RSS

“Mocking” the Geocachers

04 Nov

As cold November has arrived I think I fancy doing a hatchet job on the geocachers again.  With winter fast approaching this is the time of year when I begin to think about geocaching as an alternative to battling up mountains, not that I’ve done a lot of that recently mind you. 

Why could I be so cruel as to pick on the geocachers yet again?  Well, every time I make a left-field comment I always find some intense geocacher has to take it literally.  Hell, I don’t even have to make the comment in the first place…I can even create outrage by proxy.

Take the time, for example, that a geocaching friend of mime kindly took the trouble to post on a geocaching forum that I had started a blog to cover the exploits of my travel bug (don’t ask) in a “who can do the most miles in a year” race.  You’d have thought that that would be fairly safe.  Oh no, not to some geocachers.  One managed to kill the post stone dead (and any chance of attracting a readership) in his solitary reply.

Because the race was based on one team from Scotland and one from England I had playfully suggested that we might want to soundly thrash the “auld enemy”.  The reply came up to the effect that he refused to comment on the blog as it might offend our English neighbours.  And that was that, there were no further comments on the post other than the posts originator.

Looking on the bright side, the good news was that my blog had, at minimum, managed to offend at least one person so, on that tenuous basis, I reckoned I might be asked to take over Frankie Boyle’s spot on Mock the Week!

 
5 Comments

Posted by on November 4, 2009 in General Drivel

 

5 responses to ““Mocking” the Geocachers

  1. alan.sloman

    November 4, 2009 at 8:02 pm

    There really are some humourless buggers out there Ken. Get out that hatchet and start chopping!

     
  2. fatdogwalks

    November 4, 2009 at 9:07 pm

    I can’t help but think you revel in a bit of conflict Alan 😆 . I’m all for the quiet life…it’s not my fault that things always seemed to go a bit pear shaped as soon as I put the metaphorical pen to paper 😀 .

     
  3. alan.sloman

    November 4, 2009 at 9:11 pm

    D’you know? That happens to me too…
    ‘s funny ol’ world……

     
  4. mandy68

    November 4, 2009 at 9:15 pm

    You thrive on it Ken..

    …and me well I don’t give a buggah LOL

     
  5. fatdogwalks

    November 4, 2009 at 9:22 pm

    It’s odd that I always find lots of mielage in the geocachers for a bit of a wind up – maybe Mandy can enlighten us as to why a good number keep setting themselves up as sacrificial targets 😀 . I daren’t go on a geocaching forum for fear of treading on eggshells. Is it something to do with skulking under anoraks :lol:?

    Anyway I’m off to write about not skulking under an anorak because it was too warm. 31st October and it was too warm!

     

Leave a Reply

 
