RSS

Back to the Fuji

22 Nov

I bought a new camera on Friday.  I am now the proud owner of a Fuji F70EXP compact digital.  When I started walking a few years ago I was using a fairly decent Fuji Finepix (no idea of model) but added the more substantial Nikon D50 DSLR to capture some of the better views in more detail.  The Fuji was used for the “on the move” shots where I really couldn’t be a***d taking off the pack to remove half of its contents to haul out the bigger camera.  Sadly the Fuji’s sensor packed in and with limited funds available had to make do with a cheapy Canon…until now!

This time I wanted a small camera that might allow me to give the weighty Nikon a few days off as well as one that would take decent photos “on the hoof”.  The Canon had done well but its washed out images required a lot of Photoshop treatment to make them reasonably presentable.   It did not bad in days of high contrast and if the sky was blue it worked a treat.  Obviously it was not the most suitable camera for the Scottish weather.

The Fuji’s EXR sensor had been given great write ups in the camera mags and with a formidable 10x zoom it gave a wee bit of scope for the odd bit of wildlife photography…if it was up to the mark!  I was very sceptical on that point.  The piggy bank containing my birthday money (and what I’d sneaked in without J noticing) was metaphorically treated to the big hammer and so, with my cash in my sweaty little paw, I headed for Comet to make my purchase.

Thanks to a pretty awful weekend weather forecast I haven’t been able to give it a decent trial but I did get a quick shot on our Saturday morning dog walk (before the rain started).

 

 

Detailed but dark...needs a bit of work in photoshop

 

Larch "fronds" - untreated photo

 

croppped and tweaked to improve colour

 

on macro setting - untreated

 

untreated shot on full zoom...from 100m - amazed at clarity.

 

as ever The Fatdog is distinctly unimpressed

It’s an awful lot better than my cheapy Canon.  I had it on its EXR setting with pretend Velvia (high contrast) film mode enabled.  It picked out the detail (and there wasn’t much of it) in the traditional Scottish grey sky.  It did well in low light conditions photographing from under trees into open fields.  The result was a tad dark but not unexpected given the big zoom capability of the lens.  The colour saturation under low (and pretty mundane) light was good.  I was able to crop and enlarge sections of detail with acceptable results.  When I say acceptable results, I mean that when viewed in full screen mode the photos appear worthy of inclusion on the blog at up to about 800×600 pixels.

Anyway so far so good.  Based on what I saw today I think I’ll be able to use the wee Fuji and give my back a rest from the crushing weight of the DSLR.   I’m looking forward to taking it out for a decent test in the coming weeks – once this feckin’ rain goes off!

.

.

So it’s time for yet another camera to be pensioned off.  One day I will find the optimum balance between portability and quality that will give me what I’m looking for.  I will leave you with a photo of the old camera seeing I’ve just managed to get it out of my pocket…

.

Yes...this was my first camera. 2nd hand I may add!!!

 
4 Comments

Posted by on November 22, 2009 in General Drivel

 

4 responses to “Back to the Fuji

  1. Alex

    November 23, 2009 at 12:43 am

    I gave up on SLR`s ages ago because I could never be bothered taking my sack off to take a shot.I find with a compact I can run off a couple of hundred shots in a day quite easily.Mainly rubbish ones I hasten to add 🙂

    The only problem is the damn shutter lag if something pops up fleetingly in the wildlife department and,if I`m not careful on full zoom,it can be a little blurry sometimes.

    Mine`s is a Panasonic DMC-TZ4 with 10x zoom also.Got it imported from the USA last summer for £120 🙂

     
  2. fatdogwalks

    November 23, 2009 at 6:35 pm

    I have been a very good boy to date, using my 2 cameras, but the DSLR is, for most of the time, superfluous. When I’m walking I’m generally concentrating on making sure I’m ok, making sure the dog is ok etc., so my thought processes are not generally focussed on taking photographs. Sometimes I’m lucky and I remember to take the big camera off automatic – but most times I don’t.

    The old fuji had terrible shutter lag. I remember trying to photograph whales in British Columbia – I have a series of blue splashes and very little whale. That’s when I decided I needed a DSLR.

    I tend to work on the same principle as you Alex – take hundreds of photos and at least 1 will be salvageable 😉 . I have to say though the photos on your blog are pretty damn good! Or did Bob take those ones? 😆

     
  3. Simon

    November 23, 2009 at 8:21 pm

    So what does it weigh?

     
  4. fatdogwalks

    November 23, 2009 at 8:49 pm

    It weighs a massive 180g (excluding the battery) Mr.P 😀

    “Whoo, this is great! I’m just so…techie!!!”

     

Leave a Reply

 
