RSS

Fitness Report No. 4

10 Sep

He changed the routine! I was becoming quite attuned to the pain of my Tuesday evening circuit class when He changed the routine! There was a paucity of equipment laid out on the floor when we all arrived which did not bode well. He looked incredibly pleased with Himself as we filed in, wary eyes darting suspiciously around the bare hall. Where was our equipment?

“Tonight will be about working using your body’s weight” He announced gleefully. I reckoned He just couldn’t be bothered hauling out all the equipment. Maybe, on reflection, I shouldn’t have mentioned that, at least not to his face. I hate push ups…I hate sumo squats…in fact I found there were quite a lot of exercises I hated. It was all a matter of degree. As He swaggered past my faltering efforts He seemed very pleased with Himself.

On the last station before the end of class I tried to do a star jump! This involved a lot of uncoordinated flailing of limbs. I probably looked more like a demented jellyfish than a star. I tried a second but didn’t even get off the ground. The legs had packed in…totally.

That was Tuesday. My legs couldn’t manage the spin class on Wednesday. His scheming had uncovered muscles I didn’t know existed. I was happier in my ignorance. It’s now Thursday and I’m becoming anxious about a walk on Saturday.

There is an optimistic school of thought that believes I may walk again, though not necessarily in this life.  😦

 
4 Comments

Posted by on September 10, 2009 in General Drivel

 

4 responses to “Fitness Report No. 4

  1. Alex

    September 11, 2009 at 8:37 pm

    No pain…no gain as they say 🙂

    Hope you manage out this weekend Ken as the forecast is the best in ages.I think we`re going to Mull for the day.

     
  2. fatdogwalks

    September 11, 2009 at 8:48 pm

    It’s coming good Alex…off to Tyndrum tomorrow for Ben Lui and maybe one or two others…depending. We’ll see after Lui.
    Just going for a stroll and see what happens. 😀

     
  3. scott

    September 11, 2009 at 10:44 pm

    Ben Lui’s quite steep from the Tyndrum side, is it not? Whit’s Maisie’s view on that?
    😉

    I cheated and did it from somewhere along the Oban road!

    Have fun – a forecast that says “no rain” is to be treasured. On that basis we’re awa’ to Kinlochleven for a return visit to Sgurr Eilde Mor, to see what the Mamores actually look like.

     
  4. fatdogwalks

    September 11, 2009 at 11:47 pm

    Plan to go up the right hand spur of Central Gully. It’s got an ok write up. The left hand spur is apparently more of a scramble. Maisie’s done quite a few steep ones 😆 .

    Sgurr Eilde Mor was great – did it earlier this year. Great views from the top. The lochan was fantastic as well – covered in ice when we were there. Mamores are probably my favourites. Have a good trip Scott 😀 .

     

Leave a Reply

 
