RSS

Movin’ on Up!

22 Aug

The Fatdog and I moved up a gear today.  I’d had a couple of weeks of circuit class and “spin” class and was most definitely feeling the better for it.  I was also half a stone lighter.  The past 2 Munro trips had been fairly easy but it was time to test things a bit more and to see what my limitations might be.

Todays wee jaunt involved 1200m of ascent, about 12km walking and some 5+ hours on the hill.  There was some steep grass ascent and steep grass descent, neither of which I had been particularly looking forward to, but I had reckoned it would be the descent that would get me in the end (literally)!

Here are a few photos of our trip to Dalmally and the Munros of Beinn a Chochuill (980m) and Beinn Eunaich (989m).

 
2 Comments

Posted by on August 22, 2009 in General Drivel

 

2 responses to “Movin’ on Up!

  1. Paul

    August 24, 2009 at 11:05 am

    So that’s what it looks like from the top!
    I seem to remember slogging my way through the trees on the lower slopes before a steep trackless ascent only to have the mist come down before the first top. Fortunately I met a fellow hillwalker on the way up and he turned out to be good company while wandering around in the mist for a few hours. Of course it all cleared by the time we got down and back to our cars!
    This must have been a good test of your fitness Ken! Hope it all went well.

     
  2. fatdogwalks

    August 24, 2009 at 7:10 pm

    All in all it went pretty well Paul, thanks. I seem to be able to go up no problem it’s just on the descents I get a bit of bother. But it comes and goes and doesn’t affect me too much. 😀

    Would recommend you go back on a clear day. It’s a great walk between the 2 summits, probably one of my favourites so far. Some more photos and a bit of writing will appear soon 😆 .

     

Leave a Reply

 
