RSS

The Smell of Seaweed

27 May

As the Fatdog and I stalked the narrow grass strip that is the high tide mark along the south bank of the Forth, I caught the distinctive whiff of seaweed.  Out of nowhere an inkling of an idea began to germinate and within five minutes I had a solution to a problem which had been buggin’ me for the past month or so.  Having passed our original walking target of 50 Munros (and there now being almost zero chance of doing another 50) there was still the unanswered question – what would we target next?  I think I now had the answer.

On the opposite bank the tall solitary chimney of Longannet Power Station suggested a big “thumbs up” to the idea and so a new cunning plan was formed.

We would walk across the country until we sniffed our first whiff of seaweed on the west coast.  I’ve no doubt all the recent talk among my fellow bloggeratti regarding the TGO challenge, the annual coast to coast walk, had a unconscious part to play in my thought processes -but ours would not be a continuous, day after day, event.  Neither myself nor the Fatdog are built for that type of punishment.

The objective will be to walk “off road” for as much of the route as possible, only using little back roads to link up various paths and tracks.  Hopefully we can pick up bits and pieces of various “Ways” on our travels as well as old drove and military roads.   With any number of interesting spots to visit either on or near to our route I don’t expect this to be the shortest straight line across the country and it most certainly won’t be the quickest.

 
8 Comments

Posted by on May 27, 2009 in General Drivel

 

8 responses to “The Smell of Seaweed

  1. Worthing Wanderer

    May 28, 2009 at 8:48 am

    Good luck! Have you worked out a start/ finish point yet?

     
  2. fenlander

    May 28, 2009 at 10:25 am

    Hi Ken,
    What an excellent project. All the best with its execution.

     
  3. mike knipe

    May 28, 2009 at 10:53 am

    Wot a cracking idea, grommit. If you haven’t already got it, have a look at “Scottish Hill Tracks” by the Scottish Rights of Way Society. It comes with a handy map. Basically, you just join up the dots. Its fab. You’ll enjoy it. Don’t wait, start now….

     
  4. fatdogwalks

    May 28, 2009 at 9:07 pm

    Thanks for the support guys 😀 . I’ve been looking to move away from the straight up hill and down then write report type of scenario. I’ve not worked out the overall feasibility yet but my initial thoughts are to have a primary route which winds its way across the country but en route take a series of short spurs to see particular things which may be of interest. I can’t believe that this is a route which will have been done often (if at all) and certainly not with my particular spin on it.

    The walk has already started and I hope to have the prologue posted at the weekend.

    The route begins at Kincardine Bridge over the River Forth (near Grangemouth) and will follow the River Carron up into the heart of the Campsie Fells, From there it’s (possibly) a sharp right over the hills to the northern scarp slope then across the carseland before hitting the forests and mountains of the Trossachs. It’s a lottery after that! It may (or may not) take a while to get there depending how many spurs I take.

    Still to decide where to head for on west coast. Some of the sea lochs make it a bit too easy, so just now I’m tempted to head more Oban direction.

     
  5. fatdogwalks

    May 29, 2009 at 1:38 pm

    Knew I’d forgotten something…

    Mike … thanks for the tip about the book. I don’t have it but will definitely be buying it 😀 .

     
  6. scott

    May 29, 2009 at 8:22 pm

    That does sound like a really good idea, right enough.

    Mind and give me a shout if you need a guide for the Trossachs, because it felt like I explored every inch of them yon day the dugs ran away on Ben Venue.

    ;0)

     
  7. alex

    May 30, 2009 at 12:32 am

    Try not too miss out on Stronend Ken.The views are out of this world for such a small hill.

     
  8. fatdogwalks

    May 30, 2009 at 11:13 am

    Now Ben Venue is a place I do know Scott…having walked around it…that was a great day out. Still pretty undecided how best to cross over to Loch Lomond area yet. I have a few ideas on that one but it’s trying to work out easy distances 10-15km and then the pick up points…especially the pick up points!

    Had plans to do Stronend with honey_munster (for all of you who know him from ScottishHills)and the “girls” (the dugs). This was to have been on a good frosty day in the winter – to avoid the bogs. Unfortunately it didn’t happen. If I end up not going that way, I will definitely take a day spur off to visit. Thanks for the tip Alex 😀 .

     

Leave a Reply

 
