RSS

Thoughts on the WtFW Development Plan – Tidal Blogging

12 Jun

It’s funny how things work out.

I started a blog about hillwalking. I then decided to include a bit of geocaching, mainly as something to “justify” some walks which were suspiciously flatter than normal. From there a couple of trips near home took me into a wee bit of local history and before I knew where I was, the blog was involved in a bit of trans-atlantic genealogy. “Where the Fatdog Walks” had a new tag to live up to…it had become multi-disciplinary.

I read somewhere when I started blogging that your blog should be focussed to maximise interest from a targeted audience. Well that worked out pretty much to plan didn’t it folks! I appear to have developed Tidal Blogging, with different readers rushing in, then out, depending on the subject content.

It certainly keeps me on my toes as I’ve no idea what subject I’ll have to respond to on any given day and more importantly…I have no idea who will turn up next! On the down side it’s fairly obvious that there’s a wee bit of a problem coming up providing enough decent content to keep all these plates spinning.

I’ve noticed the hillwalkers are slowly deserting the sinking ship as I’m cutting back on that particular front, mainly to save the back (front – back get it ? No? Neither did I. It just seemed a good idea at the time).  The wildcampers/long distance walking brigade are no doubt huffed as I’ve banned any discussion about stoves on the blog…though some of the cheeky little monkeys still manage to sneak in a mention of them now and again.  The next group destined to grumble will be the lightweight gear guys as I can’t be a***d carrying anything around with me these days no matter how light so I’ve no idea how to placate them.

The recent post on the “wee plastic tubs” will have the geocachers up in arms demanding I publish apologies in the National Press and preferably fall on my sword or any other sharp and pointy instrument… and on top of all that I tend to ease back on most activities during June/July anyway, as I’m told that other much more important things take precedence eg J’s birthday, hols etc.

Fortunately it’s looking like the local history buffs/trans-atlantic genealogists will keep things going without any input from me so it’s not all bad news I suppose.

So, five months into its existence, where do I see things going from here?

Logically there has to be a big question mark hanging over the blog. Looking at it dispassionately it doesn’t have a huge readership on any subject and as my core content, the serious hillwalking, is under threat from both the back and the resulting apathy, I’m not sure there will be sufficient “wild” adventures to justify the blog’s introductory blurb. Maybe a re-branding exercise is called for. That way we could have a grand re-opening with exotic dancers, virtual bubbly and canapés.

Which is a grand idea if only I had some feckin’ clue what I’m going to write about next!

 
16 Comments

Posted by on June 12, 2009 in General Drivel

 

16 responses to “Thoughts on the WtFW Development Plan – Tidal Blogging

  1. scott

    June 12, 2009 at 10:52 pm

    No, no – don’t refer to them as “lightweight gear guys”. Call them Jessiehikers. That really annoys them.

    🙂

     
  2. fatdogwalks

    June 13, 2009 at 8:54 am

    😆 😆 😆

    Nice one Scott!

     
  3. Martin Rye

    June 14, 2009 at 9:19 pm

    I like the blog Ken. I like the walks and the photos and the other bits. Lots of folks read it I think. Google reader is where most will view the write ups. Keep writing what you want. Is that not the point of a blog. Share your story. I will read it.

     
  4. Paul

    June 15, 2009 at 10:37 am

    As long as you keep your sense of humour running through you blogs Ken I’m not sure that it matters too much what the content is, I’m sure you’ll still have plenty of readers.

     
  5. fatdogwalks

    June 15, 2009 at 11:16 pm

    Thanks for the support guys 😀 .

    I sometimes forget the reason I set up the blog in the first place was to get away from the formulaic style of hill report that I had been doing in the 2 preceding years. I still enjoy writing the odd one now and again but it was becoming more and more difficult to come up with new ideas to keep it fresh. Maybe the intervention of the back was down to a critic with a voodoo doll after all.

    The past few months have seen me stepping more and more out my comfort zone in terms of both content and style. I’m just pleased that throughout it all there has been a core of you who come back regularly to see what’s on offer irrespective of content. Mind you whether you read it or not is another matter 😆 😉 !

    Things will be quiet on the walking front until about mid-July when I hope to be able to hit the wilds again in some shape or form. I will keep the coast to coast project running over the next year or so but I think it may be a winter pursuit. I’m keen to do a lot more coastal walking but that’s as a chance to learn to do some half decent photography. I had lots of fun with the camera in January on the Fife Coastal Path and am keen to do more of that sort of thing.

    Hopefully I have still a couple of surprises up my sleeve…even in the next few weeks. A number of you may be inspired to help me out in a piece of quite despicable skulduggery, but you’ll have to swallow your pride to take part :lol:!

     
  6. craggy-irene

    June 16, 2009 at 12:27 am

    Hi Ken

    Keep writing whatever you want as we will keep reading it!

     
  7. fenlander

    June 17, 2009 at 7:43 am

    Just keep fanning the flames of humour writing about whatever comes to mind. I for one will keep reading.

     
  8. Tessa Park

    June 18, 2009 at 1:25 pm

    I’m still here! 🙂

    Hope the back is on the mend Ken.

     
  9. fatdogwalks

    June 18, 2009 at 11:18 pm

    Thank you for your continued and valued support Irene and Robin (my apologies, that was written by WtFDW Human resources Dept). I’ll keep your statements in mind when I’m choosing my next subject 😀 . Always be careful what you wish for 😆 !

    Glad to see you again Tessa 😀 . The back, no idea. Haven’t been able to get out walking for a few weeks now so it remains untested. The last local walk I did along the shores of the Forth, “The Carse of the Flatdog” was 10km on the flat. On the last km back to the car the leg muscles had gone into total spasm (triggered by the back)and were virtually rigid…I resembled Frankensteins monster as I stomped stiff-legged back to the car.

     
  10. Tessa Park

    June 20, 2009 at 11:17 am

    Sorry to hear that Ken. Are you seeing a physio at all? I had to go back for more physio a couple of years after my accident as the back started to play up again, though touch wood no issues since. Knees are more trouble now 😦

    I found swimming helped a lot – just thinking aloud really – feel free to ignore!

     
  11. fatdogwalks

    June 20, 2009 at 1:41 pm

    L-o-n-g story Tessa. Trouble started at, eh, rear end muscles way back in May 07. From June 07 to March 08 I spent a fortune on physio and chiropractor fees with limited success. Any improvement was only temporary. I was told the problem came from long term out of line vertebrae in my lower back which was sending my leg muscles into spasm. It had the effect of reducing the power in my legs but I learned to cope with that.

    As long as I took things easy it never really bothered me too much hill walking until the past few months when I started getting back pain on descent – something which had been inexplicably missing up until now!

    If I can get more movement into my back (which has stiffened up considerably since last year) throughout the summer, I may be able to put in more technical walks in the autumn but I’m not betting on it this time 😆 !

     
  12. Andrew

    June 23, 2009 at 4:18 pm

    I’ve not deserted Ken
    Just been really really busy after moving into the new house.
    Still not done.
    Don think that we fit into any band or group.
    Although we are off camping this weekend and the ahem stove will be in use.
    Fantsatic stuff on here. Please keep it going.
    Promise to post a little more often than i have recently
    Cheers

     
  13. fatdogwalks

    June 23, 2009 at 7:47 pm

    Andrew, I’m trying v-e-r-y hard to ignore the fact that you mentioned the S word on the blog. I’m sure it was an accident and that you’re very, very, sorry 😆 !

    Hadn’t expected to hear from you for a while given the threats to your life if the house wasn’t completed on time. Looks like you’re into dangerous territory if its still not finished 😀 .

    Thanks for the comments and don’t worry, the blog will continue…it’s just it’s direction that puzzles me a wee bit just now.

    Have a good camping trip 😀 .

     
  14. swanscot

    June 27, 2009 at 12:24 am

    I’m a hillwalker and still here and reading, albeit a bit intermittently recently. I’ve been busy with work so have not written or read much anywhere, but as work is play, I’m not complaining. I like your sense of humour and writing style.

     
  15. Alex

    July 1, 2009 at 1:09 pm

    I`ll remain faithful Ken.

    I read any old rubbish 🙂

     
  16. fatdogwalks

    July 9, 2009 at 10:49 am

    Thanks Sheila – looks like the job is going well then! Difficult to match your workplace :D.

    Alex – thanks – I think? 😉

     

Leave a Reply

 
