  17. craggy-irene

    March 3, 2009 at 10:25 pm

    Need to try out some other smilies. Don’t know if they will work or not.
    8:]
    P-)
    3:-o

     
  18. craggy-irene

    March 3, 2009 at 10:25 pm

    rubbish didn’t work!

     
  19. fatdogwalks

    March 3, 2009 at 10:44 pm

    I’m afraid it may be the case that only the ones from the list I sent you will work on wordpress, Irene. 😦

     

Leave a Reply

 
