RSS

The Room of Ever Closing Walls

23 Nov

In that dull and unvisited corner of the blogosphere that is outdoorbloggers.com the faltering flicker of a single candle flame spluttered its last, briefly illuminating The Room of Ever Closing Walls. Within the room the two remaining behemoths crashed unthinkingly into each other, never wondering where all the other behemoths had gone.  All the others had left…or simply lost the will to live.

As the dust temporarily settled the combatants took time out for a quick breather to consult their manuals of diatribe and insult.  They concentrated very hard but never noticed the silence.

 

Outdoorbloggers RIP?

 
17 Comments

Posted by on November 23, 2009 in General Drivel

 

17 responses to “The Room of Ever Closing Walls

  1. alansloman

    November 23, 2009 at 11:01 pm

    You ought to get back in there & stir it up a bit then Ken!

    Nowt like a good argument and there’s hardly any good arguments over there anymore!

    Go on, you know you want to…

     
  2. fatdogwalks

    November 23, 2009 at 11:25 pm

    I think it got overstirred once too often and that’s why everybody left Alan 😦 .

    I am a shallow creature of little moral conviction and require light entertainment not rambling discussion and insult that leaves me thumping my head off the table in incredulity.

    Forums need a level of respect to make them work. Users have to realise that and act accordingly…or the moderator must be there to “skelp a**e” (put on naughty step for those who wish to be seen as politically correct) before the forum does the opposite for what it was intended – hinder discussion as opposed to generate it.

    I think the OB forum carries too much old baggage. On the other hand the current luggage seems to be a bit overweight as well. In some ways it’s quite impressive that so few people can bicker quite so much.

    Maybe we’ll get some comments suggesting a new forum…you never know.

     
  3. fenlander

    November 24, 2009 at 11:43 am

    Ken, whatever happened to the principal of ‘freedom of speech’? Ah, I just remembered, we don’t have a constitution enshrining such ideals and values, therefore we can’t expect fair and unbiased passage of data – only that which suits some of the people some of the time.
    Unfortunately I haven’t been able to read your discussion as it appears to have warped into cyberspace somewhere.
    Your ‘goodbye’ and the end of your post re the disappearance of the thread seemed very final(???):)

     
  4. fatdogwalks

    November 24, 2009 at 6:49 pm

    I was busy writing a treatise on the subject of Freedom of Speech when I realised you were talking about a previous post Robin. 😀

    No, this one wasn’t about that old chestnut – but you were correct as regards the implied finality of my participation (not that it was particularly evident anyway). I did however keep an eye on it hoping that things would improve and in doing so have noticed a distinct lack of posts since the last wee altercation.

    Unfortunately the lessons of previous spats seem not to have been learned. Another pair of weans are busy squabbling, although the toys are still in the pram (just). 🙄

    It begs the question “Is this what outdoorbloggers want as a forum?” Being a member of a very successful forum where members generally leave “issues” at the door, or if they don’t are very soon (and nicely) asked to do so, I quite frankly find the sometime lack of restraint at OB disappointing as, I expect, do a lot of other visitors. Goodness knows what prospective members make of it.

    I hold my hands up and admit that I have had only very limited participation in the forum myself but that was mainly down to the techie nature of a lot of the content (I suspect due to the interests of the original members) and in part some of the in-joke discussions (as happens on most forums). This is not a criticism – merely an observation.

    I think the idea of an OB forum is great, but I think a fresh start is required. We all dot around each others blogs sometimes leaving a comment here and there but it is difficult to keep a coherent train of thought (and I keep forgetting where I’ve commented 😳 ) outwith the structure of a forum.

    It may be the majority view that a forum is no longer wanted, but if the idea is to have some sort of venue for general chat then it looks like some sort of review is required.

    Are there any opinions out there?

     
  5. alex

    November 25, 2009 at 12:07 am

    Never heard of the forum at all Ken …

    Why don`t you start your own ? 🙂

     
  6. fatdogwalks

    November 25, 2009 at 1:05 am

    I talk to myself enough Alex apart from that I would have the ScottishHills posse out with the sharp pointy sticks and the firelighters 😆 . Loved Shills but it just got too big for me to do what I had been doing and I found I just couldn’t cover the ground with the 40 million trip reports any more. Started to worry that I couldn’t comment meaningfully on enough of the TR’s which then made me think I would be upsetting people by not commenting. Then I started thinking it’s not fair to post up and then not comment on others…and at that point the cogs in my over active imagination went “Boing!!!” from thinking too much. 😆

    I drop in all the time to see what’s on the go but am pretty much an observer these days.

    I quite fancy the idea of a cooperative blog as I think it could be a hoot if kept lighthearted enough which could then double up as a mini forum…just to help the interaction process along. Any thoughts? Something you might be interested in?

     
  7. alex

    November 25, 2009 at 10:47 am

    I`ve been thinking of starting a new website rather than a blog Ken but I`ll see His Bobness at the weekend and seek his opinion.What would happen to the co-operative blog if we fell out …say for example Maisie was to snaffle Bob`s favourite Mr.Kipling lemon slices 🙂
    As an aside both our blogs appear in the latest edition of the MCofS magazine along with a few others in our respective blogrolls.Sort of Best of scottish hill blogging list.

     
  8. swanscot

    November 25, 2009 at 5:24 pm

    The few times I’ve poked my head round the door at OutdoorBloggers recently I noticed it was so quiet that I thought everyone had gone waking and not invited me! Mind you, I’m just a newbie there and never really put a lot into the forum myself. (And missed whatever pot-stirring went on!) But, then again, I’ve been very remiss in keeping up with my own blog, never mind discussion forums.
    However, now I’m finally finding time to read others’ blogs and hopefully scribble a wee bit myself, I’m sort of missing OB. I know, most strange!

     
  9. swanscot

    November 25, 2009 at 5:25 pm

    Blargh! Make that “…I thought everyone had gone walking…”

    Swanscot, Typo queen

     
  10. fatdogwalks

    November 25, 2009 at 10:03 pm

    Hi Sheila 😀 Great to see you about and blogging again…I trust things are improving for Neil? Those are cracking photos of Morocco on your blog…especially the market. I sighed – it’s the sunshine that’s the killer – especially given our current weather – you must be missing it!

    Just now the OB forum is operating a single post (pot stirring) theme kept alive (most regretably) by a combination of zealots and “wind up” merchants. It’s potentially a piece of never ending nonsense.

    This will be my last word on the subject…at least until a couple of the miscreants put in an appearance here to explain themselves – very briefly! 😉

     
  11. fatdogwalks

    November 25, 2009 at 10:15 pm

    Alex! Does this mean we’re famous? My blog has never before appeared anywhere (to my knowledge). In a magazine!!! 😆

    Can you scan/photo the image and send it to me? Nothing like seeing the name in print 😀 . Hope we’re at the top of the list.

    The idea of the coop blog is more a piece of fun than a lot of hard work. I’m not thinking of it as an alternative to our current blogs. More somewhere to put up short pieces – maybe things that might end up as a discussion…even silly things like photos and captions. I’m going to ask around anyway I think you can get up to about 26 users on a wordpress blog so that should be loads of capacity…hell I don’t know 26 people…never mind 26 people that can string a sentence together 😉

    Maisie doesn’t like lemon so the slices should be safe.

     
  12. annienz

    November 26, 2009 at 9:29 am

    Not that I know the forum you arerefering to, but I think anyone who wishes to participate in a forum needs to be tested for a sense of humour and the ability to make fun of themselves and their hobby/sport/activity/addiction. Those that take themselves too seriously should never enter a forum.

    I can say this. I use multi-million dollar military statellites to chase small plastic containers. [:D] [;)]

    Annie

     
  13. annienz

    November 26, 2009 at 9:30 am

    Drat. My smilies didn’t work.

    Annie

     
  14. fatdogwalks

    November 26, 2009 at 9:58 am

    Hi Leanne, I find that it’s better to leave a space then type (:D) without the brackets, then leave a space afterwards. Seems to work. 😀

    Poking fun at hobbies etc. is never the problem…it’s when they stray “off topic” that it goes pear shaped.

     
  15. fatdogwalks

    November 26, 2009 at 11:23 pm

    Looks like this post went down like a lead balloon with the OBs. 😦 I think we can safely say this is a no vote for…eh…almost anything I guess.

    Never mind I’ll just have to think up something else 😀 .

     
  16. Alex

    November 28, 2009 at 12:55 am

    Will try and scan it at the weekend Ken.To be honest I don`t think the reviewer put much effort into it by the looks of it..just followed a few links from a few blogrolls.

    Swanscot,Aktoman and a few other ne`er do wells feature along with Chris Townsend and Cameron McPish.

    There has been no increase in our paltry readership stats which confirms to me that nobody actually reads this awful magazine 🙂

     
  17. fatdogwalks

    November 28, 2009 at 1:02 am

    Thanks for that Alex. 😀

    “nobody actually reads this awful magazine” – In that case maybe we’re more famous than the mag and should therefore put up links to it to improve its readership stats 😉 .

     

Leave a Reply

 
