RSS

A Strange Day

10 Mar

After noticing a few beer orientated search engine terms that people were typing in and somehow arriving on the blog, I typed Larbert Beer Festival into Google.  Much to my surprise the 3rd and 4th results belonged to “Where the Fatdog Walks”.

I typed the same into Searchalot and “Where the Fatdog Walks” had knocked CAMRA off the top 2 spots!

I then started typing Dobbie Hall, Larbert and Beer into the search engine in the hope that such a major event (for Larbert) was being properly advertised somewhere!  Other than the Fatdog and CAMRA there was not a sniff of the beer festival anywhere.

Who’s in charge of promoting this event?  So far it looks like the battle for top advertiser is between myself and CAMRA…and their effort is, I’m sad to say, fairly lower case.  I’m thinking of looking for a sponsorship deal.  Maybe the Fatdog can have a beer named after her.

If that wasn’t strange enough earlier today at work I was looking at a disused railway bridge, now part of a path network between Grangemouth and Falkirk, when a man went past with an enormous parrot on his shoulder.

I think I’m beginning to crack up.  I need to go lie down…

 
7 Comments

Posted by on March 10, 2009 in General Drivel

 

7 responses to “A Strange Day

  1. mike knipe

    March 10, 2009 at 11:43 pm

    Sorry, who’s this Camra bloke?

    Incidentally, what colour was the parrot? (Certain colours may be more believable than others at your Mental Health tribunal. You have to be very careful about these things.)

     
  2. craggy-irene

    March 10, 2009 at 11:56 pm

    I know a good psychiatric nurse if you need one, Ken!!!!:)

     
  3. fatdogwalks

    March 11, 2009 at 8:48 am

    The organisation known as Campaign for Real Ale, Mike :D. I remember trailing around with the CAMRA guide in the late 70’s looking for real ale. That was on holiday in England. It was almost unheard of up here in those days.

    The parrot looked like a macaw – one of those red blue and yellow beasties the size of a family 4×4. Unfortunately I think I’m well beyond a mental health tribunal.

    Irene…I will keep that in mind…especially if I see any more of those parrots!

    Oh…sorry…have to go. Nurse is here with my medication…

     
  4. craggy-irene

    March 11, 2009 at 9:43 pm

    I think it might be the DTs!!!

     
  5. fatdogwalks

    March 11, 2009 at 9:56 pm

    I must find out what these guys at Tryst Brewery put into their beer 😀 ! It may have worn off…no hoose-end sized parrots today, thankfully. 😆

     
  6. Tessa Park

    March 13, 2009 at 8:52 am

    I like the idea of ‘fatdog ale’ – presumably it works best with lunch? 😀

     
  7. fatdogwalks

    March 13, 2009 at 11:55 pm

    Goes without saying Tessa!

     

Leave a Reply

 
