RSS

Autumn Road Trip Diary – Part 4

28 Oct

torr 1000

Tuesday 13 October – Keeping Ahead of the Rain

The weather forecast for today was distinctly forgettable.   For the past few days I had watched charts predicting rain, so it was with some relief that we sat looking out the dining room window of The Old Smiddy at Laide thinking “It doesn’t look too bad, does it?”

Low cloud obscured the hoped for breakfast-time view of An Teallach, but with a bit of luck we would still manage a couple of hours walking in the dry.  Scenic options limited by the cloud cover we shunned high ground and took The Fatdog to the beach.

To say FD was excited was putting it mildly.  She virtually bounced along the boardwalk from the public car park at Gairloch Golf Club through the short length of dune and onto the sand.  She scampered backwards in front of us, a toddler demanding her bucket and spade.  Sadly the absence of opposable thumbs ruled out the bucket and spade option for FD, so instead her ball was launched in the general direction of waves.  The Fatdog thundered along the firm sand chasing her toy towards the water.

We strolled along the beach then crossed the An Dun headland to the little harbour at Charlestown beyond.

Here are a few autumn shots of our walk.

Later we took a drive past Altbea to Mellon Charles and had coffee and cake at the perfume shop.  As we sat happily munching scone and cake the rain, thankfully absent for our walk, eventually arrived.  Rather good timing I thought…but definitely no more walking today.  Other than a quick stop at the World War II Story Boards near Altbea it was a hasty retreat back to the warmth of our very comfy sofa at The Old Smiddy.

Down came the rain…and out came the books and chocolate.

 
4 Comments

Posted by on October 28, 2009 in General Drivel

 

4 responses to “Autumn Road Trip Diary – Part 4

  1. Linda

    October 29, 2009 at 2:47 pm

    Mellon Charles brings back memories for me when I was..ahem.. slightly younger than I am now! It was a regular haunt for holidays with my family in the 1980’s. I went back 2 years ago and the place hasn’t half changed. It took me ages to find the cottage where we used to stay, as there are now other houses which have popped up along the road. My partner is a WWII buff so we went round the other side of Loch Ewe to Cove where there are old concrete look out posts and bunkers galore. Its a really beautiful part of the world and it’s a shame you didn’t get good weather.

     
  2. fatdogwalks

    October 29, 2009 at 9:58 pm

    It’s the first time I’ve had so-so weather in my 6 or 7 visits over the years.

    I didn’t recognise Altbea/Mellon Charles myself. Last time I was down that road was about 1975 when a mate and I camped in someone’s field (camp site). Didn’t even recognise the hotel in Altbea. I’m wondering if it’s a new road in? Something looks very different from when I was down there last but I just can’t put my finger on it (other than all the new housing obviously).

    Enjoyed the WW2 stuff myself – some of the little stories on the information boards were incredible. We’re going back in April next year so hoping to visit more of the sites then.

     
  3. Alex

    October 30, 2009 at 2:07 am

    Nice autumn pics Ken.The Flowerdale one looks a bit soggy 🙂

    If you are back up next April then keep an eye open for the Great Grey Shrike which nests next to the car park at the WW11
    gun emplacements up at Cove.Only one I`ve ever seen in Scotland.It`s been there for the last few years.

     
  4. fatdogwalks

    October 31, 2009 at 4:44 pm

    Hi Alex,

    We certainly intend to head for Cove on our next visit so thanks for that info. I now have to consult my book on “burdz” to see what a Great Grey Shrike looks like…I’m thinking big here?

     

Leave a Reply

 
