RSS

Fitness Update No.1

04 Aug

Well, Sunday seems to have worked out fine. The Fatdog completed the 7km hillwalk to Glas Maol and Creag Leacach without any signs of ill effects whatsoever and although my back threatened a few times on the descent it didn’t declare outright war. In my enthusiasm to rush up Glas Maol I had managed to leave my poles in the car which was silly as they would have helped me a lot coming down. The overtight hamstrings are still keeping the legs too rigid so I didn’t have any bounce on the descent and so ended up a bit stiff legged, but hopefully I can get that to ease up through time.

I tend to judge success on my enthusiasm to do another hill next weekend and the good news is I’m pouring over maps and books looking for another easy ascent. The bad news is I’m being dragged off to a circuit class tonight to start to seriously build up my fitness to compensate for my other deficiencies.

I weighed in last week at 13-5 (84.8kg) and am now at 13-1 (83.0kg). I am also hungry!

The Fatdog weighs in at 35kg…and is also hungry!

 
11 Comments

Posted by on August 4, 2009 in General Drivel

 

11 responses to “Fitness Update No.1

  1. alan.sloman

    August 5, 2009 at 8:34 pm

    Now, if you’re 5′ 6″ you might have a bit of a problem with the weight, but I seem to recall that you are a large gent? How much do you need to lose?

    I find the cruellest but most effective way to lose weight is to skip Boy’s Night down the Axe and just do Friday night. Oh – and skip the post ‘Newsnight’ cheese on toast as well…

    Yes, tricky.

     
  2. fatdogwalks

    August 5, 2009 at 8:56 pm

    Not that big, Alan 😆 .

    5-11 and slim built so I was carrying about an extra 2 stone.

    The idea behind the weight loss and increased fitness is to compensate for what power the “sciatica” is taking out of my legs. Hopefully getting the back moving (it’s been stiffening up more in the past year)will reduce the spasm messages it’s sending down to the legs.

    Fortunately I seem to be able to lose weight fairly easily when I set my mind to it so I don’t suffer huge feelings of loss 😆 .

     
  3. fenlander

    August 6, 2009 at 10:50 am

    Welcome back.

     
  4. Paul

    August 6, 2009 at 4:18 pm

    As you so rightly point out Ken the most important thing about a fitness regime is not to put yourself off; over do it and you find yourself reluctant to continue.
    At least with hillwalking you can get your exercise in while enjoying yourself,……. well OK it’s maybe not total enjoyment but the parts in between the up and down bits are usually pretty good.
    BTW is Fatdog getting dragged of to fitness class as well?

     
  5. Paul Webster

    August 8, 2009 at 8:12 am

    Congrats at getting back into those hills Ken, really glad to hear it.

     
  6. fatdogwalks

    August 9, 2009 at 11:16 am

    Robin, Paul and Paul – Thanks for the comments guys 😀 !

    I’ve put up the first “tail” of Creag Leacach on Scottishhills.com (sorry Mr Webster – you get the next one first 😆 as it’s one of your routes) rather than the blog. This is how I originally intended to do this stuff as I don’t feel the blog page is a suitable design for long winded reports. Hope you all caught it. There’s a link from the post Creag Leacach – Shear Laziness.

    As for fitness…well. the Fatdog appears to be ok – show her a hill and she’ll keep going right to the top of the cairn. Me…things have a bit to go. The circuit class was great put has put undue strain on my knees which gave me a wee bit of a problem yesteday especially on the descent. So between the back, the hamstrings and the knees coming down was a bit of a slog. Going up was ok which is good with only the knees giving minor twinges. But having Cap’n Jack with me yesterday meant I could be slightly more adventurous in my planning so I went for about 1000m of ascent and 14km (double last weeks efforts). Jeez was I tired last night 😆 !

     
  7. Mandy

    August 12, 2009 at 3:36 am

    Poor Maisie, she is wasting away to nothing!!

    Tell her that her pressies are in the post

    M x

     
  8. Mandy

    August 12, 2009 at 3:37 am

    BTW has you TB moved yet Ken?

    :-O

     
  9. fatdogwalks

    August 12, 2009 at 8:25 am

    Don’t worry Mandy she still has a good few pounds of ballast on board. I don’t think she’ll waste away for a long time to come.

    As for the TB 😦 when does the race start btw? 😆

    Don’t think your geocaching mates liked the other blog very much – after massive numbers of hits almost nobody came back. Strangely enough I’ve found out that I’m just not on the same wavelength as a lot of geocachers (present company excepted) – long story.

     
  10. Andrew

    August 17, 2009 at 5:06 pm

    Good to see you back out Ken
    5’11” and 13.5 with an extra 2 stone
    Hmmm i am also 5′ 11 and slight build but i seem to have an extra 3 stone than i need.
    Certainly felt like it at the weekend struggling in the wind and rain

     
  11. fatdogwalks

    August 17, 2009 at 8:36 pm

    You’ve probably got “bigger bones” than me Andrew 😆 !

     

Leave a Reply

 
