RSS

The Pearls & Perils of the Search Engine

13 Mar

It’s been a good week for the blog.  A mixture of referrals, internet searches and web forums have brought visitors to the site for a variety of reasons.  The geocaching posts attracted geocachers, the hillwalking posts attracted hillwalkers and the Tryst Brewery post attracted, unsurprisingly, beer drinkers.  The historical content of the “Lurking at the Broch and Castle” post attracted US genealogists and an early post about a New Year party attracted someone with an unsettling interest in my name…and rockets!

Such is life “on the blog”.

My site stats show me what people have typed into their search engine to reach my blog.  This is proving to be a source of great entertainment.

Waves fife rhythm movement – the most obscure to date but most likely looking for  The Rezillos

Nicky Forbes – one of the Rezillos

Skiing down Ben Ledi – as if I would!

Pub beer festivals Glasgow – We’re miles from soddin’ Glasgow

Robinson Crusoe Game Walkthrough – Go to a beach once…

Find Lochearnhead – an instruction to me…or the search engine?

Grassy bank – could be worse, could have been grassy knoll.

Ken Brown Rocket – Seriously worried…does it have my name on it!

Fatdog b&b – This is the most worrying of all.  She better not be renting out her basket again!

However given the power the internet search engine, I’m now beginning to think that I should omit certain key words from my posts.  For example “Terry Orrists”, “Boms” and “Gee …had” are probably no-nos, otherwise I’d be permanently peering out half opened shutters scanning the shadows beyond the street lights for “men in suits”.  On the bright side as long as these shadowy individuals make the mistake of bringing their lunch with them, then we’re perfectly safe.  No lunch has ever got past the Fatdog!

 
4 Comments

Posted by on March 13, 2009 in General Drivel

 

4 responses to “The Pearls & Perils of the Search Engine

  1. fenlander

    March 15, 2009 at 6:19 pm

    “Fatdog B&B” – Hey! She’s not renting out HER basket. She’s renting out YOUR house…..or even worse…..your TENT!
    Cheers, and thanks for a great post. I need humour at this moment in time.
    Fenlander.

     
  2. Florene (Forrester) Kunder

    March 17, 2009 at 11:44 pm

    I’m not sure how I migrated back to your blog, but here I am! How do you have time to keep up with your writing, your job, and just the normal daily routines? That’s actually a rhetorical question….. you’re a seriously humorous writer, and I enjoy reading you. Will have to spend some time on your blog to catch up.

    I never got around to it, but in my plan for today I wanted to research info on bagpipes, to learn if they’re both Scottish and Irish, or if one is the bona fide “owner”, and the other a tag-along. Betcha you know!

     
  3. fatdogwalks

    March 18, 2009 at 12:26 am

    Hi again Florene…good to see you back again 😀 .

    Bagpipes Eh! There’s nothing stirs the patriotic heartstrings of a Scot, like the sound of the multi-droned inflatible haggis!

    Now here’s the good news…and the bad news.

    Good news…I’m afraid I can’t answer your question as I don’t know the answer.

    Bad news…There’s also the Northubrian pipes from the north of England, the Galician pipes from the north of Spain and I believe the French have a similar implement which sounds like the slow castration of a large elephant.

    Good luck in your quest 😀 .

    Ken

     
  4. Florene (Forrester) Kunder

    March 18, 2009 at 12:38 am

    Good grief, man….. what are you doing writing in your blog after midnight! Now, that does sound a little silly….. blame it on my senior habit of being in bed by 11:00.

    Thanks for the note, regardless of day or night. And if I do learn anything worth sharing on the topic of bagpipes, I’ll send it on.

     

Leave a Reply

 
