RSS

I’m Doing a Survey in the Area…

23 Oct

Not the sort of phrase you want to hear as you sit comfortably in your favourite computer chair so I assume by now your mouse has veered strategically to the far end of your screen in a frantic effort to avoid my enthusiastic wide eyed greeting and my virtual clipboard.

Regrettably my unparalleled genius stops short of being able to work out who actually reads the blog on a regular basis (I suspect not many) but I am curious to find out if there are people out there who visit whom I don’t know about…especially those who have come across the blog by accident, then drop in afterwards to see if there is anything new.   Yes, I realise that this is a highly unlikely scenario but it is theoretically possible and so worth investigating.

To satisfy my curiosity and to allow me, through future posts, to make the blog more of a community I would be most grateful if you would either make a “Hello” comment on this post or alternatively send me an email at kenny@fatdogwalks.com.

I’ll leave this post up as a “sticky” for a month to see if anyone is still out there.

Thanks

Ken

 
28 Comments

Posted by on October 23, 2009 in General Drivel

 

28 responses to “I’m Doing a Survey in the Area…

  1. Fenlander

    October 23, 2009 at 1:15 pm

    YES!!!!!!!!!!!!
    We need your down to earth attitudes to help some of us keep our feet (or other parts of out anatomy on the ground.

    LONG LIVE ‘WHERE THE FAT DOG LIVES’

    cheers

     
  2. Mick E

    October 23, 2009 at 3:43 pm

    Hello! from Mick in Burton on Trent, my interests really lie in the lightweight backpacking/wild camping area but I really enjoy this blog and I’d like to second Fenlander’s comments. Excellent, enjoyable, witty & informative – keep up the good work 🙂
    All the best,
    Mick

     
  3. Paul

    October 23, 2009 at 4:12 pm

    Ken, I noticed that you have managed to knock off one of your Munros without even trying or was it one of the hills you had already been up!

     
  4. fatdogwalks

    October 23, 2009 at 4:56 pm

    “Down to earth”! I don’t think anybody’s ever called me that before Robin 😆 Unfortunately my engineering background does tend tend to make me a wee bit direct and lacking in subtlety at times so I tend to ask the question if something isn’t apparent. I know the bloggers who visit because they leave a visible trace that is self evident. Other visitors who maybe have the blog bookmarked I don’t seem to be able to trace…at least not with my limited knowledge. So I’ve no idea who visits or comes back again…unless they tell me.

    Mick!!! Great that you’re still around. I remember you commenting in the past. Thanks for posting up. That makes you officially the first “secret” watcher that I didn’t know was still around. Hopefully we’ll have a few more surprises to come. 😀

    Hi Paul 😀 Yep…started my Munro blog “Resurrection 284” and what did they do? They re-measured and dropped one off. I could change the title but I can’t change the blog addresss so if you look in your browser it still reads Resurrection 284. Fortunately hadn’t been that far north so it wasn’t one I’d already done.

    I think the big controversy could come in the Corbetts and Grahams when they re-measure the bealach heights. With the key 150m all round drop required for those categories of hills, it’ll be the height of the highest bealach that could set the wildcat among the ptarmigans.

     
  5. John

    October 23, 2009 at 6:59 pm

    Hi Ken
    I’m a munroist (170ish), UL backpacker and football man from the Yorkshire dales who follows about 30 bloggers via google reader, yours being one. Your blogging is up there with the best, entertaining to say the least so keep up the good work and let all us silent types enjoy your adventures and observations!!
    John

     
  6. fatdogwalks

    October 23, 2009 at 8:01 pm

    John…many thanks for posting up and signing in! 😀 I know that it’s not everyone likes to wave their hands in the air and shout “I’m Here!”, so I’m really appreciative of your comment.

    I had no idea you visited the site so I’m hugely (if that’s a word) pleased to know you’re out there reading.

    Looks like I’m going to have to make a list! 😆

     
  7. Anonymous

    October 24, 2009 at 8:01 pm

    Hi, yes i enjoy your blog and look in to see if there is anything new.
    All the best to you and Fatdog.

     
  8. fatdogwalks

    October 24, 2009 at 9:04 pm

    Hi Anonymous 😆

    Thanks for saying hi. If you did mean to leave your name just drop me an email – and if you didn’t…well you can still remain Anonymous if you so wish. 😀 Personally I wouldn’t want my name associated with this blog 😯 .

    “What do you mean it’s on the front page?”

    You think I’d put my real name up…come on!

     
  9. Alex

    October 26, 2009 at 4:45 pm

    I`m sure you have more readers than you know Ken 🙂

    Google tells me that I have 4 followers who have “came out” so to speak and 11 subscribers.I don`t have a clue who the subscribers are though I suspect you are one 🙂

     
  10. fatdogwalks

    October 26, 2009 at 9:13 pm

    Had a look at a couple of the things you mentioned in your email Alex…then my brain decided it was easier not trying to find out. Don’t think I can patch code into a wordpress.com blog. Probably could do it with a wordpress.org one though. On the whole it looked too much hassle 😆 .

    Oddly enough I only subscribed to your RSS feed a couple of days ago…mainly because I hadn’t noticed it in the past. I’ve been dropping in regularly for months and still can’t believe I only noticed the feed a few days ago. I use my google reader to see who’s been posting, but then tend to use the links on my blog main page to do my official visiting…seems much more polite. Good upbringing me! 😆

    I think its good to have some sort of handle on who visits because it sometimes makes writing a piece easier if you know its aimed at either one or more particular people. Also you can put in wee references now and again which makes the whole set up a wee bit more friendly.

     
  11. alan.sloman

    October 28, 2009 at 1:34 pm

    Great Blog, Ken

    Avid reader
    🙂

     
  12. RubyB

    October 29, 2009 at 1:25 pm

    I read your blog on an occasional stop-by basis :o)

     
  13. fatdogwalks

    October 29, 2009 at 9:50 pm

    Alan: Doesn’t matter how much you suck up, I’m not posting the names of the forum squabblers on the blog! 😆 😉

    Hi Ruby 😀 Many thanks for visiting the blog. It’s great to find someone else that I didn’t know about.

     
  14. Simon

    October 31, 2009 at 2:19 pm

    Hello.

     
  15. fatdogwalks

    October 31, 2009 at 4:41 pm

    Sometimes I think I should word things more carefully 😆 especially when one Mr P is out there lurking furtively in the blogosphere.

    Hello to you Simon 😀 and I am hugely pleased to see that you continue to lurk furtively 😉

     
  16. annienz

    November 1, 2009 at 10:12 am

    Hi there I just stumbled across your blog by accident due to your geocaching catergory. Have never read it before.

     
  17. Susan

    November 1, 2009 at 3:10 pm

    Hi

    We found your site whilst looking for appropriate walks..we too have a black lab.. he appreciates a good 6-7 hours in the hills, a sleep in the car en route home and then dinner. Sound familiar?

    We live in the South Glasgow area and have done most of the nearby Munros and Corbetts. Short breaks and hols take us further affield and it’s always good to hear of places that are dog friendly.

     
  18. fatdogwalks

    November 1, 2009 at 9:27 pm

    Hi Annie, thanks for posting up 😀 . From your email address (and your login name) I’m guessing you live a long way from here. Is geocaching big in your part of the world?
    .
    .
    .
    Susan – good to hear from another hillwalking lab owner 😀 . Looks like yours operates in the same way as The Fatdog 😆 . Mind you, Maisie puts various dinners in between all the other events of the day… a bit like a Hobbit with an appetite.

    All the walks we’ve done are not necessarily dog friendly, but can be done with a dog – sometimes on the leash – but most times not. If you look at the storage blog “The Fatdog Repository” you’ll find most of the walks we’ve done. I know of people who use it on the principle that if we’ve done it then it can’t be that difficult.

     
  19. annienz

    November 2, 2009 at 8:09 am

    Annie here again – yep, geocaching is getting to be more and more popular down here in NZ. My area of the country is pretty cache dense – with some good hill walks that you and the dog would probably enjoy. Apart from the fact that it’s mostly Department of Conservation land, so dogs not allowed. Ah well … our own fatdogs are too lazy for such exertion anyway.

     
  20. fatdogwalks

    November 2, 2009 at 9:02 pm

    Hi again Annie 😀 . Odd to hear of places the dog can’t go – we don’t have too many of those. In Law, Scotland has open access to almost everywhere as long as you keep your dog under “close control”. There are a few exceptions but most dog owners would avoid livestock etc. anyway…although you always get a few who let their animals charge about the hillside.

    The Fatdog is a peculiar creature in that, at first glance, she would appear to be the most unlikely creature to go hillwalking. I can’t quite make up my mind whether she is lazy or not but she has done a one walk of 30km and other that took us 12 hours…and she was still going strong…unlike me! Most of the time she just lies about and snores.

     
  21. anne@andamento

    November 2, 2009 at 9:38 pm

    Just found you via Alex & Bob, though I think I’ve been here once before! Lovely photos.
    Anne.

     
  22. fatdogwalks

    November 3, 2009 at 9:44 am

    Hi Ann…if you’ve been here before then the nightmares usually stop you making the same mistake again 😀 .

    Welcome to the blog! Many thanks for the comment on the photos. I give them a half decent chance by keeping to the other side of the camera 😉 .

    Alex and Bob have an excellent blog (one of my favourites but don’t tell them that)and are a great source of info.

    All the best

    Ken

     
  23. Tessa Park

    November 4, 2009 at 2:12 pm

    Well I read it, but you know this already! 😆

     
  24. fatdogwalks

    November 4, 2009 at 9:04 pm

    Don’t worry Tessa – you were near the top of the list 😆 !

     
  25. mandy68

    November 5, 2009 at 5:23 am

    I keep popping in to see if you are slagging the geocachers off……..

    I just enjoy the banter Ken, and the photos are fab!! Tis nice to read of you adventures to places I will never go (I don’t do hills)

    Only one complaint…..not enough photos of MAISIE

    :0)

     
  26. fatdogwalks

    November 5, 2009 at 10:26 pm

    Mandy…I don’t think there’s a snowball’s chance in Hell that I didn’t know you were keeping an eye on the blog 😆

    Once the wretched beast keeps still…there will be more photos. Old adage “Never work with children and Fatdogs”

     
  27. Phreerunner

    November 14, 2009 at 1:18 am

    Hello, just catching up with your subversive activities. I enjoy them, along with the OBs’ gear reviews, poetry, rants, etc, etc, and even occasionally (very occasionally) a report on an outdoorsy sort of trip. You are better at that than most!
    Keep it up!

     
  28. fatdogwalks

    November 14, 2009 at 2:51 pm

    Hi Martin – many thanks for the comments 😀 . Glad you enjoy dropping in.

    With a good number of the OB’s being in the south I think they have to rely on trips of a few days or more whereas The Fatdog and I just have to drive about 40 minutes to the nearest Corbett. It can also an expensive hobby fuel-wise so again the further you are from the hills the more it costs.

    It’s odd that I started the blog mainly to branch out from the “trip report” scenario as I’d being doing that week after week on ScottishHills.com. Still keep on coming back to those Fatdog “Tails”! 😆

     

Leave a Reply

 
