RSS

The Introspective Forum Blues

14 Apr

Do you suffer from paranoia?

Do you believe that nobody likes you?

Do you feel you are being ignored?


Then you must have joined a web forum!


Forums are very strange beasties.  Some welcome you in and instantly make you one of the family.  I’ve heard of some which are fairly hostile and indulge in flame wars with alarming frequency.  Recently I came across one where a particular eejit wittered on endlessly on his own post for days, taking any criticism of his lack of rational thought processes as an excuse to churn out page after boring page of incomprehensible drivel.  I support the return of the death penalty for this particular offence.

Since starting the blog I’ve found my way onto a number of forums covering different subjects.  On one forum I found my scintillating witty prose studiously ignored by most of the members, in fact, if it hadn’t been for the moderator posting a comment on one thread it would have been a humiliating zero response.  I can only put it down to professional jealousy.  I had tried.  I posted in an acceptably pleasant and respectful manner on a number of threads but none of the illiterate b******s saw fit to respond in kind.  Just as well I don’t take this sort of thing to heart.

Then there was the forum where it all started quite well…until I agreed with a number of like- minded members that anyone who defiled the sanctity of trust should be taken out and burned at the stake.  How the hell should I have known that they knew who it was all along!  I didn’t even care! I was just speaking in general terms.  I did however respond politely to the perpetrator’s complaining email to me and following his semi conciliatory response I replied once more in a much friendlier vein and posted on his thread a suitable “this ends here” statement.  I think it’s a shame he never managed to find the time to reply to say “thanks” or “let’s meet for a pint” because I never got a chance in all this politeness to mention the words sophistry and semantics in relation to his somewhat weak explanation regarding his initial crime against humanity.  That aside I found a couple of the inhabitants friendly enough to post on my threads whilst being either ignored or bypassed in a frenzy of post- hijacking  “in jokes” by the others.  In fairness to them I think the forum was in the relatively early stages of development and was attended by a number of people who had met regularly in the past.  The inevitable happens.   A lot of “coded” language is used which is meaningless to an outsider.  Hopefully they get over this in the future as they seem a nice bunch.

My blogging counterparts are a very friendly group and incredibly helpful…I just don’t understand what they are talking about most of the time (I suspect they don’t either).  There does seem to me to be an unhealthy interest in the performance statistics of small stoves.  Small stoves remind me of car journeys with my parents in the 1960’s where lunch was tinned meatballs or macaroni cheese heated up in a pot over a wee paraffin heater in a smelly lay-by.   I killed a thread stone dead when I said I didn’t care if one stove boiled a litre of water 2 seconds faster than another.  It’s been silence since then.  I suspect someone’s now started a thread suggesting that I am taken out and burned at the stake.  Hi guys!!!

You don’t suppose it could all be my fault?  😉  😆

 
19 Comments

Posted by on April 14, 2009 in General Drivel

 

19 responses to “The Introspective Forum Blues

  1. beardedgit

    April 14, 2009 at 11:47 pm

    There’s no way that it could be all your fault, as most problems are usually my fault, and that includes problems on forums in countries on planets that are yet to be discovered.

    So, what’s this fixation with stove-fixations all about?

    🙂

     
  2. fatdogwalks

    April 15, 2009 at 12:01 am

    Your presence so soon after this was posted speaks volumes Stef! 😆 😆 😆

    I don’t suppose you have ever heard anyone, anywhere, mention stoves have you?

     
  3. mike knipe

    April 15, 2009 at 12:18 am

    I was once ignored by Prince Charles, so being ignored on Live for the Opportunity forum, or whatever its called (which I always am, incidentally) – doesnt bother me at all.
    Charles probably knows nothing of stoves.

     
  4. beatingthebounds

    April 15, 2009 at 1:01 am

    Well….I’m not entirely sure that I follow, but this forum sounds familiar. I’m with you on the paranoia thing – it’s the occasional apparently meaningless responses that worry me: in-jokes or less than friendly send-ups? Or have I just missed the point?

     
  5. beardedgit

    April 15, 2009 at 10:31 am

    ” Your presence so soon after this was posted speaks volumes Stef! 😆 😆 😆 ”

    I’ve been on the sharp end of so much forum hassle, I don’t like to see others go through the same. Chin up!

    We won’t burn you at the stake, as it’s not eco-friendly. Far better to render you down a bit and use the tallow as stove-fuel, IMO. 🙂

     
  6. chezwillis

    April 15, 2009 at 5:23 pm

    I suppose it depends on who you are blogging for. Primarily it’s a record for me and if others enjoy what I post then great, but if I’m completely ignored that’s great too…

    As it happens I enjoy reading your stuff. Scotland is rather a long way from Worthing so I enjoy reading a completely different perspective about a shared interest.

     
  7. fatdogwalks

    April 15, 2009 at 11:06 pm

    Please don’t misinterpret my faux tirade for a bona fide huff filled rant! To be honest (something I do with great difficulty) my feelings are leaning more towards the mildly exasperated than the hurt and offended and a run in with the occasional unhappy individual gives me an opportunity to assess whether I have been more than mildly offensive and whether my carefully phrased “burn the witch” phraseology is legally watertight.
    Mike, when HRH ignored you weren’t staring at the royal ears were you? Having read your blog regularly I just can’t imagine you being ignored for long 😆
    Mark, I wouldn’t worry in the slightest about comments on forums. Most people mean well, it’s just their use of language and how you, or anyone else, interpret it that is the problem. When you meet the individuals who do the strange comments you generally find they’re not what you imagined and are in fact very friendly.
    I had been using a number of forums, each of which reacted differently to my postings. Whereas one I felt just didn’t want me there (and not the moderator who was very supportive I hasten to add). I sensed another just didn’t know how to make me feel welcome more through inexperience than anything else.
    As for the outdoorbloggers (shakes head in despair) – bloody stoves! 😆
    Paul – Many thanks for the supportive comment. I agree with you (up to a point) about the blogging philosophy, but I believe that a blog works better with an audience to bounce ideas off. A couple of years experience in writing trip reports on scottishhills.com gave me a bit of an insight into what people liked to read and naturally enough I tailored my style and content to suit. The Fatdog “Tails” were at that point merely a chronological record of our trips. This blog gave me an opportunity to extend that style and let me move into different areas. For example this short thread, which has little to do with hillwalking, has attracted a fair bit of almost instant interest. Looking at it cynically it could be argued that I used it to stimulate a bit of comment traffic after a lull in my output. As if I would!
    The discourse above was not so much directed at blogs and bloggers sites but was about web forums in general which are actually designed for conversing but which can, depending on the membership, make conversing very difficult to achieve for a newbie.
    As long as you know something about stoves you’ll be fine though 😆

     
  8. craggy-irene

    April 17, 2009 at 12:07 am

    Don’t really get all that stove chat!!

     
  9. beardedgit

    April 17, 2009 at 12:30 am

    “Don’t really get all that stove chat!!”

    Me neither. I’ve given up gear-testing, primarily because I don’t get enough hill-time in order to conduct realistic tests, but also so as I run less of a risk of being classed as a gear-nerd.

    FWIW, the best stove in my gear-stash is still the Tilley Titan 🙂

     
  10. Midgefodder

    April 17, 2009 at 7:50 pm

    Hi Ken
    I could do with some good ideas on small cheep stoves to tide us over until we get the proper hob fixed.
    I do agree that some sites are just not very welcoming to newcomers no matter how hard you try.
    Bugger them, their loss.
    Cheers

     
  11. fatdogwalks

    April 19, 2009 at 8:08 pm

    I’m contemplating spamming anyone who makes the merest mention of stoves on this blog.
    I copied this thread onto scottishhills.com – http://www.scottishhills.com/html/modules.php?name=Forums&file=viewtopic&t=4782 and look what happened!

    In fact better still – I’ll give that lot you’re blog/email address and that’ll serve you right!

     
  12. Midgefodder

    April 19, 2009 at 9:36 pm

    Ouch
    See what you mean Ken
    Just looked at the post and replies.
    Hadnt seen it before i popped my comment about them there cooking type thingies
    Cheers

     
  13. fatdogwalks

    April 19, 2009 at 10:24 pm

    They were supposed to do that Andrew :D. I’m assuming you’re looking at the thread on scottishhills.

    One of the great joys of scottishhills is everyones willingness to take the bait (knowing full well that that is what they are actually doing)and running with it. It was a “gimmey” that a number of individuals would either go down the route of talking about something totally against the grain or conversely talk about stoves. Worked a treat and at 42 comments and 700 hits in 6 days I would call that a success 😉

     
  14. Paul

    April 24, 2009 at 11:26 am

    Talk about threads being hijacked, my attention certainly was! Started out with a large haddock and ended up on Ben Macdui (for the second time this week).
    Great report by the way, I can see the force is strong within you.
    Keep on cookin’

     
  15. fatdogwalks

    April 24, 2009 at 6:16 pm

    Hi Paul, I guess from the Star Wars reference you’ve been reading the Ben Macdui report at scottishhills.com?
    Thanks for the comments…it was great fun writing that one 😀 . It suffers a bit from a whole series of in-jokes but if anyone else wants to read it here is the link.

    http://www.scottishhills.com/html/modules.php?name=Trip_Report&topicid=3281

     
  16. walkhighlands

    April 27, 2009 at 4:07 pm

    I’m a bit baffled 🙂 – still trying to work out which Forum / website is which….

     
  17. fatdogwalks

    April 27, 2009 at 7:30 pm

    “I’m a bit baffled 🙂 – still trying to work out which Forum / website is which….”

    Ah well, that’s a bit of a problem Paul isn’t it…you being a forum owner/moderator/god in chief etc. etc. :lol:! Given I was careful not to mention by name all the forums I spent some time on you’re just going to have to spend sleepness nights worrying – “which one was mine?” 😆 😉

     
  18. fatdogwalks

    April 27, 2009 at 7:33 pm

    Now you see how I don’t last on Forums 🙂

     
  19. M

    May 23, 2009 at 1:43 am

    I hope I was one of the more friendly inhabitants Kenny…

    Keep blogging love to Maisie

    PS Just loooooooove the sexy new collar 😉

     

Leave a Reply

 
