RSS

The Case of the Disappearing Signal

30 Mar

A failed MOT spelled the death knell for the “German Bobsleigh”.  The old BM was definitely showing its 11 years.  My friend John (our ex next door neighbour and whose car repair business maintains the beast) indicated next years bill would be considerably higher so J and I decided enough was enough.

Once again I had to make my apologies and cancel my walking trip with Sheila (Clova) as J and I set out on a quest for a new car.  The Fatdog still had to be walked first however so I decided that FD and I would go to Callander Park in Falkirk for a geocaching dogwalk.

We ambled southwards from the car park, deep into the tall trees, to look for a cache near the old creepy mausoleum.  Daubed in graffiti to unexplained heights this Victorian relic is a sad reflection of the Falkirk Area- a glass and plastic littered wasteland created by the great unwashed.  The debris of muppet youth was everywhere around the old walled enclosure, an obvious meeting point for the current generation’s waste of fresh air.

I digress.

We found the cache easily and then set the bearing for the next one.  Ten minutes later we had lost the signal…more strictly speaking we had lost the GPS.  Gone!

I covered the route 4 times in 2 visits to the park that day and another trip tonight but there was no sign of it.  Phone calls to the Police, Callander House, the Kiosk and the Golf facility have failed to turn up the missing piece of kit.

I’m now on Amazon!

Welcome to the Mausoleum - Is my GPS buried here?

Welcome to the Mausoleum - Is my GPS buried here?

 
5 Comments

Posted by on March 30, 2009 in General Drivel

 

5 responses to “The Case of the Disappearing Signal

  1. Tessa Park

    March 30, 2009 at 11:20 pm

    Sorry to hear about lost gps 😦

     
  2. fatdogwalks

    March 31, 2009 at 7:35 pm

    Thanks Tessa, I am one of these lucky people who generally never loses anything. I am also guilty of never throwing away anything either. It astonished me that I could actually lose something – still in shock yet 😆 !

    Hope you both enjoy your trip up north – not long to go 😀 !

     
  3. craggy-irene

    March 31, 2009 at 11:58 pm

    Why don’t we ever lose anything that isn’t important to us??? So it was turning out to be a rather expensive day………new GPS and new car!!!

     
  4. Tessa Park

    April 1, 2009 at 1:34 pm

    Thanks Ken, one week and one day to go 😀 .. planning on a walk with Irene on Good Friday hopefully Cruach Ardrain. Please let the weather be good….

     
  5. Midgefodder

    April 1, 2009 at 10:42 pm

    Its a shame that they dont make them in a really bright yellow colour so they stand out ( still cant wink Ken)
    Not too a good day on the pocket.
    I dont want to tempt fate but i am usually lucky in not losing things.
    Just wish that i hadnt left the phone charging in the car for 8 hrs today only to find that the battery on the car is dead.
    Good job Kate was on site to give me a lift home.
    Andrew

     

Leave a Reply

 
