RSS

In and Out of Focus

09 Aug

I don’t suppose many people remember the album In and Out of Focus by the Dutch rock band, Focus. I recall them being hugely popular in the early 70’s. So what have a Dutch rock band got to with hillwalking you may ask? Well bugger all would be my reply. But I’m standing on the crag top summit of Sgor Gaoith peering down to the blue of Loch Eanaich some 600m below with my eyes not quite able to differentiate between the solid rock beneath my feet and the huge bulk of Braeriach across the other side of the deep narrow glen. I momentarily focus on the white horses on the water of Loch Eanaich but as my eyes catch the rocks comprising the tiny cairn beside me they appear to wobble uncertainly and then blur making me step back sharply from the edge of the crag.

Oh, there’s nothing wrong with me…it’s just the new varifocals. Maybe it’s not the best place to test them out…600m of plummeting abyss! I’ve never needed distance glasses up until now but I’ve had my new pair on all day which has been quite a revelation. Suddenly I can see the colours in small birds and wonder at the sharpness of the pine needles on the branches at the side of the track. A whole world of until now undiscovered clarity has entered my life…the Resurrection man now has stunning HD.

(to be continued)

Loch Eanaich

Sgor Gaoith from Sgoran Dubh Mor

 
4 Comments

Posted by on August 9, 2009 in General Drivel

 

4 responses to “In and Out of Focus

  1. alan.sloman

    August 10, 2009 at 1:18 pm

    And, Hocus Pocus too. I was a big fan!

    I have the dreaded variefocals too – and with my crappy fear of heights (I just have to see a picture of someone standing on a cliff edge to make me feel queezy) it is a real sod!

    Picking your way down a steep scree slope or climbing down something unexpectedly tricky becomes a nerve jangling experience. I find it easier to wear my prescrition sunglasses when on awkward bits as they don’t have the variefocal lenses. Maps are read with my glasses perched on my head with the map inches from my face…

    Maybe laser correction would be the answer?

     
  2. Martin Rye

    August 10, 2009 at 6:03 pm

    I await the continuation with anticipation.

     
  3. fatdogwalks

    August 10, 2009 at 8:13 pm

    Lookin’ like an eyeball transplant Alan 😆 !

    My eyes aren’t that bad so I can easily get by without, in fact they came off for the downhill bit. Good to find another Focus fan…must admit I haven’t heard them in years.
    Was it In and Out of Focus that had the dotted LP cover?

    Patience Martin 😆 it’s mostly written though I still have to decide what photos to use.

     
  4. Tessa Park

    August 12, 2009 at 10:03 pm

    Sgor Gaoith is a cracking walk. Glad you got the views. 😀

     

Leave a Reply

 
