RSS

The Incredible String Band

08 Jun

Time to grow the hair and dig out the kaftans and the beads!

.

Only half decent clip of the ‘String Band I’ve found so far.  I’d never heard anything like it until, in the early 70’s, I picked up the album “Wee Tam” from a mate who was into heavy rock.  He’d bought it not realising what it was…just knew the band had  played Woodstock!  He handed it over in a brown paper bag on pain of death that I never reveal where I’d got it.  Used to love playing  their stuff when I frequented the  folk clubs circa 1970 (before I should have been legally anywhere near the places 😆 ).

Strange…when you look at everyones eyes in the video they all look a wee bit vacant 😀 .

 
4 Comments

Posted by on June 8, 2009 in General Drivel

 

4 responses to “The Incredible String Band

  1. Paul

    June 11, 2009 at 5:11 pm

    Ken,
    Don’t know if you are aware but former String Band member Graham Forbes has written a book about his time with the band as well as his passion for hill walking.
    “Rock and Roll Mountains” is well worth a read, very amusing.
    Maybe that could be next on your list, write a book!

     
  2. fatdogwalks

    June 11, 2009 at 10:41 pm

    Hello again Paul 😀 . Thanks for the info on the book …must check it out.

    I take it Graham Forbes was from the last reincarnation of the String Band?

    I bought the (recent) album but hardly listened to it – not the same without Robin Williamson. All in all it sounded a bit cheesy compared with the rawness of the original line-up. I discovered the ISB just as they split up circa early 1970’s but preferred the music when it was just Mike and Robin (although the girls played on the albums). Some of it was decidedly awful but what I liked about it was it’s originality rather than its quality.

    When I’m feeling particularly sadistic and the “stove” worshippers have particularly annoyed me 😆 I’ll put up more clips of the String Band for people to “enjoy”!

    As for writing a book…it has been suggested before. Unfortunately I think it would only have a market of about 30-50 people 😆 . but I thank you very much for your comment, it’s greatly appreciated 😀 .

     
  3. Paul

    June 12, 2009 at 8:53 am

    I think Graham Forbes was part of the band in ’73 and ’74 just before they split.
    Must admit I’ve not heard much of their stuff but they seem to have had a bit of a following early on not just fans but other artists.
    I was thinking of writing a book myself, well not really, more of a cut and paste from the web site to create a photo book! Thought it might be a nice present for the folks, they may be getting fed up with Calendars!

     
  4. fatdogwalks

    June 12, 2009 at 3:38 pm

    Graham Forbes was with the String Band 1973-74 – that’s why I hadn’t heard of him. I only listened to the early stuff 😀 !

    Great idea the photo book…much better than a calendar…and much more personal!

     

Leave a Reply

 
