RSS

Lurking at the “Broch and Castle”

09 Mar

With a weather forecast heralding the return of strong winds, sleet and snow there was no way I would be able to persuade the Fatdog to go hillwalking.  I of course would have been only too delighted to have plodded uphill through the saturated gloom into a howling gale and driving snow for hour upon miserable hour, but I just couldn’t bring myself to make the Fatdog suffer.  We did a bit of geocaching instead.  A truly magnanimous gesture on my part, I thought, as we plodded through the saturated gloom into the howling gale and the driving snow towards the old “blue hole” water tank near to Torwood Castle.


It was never going to be a great day weather-wise.  The forecast showed a swathe of rain and snow moving eastwards across the country and I saw nothing in the sky to suggest it might be otherwise.  On a better day I would have walked up to Torwood from Denny via a now well established public “Right of Way” network but with today’s dodgy forecast I opted for the closer starting point of Torwood at the gap site “car park” up the right of way track from the village.  This parking spot had the benefit of being only 20m from the forest trail up to the broch and more importantly the shelter of the trees should the sky turn nasty.

The path through the forest

A fallen tree

A fallen tree

Broch dead ahead!

Broch dead ahead!

Although I had the coordinates for the broch cache in my GPS I didn’t need them, I had been at the broch a few times since my first visit circa1964.  This forest hadn’t been planted then and the views to the Forth seen on that glorious day were now only a distant memory as the surrounding trees have blocked almost all the panorama other than a restricted view to the west.  We took less than 10 minutes to reach the hilltop ruins.

An entrance way beckons...

An mysterious entrance way beckons...

There appears to have been little by way of formal excavation of the broch other than the first excavation carried out by Colonel Dundas of Carronhall (who thought it was a burial mound) in 1864 and a survey by the RCAHMS in the 1950s.  The lack of Roman finds has suggested a post Roman date for the structure but I have also seen possible dates ranging from 500BC to between 1st and 2nd Roman occupations.  It has a strategic position near to the line of a Roman Road which I imagine has driven thinking towards the post Roman period.

Anyway…that’s it for the history lesson, It was time to whip out the trowels with a view to putting in a trench in our quest for a post millennium plastic tub full of seriously worthless artefacts.  Squeezing through the narrow masonry lined entranceway into the walled, near circular, tower beyond was very Indiana Jones, but it was to be no snake infested dusty tomb for us.  Collapsed rubble and a few old beer cans left by the local “Picts”, dubbed by the Roman legionnaires as “Painus in Arsium Maximus”, welcomed us to a major site of our ancient past.

Squeezing through the narrow masonry lined entranceway into the walled, near circular, tower beyond was very Indiana Jones...

The clue said the cache was hidden at the wall opposite the entranceway.  I measured the rocks for the size of crane I would require for my site clearance work and was tentatively pulling at the odd immovable object (while cursing my inability to locate, yet again, one of these cunning wee plastic boxes)…when I noticed the second entranceway.  We were digging in the wrong place!   This was becoming more Indiana Jones by the minute. 

Definitely 2 entrances!

Definitely 2 entrances!

The Fatdog prepares for a leap of faith

The Fatdog prepares for a "leap of faith"

Minutes later I was opening my newly discovered Tupperware receptacle to see what this “Ark” contained.  Thankfully my face failed to turn to instant runny play dough and I put the eerie wailing noises down to the machinations of the Fatdog’s stomach.

The Fatdog and her prize!

The Fatdog and her prize!

A last look into the broch before heading off to Torwood Castle

A last look into the broch before heading off to Torwood Castle

The caves below the broch

The caves below the broch

Through the larches to the castle

Through the larches to the castle

 

Water droplets on the bare branches of the larches

Water droplets on the bare branches of the larches

One cache down and one to go, Torwood Castle was to be our next stop.  Southwards along the woodland trail we wandered towards our next destination.  Only a few minutes from the broch I caught sight of a tree creeper as it marched its way around and up the trunk of a nearby larch.  But that was to be all the wildlife we would see today.  It’s only a short hop of a few hundred metres from the broch to Torwood Castle and soon we emerged from the trees onto a track where, across a field, the castle was now in full view.

The Fatdog is particular when it comes to reading her road signs.  Its very important to know what hazards one is liable to encounter.

The Fatdog is particular when it comes to reading her road signs. It's very important to know what hazards one is liable to encounter.

Torwood Castle

Torwood Castle

 

Built in 1566 for the royal forester (Foresters of Garden) the building is thought to be a transition between castle and mansion.  Not a lot appears to be known about the remains, the date coming from a stone panel found in a nearby wall in 1918.

Well, the cache was called Torwood Castle and as I studied the GPS the needle was definitely not pointing in that direction but a few hundred metres to the west.  I had walked the paths in this area before and knew roughly where the arrow was taking us.

As we set off down the public right of way to Denny a few flakes of snow bounced off the Fatdog’s head.  The trees obscured the sky to the west but I guessed this was the start of the promised snow.

A very muddy right of way track

A very muddy "right of way" track

The castle from the right of way

The castle from the "right of way"

The second cache of the day proved to be as interesting as the first but for very different reasons.  I don’t want to give too much away but where the first cache had been “Raiders of the Lost Ark”, cache number 2 was more “I’m a Celebrity Get Me Out of Here”!

I’ve to do “WHAT”, was my first thought, closely followed by “YUCK” as my second!  Nothing for it…it was roll the sleeves up time.  I’m not going to tell how easy…or how difficult… it was to find the wee plastic box but I’m smiling at the prospect of future visitors quaking in fear and disgust!  Then it snowed…heavily!

For our last visit of the day we were heading a few hundred metres south, not to find a cache but to visit a tank.  Not just any old tank but a tank where the water stays a vibrant shade of blue.  Situated in a break in the forest created for major overhead power lines, this circular brick lined tank of some 4m in diameter was created for purposes now unknown but is an oddity visited religiously by those who have heard of it. 

The Blue Hole

The "Blue Hole"

Its isolated position, well away from any habitation, coupled with its strange colour gives it a sense of mystery and a puzzle to be solved.  But the puzzle could wait.  The snow was by now horizontal in the strengthening wind and it was time for me and the Fatdog to head for home and sample another of Tryst Brewery’s ales.

On our way home past the Broch - never noticed the 2 figures on the left until I saw the photo!

On our way home past the Broch - never noticed the 2 figures on the left until I saw the photo!

 
39 Comments

Posted by on March 9, 2009 in General Drivel

 

39 responses to “Lurking at the “Broch and Castle”

  1. fenlander

    March 10, 2009 at 7:37 pm

    Do my eyes deceive me Ken?
    Is the Fat Dog looking sleeker and marginally less fat (thinner even?)

     
  2. fatdogwalks

    March 10, 2009 at 9:12 pm

    A lot of people bring this up Robin 😆 . I have had complaints when people eventually meet her that she’s not as fat as they thought she’d be 😀 . There’s just no pleasing some folk.

    The Fatdog stood at 40kg last spring but was down to about 35kg by the end of last summer. I think she’s put a bit back on since then but it’s difficult to tell. Some days she looks thinner than others and I reckon she always turns the thinner side to the camera…or she knows how to work photoshop 😯

     
  3. Florene (Forrester) Kunder

    March 12, 2009 at 1:37 am

    I really enjoyed reading your “Lurking” adventure, and the FatDog is great!
    He looks just like a black Lab we had back in the 60s….. name was Pal. Your writing style is entertaining, as well as informative, and the pictures are the perfect finish.

    I’ve done a bit of Forrester genealogical research and am always checking for new information on Torwood. I’m a member of the Clan Forrester Society:
    http://forresterfamily.org/index.php

    I’ve bookmarked your Blog and will return to find what’s new as often as I can.

     
  4. Valerie Burke

    March 12, 2009 at 1:44 am

    I enjoyed your photos, especially those around Torwood Castle, since I am a Forrester! My mother’s lineage. Her maiden name was Forrester, from my grandfather. I’ve never been to Scotland but hope to see it someday! I live in Washington State, in the US.

    Thanks for your delightful posts!

     
  5. fatdogwalks

    March 12, 2009 at 10:20 pm

    Hi Florene and Valerie 😀 , welcome to the blog. I’m really glad you enjoyed your visit. I have to say it came as quite a surprise when I saw your comments. It’s great to see the site has such a wide appeal.

    I assume you know each other, given the coincidence that you both turned up on the same night (uk time). If you don’t, say “Hello!” to each other…you have a shared interest 😆 .

    Are you both from the US?

    The Fatdog is ecstatic at having gone global and hasn’t stopped eating since I told her of your comments…although that’s nothing too unusual I have to admit.

    Talking of coincidences, it appears I know one of the custodians of Torwood Castle. My son Christopher’s (Cap’n Jack in the Fatdog “Tails”)friend Neil Crookston is one of the trustees (I believe) and most certainly Neil’s father is. Neil offered to show me round a year ago but I’ve still to take him up on the offer.

    Anyway many thanks for taking the time to comment and please drop in again soon.

    All the best

    Ken

     
  6. Florene (Forrester) Kunder

    March 12, 2009 at 10:34 pm

    Yep… we know each other as mother/daughter. I was surprised when I saw the message to you from Val (daughter).

    I sent your blog story to the President of our Clan Society…. he may not have seen it and will really enjoy the adventure with you and FatDog. When you do tour Torwood Castle, would you be willing to send me some of the photographs? My collection is from such a variety of sources, and some are good and others are very poor quality. I used them anyway in a
    family history album I made for Val for her birthday in November.

    I also sent her the DVD “Visions of Scotland”. It was filmed in 2007 and is an hour and a half of wonder, a helicopter tour from Selkirk, then to Inverness and returning to Glasgow. It probably flew right over you, but I wasn’t able to identify Torwood when it flew over the Stirling area.

    I live in West Sacramento, CA, and Valerie is a resident of Union, WA. She’s going to attend the Tartan Day festivities in Puyallup, WA, March 28….. should be lots of fun.

    Thank you for sending us the note,
    Florene

     
  7. fatdogwalks

    March 12, 2009 at 10:58 pm

    Thought there had to be a connection Florene 😆 .

    Thanks for passing the story on…it would be great for the Fatdog and I to “make it big” in the States 😆 that would be quite an achievement 😀 .

    I’ll arrange with Neil for a visit to the castle and I’ll take the camera and see what I can do.

    I’ll also check my photo archive to see what other photos I took on my previous visit and email them to you.

     
  8. Valerie Burke

    March 12, 2009 at 11:35 pm

    Hi Fatdog and Ken,

    Since my mother already clarified how we know each other, I don’t have to. We don’t live terribly close geographically, so we have an internet/Facebook/blogging relationship! LOL

    I was delighted that you responded to our mails. I have a blog myself and am always thrilled when people write comments…which isn’t that often. But they are all positive, when they do come in. I am trying to grow the blog, trying to get more people to subscribe and get the posts via email. It takes so long…the Internet is such a large place. (www.pantherspeak.com)

    I am thrilled you will be arranging a tour of the castle and eagerly await your photos. Give Fatdog a pat on the head for me. We have 5 kitties, but no dogs, for now. One VERY friendly black lab next door who hangs out here, however.

    Happy and safe walking…

    Val

     
  9. fatdogwalks

    March 13, 2009 at 12:14 am

    Hi Val, thanks again for dropping in 😀 .

    I just had a quick look at your blog before heading off to bed (it’s 12.05 am Friday here). Couldn’t resist looking at the raccoon posts…it was amazing watching the video with the cat just ambling past not appearing to notice. They looked a real handfull. I realize that was a year or so ago…do you still have raccoons visit?

    I only started this blog at the start of this year and it’s now really beginning to take off…and keeping me pretty busy. It’s just a case of finding where you fit in in the scheme of things and trying to encourage like minded people to join in. I’ll be putting up a brief post tomorrow which is a comment on who has been visiting and why during this week…a really mixed bag :D!

    I’ll be back to comment on your blog…!

    Take care

    Ken

     
  10. Valerie Burke

    March 13, 2009 at 12:47 am

    Thanks again for corresponding and especially for stopping in to Panther Speak. Not a lot of doggie info there, but much cat and people info.

    Oh, the raccoons–they were living in our backyard while we lived in Idaho, and we moved here almost a year and a half ago, so I don’t know if they still inhabit the yard. The house hasn’t sold, so I don’t have a new owner to ask about it. I do hope they did ok when we left. It was time for Mama Raccoon to kick out the kids anyway. 🙂

    There is one video you would enjoy–not sure if I can post a link in here or not but I’ll try. They are in a little plastic swimming pool in the middle of the night, playing with a ball. It’s rather funny. http://pantherspeak.blogspot.com/2007/07/raccoon-pool-party.html But you’ll have to Imagine the music, which is “Splish Splash, I was Takin’ a Bath,” since the YouTube folks disabled the audio.

     
  11. Nigel Turnbull

    June 6, 2009 at 6:53 pm

    Dear Ken,
    Very impressed by your site and your writing style.
    I did not see the broch till about four years ago.
    You said you first saw Tappoch/Torwood Broch around 1964. I am doing a small video on the broch and castle and hope to have it on my site and or Youtube within the next week.
    Was the small irregular (badly built) chamber on the NE wall in existence when you first saw it?
    I have two theories depending on the age. (1) A Home Guard exercise during WW2 for the expected invasion. (2) The efforts of some school boys during their summer holidays.
    As for the strange blue pool, I first came across that around 1959
    http://www.geograph.org.uk/photo/435943
    I have made others aware of it and none of us has come anywhere close to identifying its purpose.
    Regards,
    Nigel

     
  12. caroline

    June 6, 2009 at 7:54 pm

    dear Ken I now live in Aberdeen but first came across the blue pool in the 70s when I used to frequent Peats farm.do you know what it is it always intrigued me ,my Dad used tothink maybe it was a mine shaft.Hes dead now and I miss him so much.I have a dog Sally your dog doesnt look that fat mines is a crossbreed no pedigrees for me

     
  13. fatdogwalks

    June 6, 2009 at 8:52 pm

    Hi Nigel – many thanks for the comments.

    I’m afraid I can’t remember much about the broch from that early visit only the views east. I think I was about 10 at the time 😆 ! Research by a local historian mentions the addition being done by the Home guard but I can’t swear to the provenance of the information. I’ll see if I can dig it out. In fact I think I just googled it. It was written by the Falkirk Council archeologist if my memory serves me correctly.

    The blue pool appears to be a brick lined tank – but its purpose I couldn’t glean even from old OS maps.

    Just wondered – you’re not originally from Dunipace are you Nigel…brother called Andrew a few years younger. If you are then we’ve met…many years ago.

     
  14. fatdogwalks

    June 6, 2009 at 8:59 pm

    Hi Caroline…welcome to the blog. I hope you enjoyed your visit 😀 .

    Sorry about your dad. Mine died in 2002 but it just seems like yesterday.

    I’m afraid the Fatdog comes as a great disappointment to those who meet her as she never appears to be as fat as they think she should be. All the hillwalking converted a lot of fat to muscle 😆 . She can still pack the food away pretty well though!

    As I said to Nigel the pool appears to be a tank though I have come across brick lined mineshafts in my work. I’m not aware of mineworkings at that location but I’ll check that out next week on the old OS maps.

     
  15. Nigel Turnbull

    June 7, 2009 at 12:34 am

    The report on the Broch was by Geoff Bailey in 2006. He said “It has been suggested that this was formed by the Home Guard during the war.” That was about when I first saw the Broch and spouted my opinion so it’s just possible that I was that ‘Suggestor’. The ‘chamber’ struck me as very similar to a Sangar which was built on rocky ground when troops could not dig-in.

    I am fairly certain that Herbertshire Colliery number 3 Pit (Denny or Station Pit) was driving a road (tunnel) under Denovan estate towards Larbert. I have family recollections of the blasting during the night. The Blue Pool could have been a ventilation shaft. I have only once seen it on a tiny old map of about 1940 on the internet but no reference to what it was. My gut feeling places it at early 1900’s. Others are now aware and are asking questions so hopefully we will find out something about it.
    When I was young, the water was crystal clear and you could see small beetles swimming near the bottom about 4 metres down. It was and still is the strangest blue colour though it is now very cloudy and opaque. I am not sure if the opacity varies between winter and summer but your photo shows opaque water and was, I think, taken in the winter. I don’t remember ever glowing in the dark after playing there 🙂

    As I said earlier, I am doing a short video on Torwood so I hope I don’t offend any of our Forrester friends, further up the page, as I dig up the dirt 🙂 As for photos of Torwood Castle, I have taken so many recently that you could almost specify the required elevation and lighting condition.

    I am indeed that Dunipace Nigel born and bred with said younger brother Andrew but I can’t recall our meeting. Are you ‘thoroughbred’ Dunipace ?

     
  16. Florene (Forrester) Kunder

    June 7, 2009 at 12:46 am

    No offense is possible…. my family has a host of skeletons in our closet going way, way back!

    I forwarded your first email of today to the Board of our Forrester Clan in the US, and I hope they logon and enjoy your online videos and other Scotland
    venues. The website I posted is the Society site, not my personal website.

    I found Ken last year when I was searching for information on Torwood. I think I hit the jackpot for finding that particular info, and for finding a great Scotland buddy….. who’s also on Facebook.

     
  17. fatdogwalks

    June 7, 2009 at 9:12 am

    It was Geoff’s report that I picked up most of my info from…so we’re maybe back to square one on that one then Nigel.

    Have you tried the Coal Authority re the tank/mine shaft. We have come across shafts (especially Bon’ess) not on OS but on old Coal Board charts. I have to say the colour is fascinating. Wonder if you could persuade SEPA to check it out for contaminants – just in case you might glow long term 😆 . Counted appendages recently 😀 ?

    We met a few times as Andrew was in my class at high school. When we were in 6th year you came in to help Andrew and I set up an experiment(I think it was for our Statistics assessment) which involved testing the speed peoples reactions to different types of light in a dark room. Looking at it differently it could also have been defined as how to get a whole load of girls into a darkroom situation 😆 !

     
  18. fatdogwalks

    June 7, 2009 at 9:18 am

    “I found Ken last year when I was searching for information on Torwood. I think I hit the jackpot for finding that particular info, and for finding a great Scotland buddy….. who’s also on Facebook.”

    Sweeps off cavalier hat with big feather, makes a leg and bows effusively, his “chapeau” swooping low to the ground. 😆

     
  19. fatdogwalks

    June 9, 2009 at 10:43 pm

    Nigel,

    I found the blue pool on a aerial photo from the 40-50’s. No forestry at that time (maybe cleared?) and judging by the worn ground to the east it looks fairly new. Not clear how they got materials in though. No definite sign of a worn track. It certainly stands out even on a grainy photo.

    No sign of anything on pre WW1 maps – just woodland, with trails through on a later one.

     
  20. Nigel Turnbull

    June 10, 2009 at 1:16 am

    Superb result Ken. Can you give me the link ?
    I don’t remember any trees around the pool at the end of the 1950’s.

    Your idea of coal-board charts and records is good. Any idea where to start enquiring ?
    I will spread the word to any interested investigators – I’m sure their ranks are swelling. A year from now, we will probably have a ‘Blue Pool Society’ 🙂

    Time is my enemy at the moment. I video my niece’s wedding on Friday and my Torwood video is not yet complete. It may well be next week for the premiere of my Torwood Blockbuster.

    I passed the link for your page to my brother Andrew.
    BTW, I had to reach for the dictionary on your previous message

    Regards,
    Nigel

     
  21. Nigel Turnbull

    June 10, 2009 at 1:16 am

    Dear Florene,

    From the little I know, the Forresters are a fascinating family to be descended from with lots of documentation. I am lightly involved with family tree research myself.

    You are probably aware of a rather unique (150 copies) book called ‘The Lands and Lairds of Larbert and Dunipace’. Fairly recently, some kind soul has scanned this work and made it available as a searchable pdf document ready to download (3MB – look to the left of the page for options) to the vaults of your cobweb covered hard drive.
    http://www.archive.org/details/landslairdsofdun00gibsuoft

    My video will probably mention the felling of Torwood Forest, much to the King’s surprise, to get the Forrester family finances back in the black. You probably know all about that, if not, I should maybe have advised a stiff drink at the start of this message.

    Regards,
    Nigel

     
  22. Florene

    June 10, 2009 at 1:47 am

    The information I have on the Forrester Clan has been gathered rather late in my life. Everything is late in my life! I blame that on my father, the George Forrester in our family…. he was about 55 years old when I was born, so the truly interesting part of his life was “ancient” history when I came along. He was a brilliant man, an attorney and judge, but here’s one prime example of his sordid past: He married unknown times, but never divorced. That led to a rather complicated lifestyle for me, and my two siblings, as you can imagine. Anyway, I’m REALLY looking forward to your Torwood video, and I’ll download the pdf you link in your message.

     
  23. Nigel Turnbull

    June 10, 2009 at 2:56 am

    Dear Florene,

    I guess your dad was a law unto himself. Sounds like you might have more relations than you were aware of.
    You’ll find a lot of Forresters in ‘The Lands and Lairds of Larbert and Dunipace’. The ‘landed’ folks o’ them thar days seemed to spend a lot of time in court.
    You might struggle with some of the quotes in the old Scots dialect and spelling. I can’t figure out some of it.

    Regards,
    Nigel

     
  24. ckerr

    June 10, 2009 at 2:12 pm

    on reading your comments I see you know Ngel thats who I got your link from.Being the nosy person that I am I have to ask did you stay in Dunipace

     
  25. ckerr

    June 10, 2009 at 2:13 pm

    whoops didnt mean to leave my e-mail any way of deleting it

     
  26. fatdogwalks

    June 10, 2009 at 7:38 pm

    Jeez…what a lot to reply to. You lot were busy after I went to bed! 😆

    Emergencies first – ckerr – welcome to the blog 😀 . I erased your email address from the post as requested. I must admit I’m not familiar with the sign in process (never having had to do it myself 😆 ) but I’m sorry you had a wee bit of a problem.

    This will answer one of Nigel’s questions as well. No I’m not from Dunipace but Denny…but mind you my folk’s first house was an old flat in a building which used to sit opposite the old primary school steps only 100m from the “border”. I lived in Denny from 1954 (when I was born)to 1978. I went to high school with Nigel’s brother but also knew their Uncle Matthew (I think that was his name) from Sunday School at Dunipace North Church.

    Moving on…

    Sorry Nigel the aerial photo is from digital mapping at work so I’m afraid it’s no web link for you. I do on the other hand have a couple of Acrobat pdf files for you to have a wee look at. You can’t publish them because of watermarks though.
    I’ve still to dig out the coal board number…but they may charge. Might be ok if it’s just a straight yes or no question though. Just have to wait and see.

    That’s some fascinating local research you’ve got going there Nigel…being doing it long? I’m certainly looking forward to the video.

    Florene;
    I think you should start a blog on your more recent family history…sounds fascinating. I found a similar situation when I researched my own. My great gran may have had 3 “husbands”. I wrote about it a few years ago for my cousins. Hmm…I might post it up sometime.

     
  27. Nigel Turnbull

    June 11, 2009 at 12:50 am

    No probs Ken. The main thing is that you found the pool on a photo and you know the date. One small piece of the puzzle.

    I may do a very short video on the pool (later in the year) with what is apparently known so far and a comments section where people can add their own piece of the puzzle. I am sure many pieces will be red-herrings.
    This Torwood Pool Drop In could get the ball rolling.

    My local research is establishing itself from a need to lose 28 lbs of belly fat (from too many years of mouse pushing) that would make fatdog gawp in disgust. Rather than just tramp in fresh air for two days every week, I humph my tripod and camera bag. When I get out of breath, I stop and film something. Finding out about local history tends to become addictive. Recording stuff for future generations is, I find, quite satisfying.
    The above is similar to what you do, but you cover a lot more ground than I ever will.

    At the wedding rehearsal tonight, I met someone who remembers seeing the pool about twenty years ago. She says it was NOT full to the top and she has vague memories of the sides having some blue and white tiles/bricks at parts. Another piece or a red herring ?

    The tile thing got me thinking. Could it have been a clean water supply for the industry lower down along the banks of the river Carron. At 4 metres diameter and 4 metres deep (my long-ago recollection), capacity is about 50 cubic metres or 11,000 gallons.
    There was a bleach works and a print works. The river Carron was a disgusting grey soup from Carrongrove paper mill further upriver. The other source of water was the Avon (Anchor) burn. This burn also had industry upstream. At different times, a foundry, a brickworks and a coal mine.

    A newspaper survey, of miner’s accommodation in 1875, noted that there is no public water supply in Denny but there are numerous wells where good water can be had all the year round.

     
  28. caroline

    June 11, 2009 at 12:21 pm

    Thank you for erasing my address.I dont know anything about you as I am not a member of facebook,im slightly wary of those social networking sites.
    Im really interested in the pool as well especially the colour,I havent seen it for years but never remember it being half full anything you find out about it im interested in.
    Uncle Mathew was my Dads Uncle Matt too.Im getting all nostalgic now way up in Aberdeen

     
  29. Nigel Turnbull

    June 29, 2009 at 4:05 am

    Hello all.
    My video of Torwood is now on line.

    http://www.ntgraphics.co.uk/walksandwoodlands/torwood.html

    Hope you enjoy,
    Nigel

     
  30. fatdogwalks

    July 9, 2009 at 11:11 am

    Many thanks for adding the link Nigel – Great Stuff – looks like you had some fun making that one! 😀

    Didn’t realise the extent to which the castle had been restored inside. I’ve put a link on the blogroll on the front page as well. Hope you don’t mind.

    Right, I’m off to find some of those stone disks. 😆

     
  31. Nigel Turnbull

    July 10, 2009 at 1:52 am

    Thanks for adding my link on your site Ken. Google loves links.
    I have reciprocated with a link to your site at the bottom of my section on Tappoch Broch which needs some tidying up but that can wait till I finish the section on Torwood Castle.
    http://www.ntgraphics.co.uk/walksandwoodlands/torwood.html#broch
    I even stole the fat-dog’s photo for you advert — hope she does not mind 🙂

     
  32. fatdogwalks

    July 10, 2009 at 9:30 am

    Thanks for the link Nigel – much appreciated. :D.

    The Fatdog generally sells her photo rights to “Hello” magazine but she had a word with her publicist. Max says it’s ok.

     
  33. Nigel Turnbull

    August 23, 2009 at 10:42 am

    Greetings to all followers of the Fatdog and a big woof to Maisie.
    I have started my inquiry of the Torwood Blue Pool and have put a web page up to act as a nucleus for said inquiry. The page will be updated as required until the mystery of the blue water is solved.
    http://www.ntgraphics.co.uk/investigation/bluepool.html

     
  34. fatdogwalks

    August 23, 2009 at 11:11 am

    Hello again Nigel 😀 !

    Good luck with this one. It’s one of these niggly little mysteries where the small band of people who knew about it have probably all passed away. Hope someone passed the info down.

    Have you tried a door to door in Torwood? Maybe there’s still someone there who might remember. I would go for the old Council Houses.

     
  35. Florene (Forrester) Kunder

    August 23, 2009 at 4:25 pm

    Hi guys!
    Since we last communicated I’ve connected with two Forrester relatives who are granddaughters of my father, from two separate branches of his tree.
    There are a couple more, that we know of, but unidentified. One of my father’s former wives died in March, and her daughter found all kinds of “secret” documents in cleaning out her mom’s home and belongings. We all agree on one thing, George Forrester was truly a brilliant attorney, but his personal life is a quagmire of less-than-brilliant history. One of the granddaughters had done a Forrester genealogy years ago, going back to the 1700s in Scotland. However, no details are included for Scottish history, only that occurring since coming to the US.

    Florene

     
  36. fatdogwalks

    August 23, 2009 at 4:37 pm

    Hi Florene great to see you back…and not boycotting Scotland 😆 !

    From your comment I assume all the checks were done on US sources only – but if you know the names of the Forresters who crossed the Atlantic then they can probably be found on the Scotlands People website which holds nearly all our national births deaths and marriages data and is very comprehensive!

     
  37. Florene (Forrester) Kunder

    August 23, 2009 at 5:44 pm

    Scotland is certainly hot in the news these days!

    Thanks for the web site lead. I have a book published by the Clan Forrester Society titled “Sailing for America, 1607 – 1800” . It has 40 pages of names, followed by about 12 pages of Bibliographies. I’ve just never had the time to get into that. Guess I’ll do that as soon as I finish my current project of our maternal history. I’m still looking for a 48-hour day, but don’t think it’s available yet….. oh, well, according to my parental longevity, and my good health, I should be around for a few more years.

    Florene

     
  38. Nigel Turnbull

    August 26, 2009 at 1:59 am

    Hello to the Torwood Branch of the Ruff Guide.
    Good idea Ken but I aint sure if there are any council houses in Torwood village. I may make a small pdf poster for people to download and display in local shops, churches etc. Most of the interest and input is currently coming from the village of Plean next door to Torwood.

    I will be making up a mailing list of those interested and send out the word whenever a new snippet has been unearthed. Let me know if you would like to be added.

    Florene, your family history is amazing. Mine tends to be — he was born, worked as a miner and died. I reckon you have enough stuff there to sell the movie rights. If I find any Forrester skeletons in my Blue Pool, I will send you the photo.
    Nigel

     
  39. fatdogwalks

    August 26, 2009 at 8:21 am

    Nigel, I was thinking of one house in particular. The last one (excluding the newer big house that sits back off the road)on the way out of Torwood heading for Plean.
    Usually has a lot of smoke coming out of the chimney…usually means someone that’s been there a while 😆 !

     

Leave a Reply

 
