RSS

The “Merry” Month of May

14 May

May 20th   2007  Beinn Resipol – the back problem appears out of the blue (after makeover of mother-in-law’s garden) . Right leg goes into spasm just outside Callander. 10 minutes of shaking later able to drive off down the road. Almost 2 months of physio on back (sciatic nerve problem identified) goes by before I take to the hills again under reduced leg power.

“Strike 1  !”


May 27th  2008  Ghlas Beinn Mhor – a few days after recovering from a virus am reduced to a crawl on GBM. 3 months before I return to do Beinn a Ghlo – under further reduced leg power. Hillwalking becomes more sparodic.

“Strike 2  !”


May 13th  2009  Beinn nan Aighenan – after a good start the lower back decides to complain then goes into meltdown on premature descent…

“Strike 3  !”


“… and you’re out !!!”

 
12 Comments

Posted by on May 14, 2009 in General Drivel

 

12 responses to “The “Merry” Month of May

  1. Mick E.

    May 14, 2009 at 11:07 pm

    That sucks 😦 wishing you a speedy recovery. Really enjoy reading your blog.
    Mick

     
  2. beatingthebounds

    May 14, 2009 at 11:38 pm

    Ouch. I hope that the prognosis is not as gloomy as it sounds.

     
  3. fatdogwalks

    May 14, 2009 at 11:59 pm

    Thanks for the support gentlemen :D.

    I’ve done the prima donna bit on an annual basis as regards my back and quitting for good…and then done more comebacks than Frank Sinatra 😆 . Each time I’ve been able to carry on but at a lesser output than before.

    This time it was a wee bit more serious. The ache in the back and the legs gave me problems on the descent and by the time we were nearing the car I was at crawling speed. This is not something I feel the need to deal with on a regular basis.

    Fortunately this scenario was not entirely unanticipated so its now time for me to move off the summits onto the approaches and to cut down the distance I walk. This will enable me to cut the pack weight since there will not be the same need to carry gallons of fluid and safety gear. I’ll be able to concentrate a bit more on the photography side of things (once I’ve read the manual and figured out how to switch the thing off auto).

    I’d hoped to keep going a while longer as there were a few hills I still wanted to climb but unless they’re about 1.5 hours ascent then I’ll have to pass. It’s neither practical…nor safe…for me to keep pushing any further.

    I made up a provisional list of walks last year with these circumstances in mind so it’s out with the old and in with…?

     
  4. scott

    May 16, 2009 at 9:44 pm

    Ach, that’s rotten luck Ken. I’m really sorry to hear you’re struggling.

    :0(

     
  5. walkhighlands

    May 17, 2009 at 9:06 am

    Back pain, that’s the worst. Hope you can still get out and enjoy as much as – there are plenty of great lower walks…

     
  6. fenlander

    May 17, 2009 at 5:17 pm

    Really sorry to hear about your problems Ken. Sound though as if you are prepared for some more lowland walks….become a flatlander like me!

     
  7. fenlander

    May 17, 2009 at 5:19 pm

    Really sorry to hear about your problems Ken. Sounds though as if you are prepared for some more lowland walks….become a flatlander like me!

     
  8. fatdogwalks

    May 17, 2009 at 8:05 pm

    Again my thanks 😀 . Scott, Paul, Robin.

    Because I’ve made an annual fuss about this for the past 2 years I feel a wee bit sheepish about yet another bleating session (lol)but I know that I’ve much less chance of a comeback this time. Because there’s been a steady downhill progression I’ve been prepared for this eventuality for a while.

    I was supposed to have stopped the bigger walks from last May but the temptation was always there and I did manage to put in a few good ones since then. However I do regret not being able to do the big ridge walks eg South Shiel Ridge which I’d contemplated this year.

    On the good side the walks I intend to do through the summer should be fairly photogenic and provide lots to talk about on the blog! Can’t wait to get started.

    PS Don’t know if I can be that flat Robin 😆 . We have too many hills up here…difficult to miss them.

     
  9. Tessa Park

    May 20, 2009 at 12:07 am

    That is bad luck.. hope that you’re still able to get out. Bad backs are ‘interesting’ to get to grips with, tend to find mine is fine 2 days after a walk but plays up after that.

    Are there any flat bits of Scotland? 😆

     
  10. Midgefodder

    May 27, 2009 at 4:29 pm

    Hi Ken,
    Just catching up and noticed this.
    Really sorry to hear about the latest setback with the back trouble.
    I really wish you a speedy recovery and look forward to reading about your tails whatever they are.
    Finally moved in May( not finished though) as promised to Kate.
    Cheers

     
  11. alex

    May 30, 2009 at 12:29 am

    I know how you feel Ken.I have a similar problem, getting worse as the years go by.It`s not too bad on the hill but it really manifests itself on getting back into the car…I have to stop every 15 minutes and get out for a stretch.It means that any bigger hill days have to be done with an overnight stay at the bottom 🙂
    Off to the doc next week as I have a couple of 9 hour flights to endure the week after..!

     
  12. fatdogwalks

    May 30, 2009 at 11:04 am

    Sorry to hear you have a problem with the back as well Tessa…hope it doesn’t hold you back especially after you doing your “25th” !

    Congratulations Andrew…I thought you might have been in line for lynching when we first spoke about your housebuilding in the Clachaig…looks like you’ve come good though 😆 ! My back thanks for you for the good wishes!

    It’s funny how backs tend to get incrementally worse as the years go by Alex. I think I remember you talking about this before on ScottishHills. I remembered you (or someone) mentioning getting back to the car…then having the problems. My commiserations on that one. Judging by your blog it doesn’t hold you back too much though 😆 .
    Good luck at the docs!

     

Leave a Reply

 
