RSS

SLOB

06 Dec

Scottish League of Outdoor Bloggers

The Fatdog stood at the front door staring in disbelief at the rain bouncing off the driveway.  He had to be kidding!  He never went walking in THIS!  She looked back into the hall.  The backpack was propped up against the radiator and bags with boots and dry clothes sat on the floor, ready to make their way out to the car.  She decided to check, just to make sure she hadn’t imagined it.  She turned back to look out the door once more.  Stretching her neck forward her nose twitched, sucking in the damp air.  Nope, it was definitely very wet out there…what on earth was he thinking about?

As I stood at the front door looking out I stared in disbelief at the rain bouncing off the driveway…what on earth was I thinking about?  I nudged a reluctant Fatdog with my knee and she stumbled out of the house onto the rain soaked blocks, turning to give me a disapproving stare before stomping off in the general direction of “The Tank”.

Scott had emailed the night before suggesting a walk up the Meikle Bin with the dugs. I should’ve checked the forecast first…before giving an enthusiastic “Yes” to the trip.  I wouldn’t have had the heart to say “No” anyway…we’d talked about this for close to a year now and as usual with these things had never managed to get around to actually doing it.  So why the f*** did he wait until the wettest day in the calendar to suggest we meet up!  I don’t do rain and by the black hairy mutt’s expression of pure hatred she “don’t do rain” either!   Even the “Tank” groaned at the prospect.

But we’re hard as nails these days and a paltry shower of rain…and near zero visibility wasn’t going to stop us.

Carnations in lapels we both cruised the car park at Carron Reservoir.  Just as well we had the carnations… we’d both left our respective mobile phone information at home.   You can only plan for so much.  Total incompetence is something that is just too difficult to make sensible provision for.

Unlike most of The Fatdog “Tails” there are very few photographs.  The Fuji was tucked safely away in my pocket for most of the trip as intermittent drizzles swished down the forest tracks towards us, never quite soaking but just enough to keep jackets zipped up and hoods and hats at the ready.  Oddly enough the summit was rain free and calm though the cloud covering ensured that we wouldn’t be seeing further than the most unadventurous dug.

The Maestro led the choir in a reasonably acceptable rendition of "Hark the Herald Angels Sing".

AMEN!

Much to Scott’s astonishment no sooner had we reached the summit trig point then I was off GPS in hand after a nearby geocache

http://www.geocaching.com/seek/cache_details.aspx?wp=GCQDY8

– closely followed by all 3 enthusiastic dugs who got bored and gave up on the pursuit fairly quickly.  I should add that Molly (Scott’s cream and beige Labradoodle) has previous form with this cache having “discovered “ it earlier this year and relocated it… without officially amending the coordinates!

Maybe I shouldn’t have waved so energetically when I found the bloody thing as the “wee black dug” belted down the hill straight towards me with intent.  Thank God it wasn’t The Fatdog…was what was going through my head at that moment in time.

So what, given the absence of views, did the inaugural meeting of the Scottish League of Outdoor Bloggers discuss?

Well…(heh, heh, heh) we bitched about the forums, then we bitched about the geocachers and then…yes and then (heh, heh, heh) …we bitched about the BLOGGERS!

So was it your blog we whispered about heads together as we ambled down the hill…before giggling hysterically?

If you feel we may have had cause to make entirely slanderous remarks about your blog or forum feel free to post up your possible “Faux Pas” with an explanation of why this should be considered and we’ll tell you if you were right or wrong.  Can’t say fairer!

 
26 Comments

Posted by on December 6, 2009 in General Drivel

 

26 responses to “SLOB

  1. whitespider1066

    December 7, 2009 at 1:21 pm

    well I do hope you both will come along to the OBF meet at Braemar next May.
    There are 12 members doing the TGOC and Braemar will be a get together of them all.

     
  2. fatdogwalks

    December 7, 2009 at 4:33 pm

    Hi Darren! Good to hear from you 😀 .

    Are you sure there are that many bloggers? 😆 Given a number don’t actually get to walk much you might be a few short by Braemar? Maybe we could run a book based on the prospective routes and the people involved.

    I will assume my gold trimmed invite was lost in the post and that there wasn’t a concerted effort to keep “The Picts” in the dark about the event. Hmm, it could be interesting as long as I put aside my abhorrence of blood sports for an evening. Mind you it’s a rare chance to witness characteristic blogger behaviour first hand in the “wild”. I really shouldn’t miss that…David Attenborough eat your heart out!

    You’ve convinced me…assuming it’s at the weekend I will endeavour to be there, but you’ll have to pick a pub that allows The Fatdog into the bar.

    PS I assume this is half way through the “coast to coast”? That being the case could I recommend showers for you lot beforehand? 😆

     
  3. alan.sloman

    December 7, 2009 at 4:42 pm

    Wossat? Twelfty?
    Let’s see then: Peewee, Linden Buckpasser, Pulling the legs off of from of which Spiders, Scratchcard from Timperley, Bazza, Doodlebugger, Hevvyhiker, Pies’n’mash, CaMcNasty, Nighty Night, Philly Rafter, and me.
    Blimey! That’s twelfty! and there could be Dandy Andy and his Nibs the Ibbs as well (he writes on Handy Andy’s blog)

    Everyone bitches on my blog. Well, I do, anyway.

     
  4. fatdogwalks

    December 7, 2009 at 5:58 pm

    Alan, 😀

    Many thanks for that well meaning explanation…now would you like to tell us exactly what you were talking about 😉

     
  5. scott

    December 7, 2009 at 7:26 pm

    I’ve yet to find a pub in Braemar that takes dugs. Which is a pity, because many’s the time a pint before heading off to Linn o’Dee for a wander in the Cairngorms would have hit the spot.

    Although I could probably forego a pint if I could have some of whatever Alan’s on instead.

    😉

     
  6. fatdogwalks

    December 7, 2009 at 8:23 pm

    So it’s the shades, the harness and the white stick routine again. Works a treat…until the waft of hot food hits her nostrils. 😯

    What you’re saying is – it’s entirely possible that Alan only “imagines” all these people are going? Well, I assume they’re people…some of the names, jings, scary stuff!

     
  7. alan.sloman

    December 7, 2009 at 9:03 pm

    You should try my world. It’s all nice and warm. If you take your spectacles off it’s all fuzzy as well.

    No imaginations involved – I read the successful applicants list sent out by Uncle Roger. So now you know. And all becomes clear.

    And this is the first I knew of the OBF meet as well. Did I miss something riveting on the OBF board then?

     
  8. Martin Rye

    December 7, 2009 at 9:15 pm

    Alas I am not on the Challenge and wont be at the get together. Then I don’t know what is the minimum walks you need to do to be an outdoor blogger? I do know its up to them if they walk high in the mountains or down the Dorset Way. Does it matter if some do one walk a year or many?

     
  9. Mike Knipe

    December 7, 2009 at 9:46 pm

    There was a pooch in the Fife Arms – a sort of lurcher/irish wolfhound monster – but very docile. I’m sure it’d be allright if you explained about the guide dog training (bring white stick and dark specs by the way)
    There were a few dogs as well, but less said the better about TGO challinjers.
    Showers? I thought we didn’t do precipitation?

     
  10. fatdogwalks

    December 7, 2009 at 9:46 pm

    Martin, you’re quite correct in that it doesn’t matter whether you do one walk or lots of walks or even where you walk. In fact you don’t even have to walk – OB’ing is a “broad church” 😀

    but…

    If we’re going to start putting our money on who’s going to make it as far as Braemar…or not… 😀 …we need to know the current form of the “runners and riders”. We’ve all read of those, maybe a wee bit concerned having not walked much in a while…then there’s Mr Knipe…who probably won’t stop until he reaches Norway!

    Sorry you won’t be making it up to this part of the world for the event Martin…have you got a visit planned sometime?

     
  11. fatdogwalks

    December 7, 2009 at 9:52 pm

    Mike, FD has a particularly sensitive nose and gets unbelievably stroppy if she can’t smell the food for the smell of unwashed bodies 😉 You really don’t want her to make a mistake. 😯

     
  12. fatdogwalks

    December 7, 2009 at 10:00 pm

    Alan – this was taken from a list? I’m sure I detected a wee bit of editing 😆 .

    I think this TGO event is wonderful. Routes have to be planned and approved by the authorities. The walking is to be done within a restricted time period and in a particular direction. Brilliant!!!

    I’m so impressed that TGO are one up on the SNP. No need for expensive passport control at the border…TGO’s got the model cracked! Welcome to the Albania of the north 😀

     
  13. Mike Knipe

    December 7, 2009 at 10:17 pm

    Whoa- listen, after a fortnight of Scottish bogs, I’d take a Daisy licking frenzy anytime. I’m used to dogs, y’know – they don’t scare me. Some of my best girlfriends have…. well, as I say, least said….
    But what’s these comments about Albania Ken? This is not a walk through the wilderness. There’ll be none of that freedom of the hills nonsense, this is a party for alcoholics and those who’s aspirations include becoming an alcoholic. thats why we all go to Braemar….. and (hic) Lochcallater…
    You have to have rules, otherwise there’d be chaos, and nobody would get a drink.
    Don’t get all precious about the freedom of the hills, son, we can do that anytime – no, this is a party….

     
  14. scott

    December 7, 2009 at 10:36 pm

    It’s always the same. One bloody rule for lurchers and another for Wee Black Dugs.

    Of course it was maybe me the Fife Arms didn’t like the look of.

     
  15. fatdogwalks

    December 7, 2009 at 10:54 pm

    Oddly enough we keep out of the bogs Mike 😆 , we leave them exclusively for the TGO Crew to wallow in as they stagger across the country…that way there’s footprints to follow when they get lost.

    I have to agree the enforced containment policy is the only sensible option given that particular set of parameters…inability to focus, walk in a straight line etc.

    One thing is puzzling though. I remember a discussion on the forums about finding a decent pub in Braemar…I believe the consensus was…there wasn’t one. The annual event – habit or desperation? 😉

    PS The Fatdog says she’s seen your photo and doesn’t fancy you in the slightest.

     
  16. fatdogwalks

    December 7, 2009 at 10:58 pm

    Scott – Having seen the Wee Black Dug in action, I suspect it was the 4th or 5th time she’d belted around the walls of the bar (an operation liable to last 20 seconds)when you were asked to leave. 😆

    Given the fact that nobody else (other than the TGO’ers) seems to drink in Braemar they probably heard your accent and thought you were foreign.

     
  17. Mike Knipe

    December 7, 2009 at 11:23 pm

    Ashley, I think the fatdog is rather pretty…..I don’t suppose a supply of meat scented winalot would win her over?

     
  18. Mike Knipe

    December 7, 2009 at 11:29 pm

    Anyway – ribald banter aside, I’m sure you and your wee duggy would be really very welcome to visit the fragrant Challengers in Braemar.
    Please come… we’ll be in the best pub.

     
  19. fatdogwalks

    December 8, 2009 at 9:34 am

    Mike : “Nae chance!”…according to The Fatdog

    Hopefully things will tie up and we’ll be in Braemar on the appropriate date…I don’t know of anything planned for May so it should be ok. Would be good to meet up and put voices to faces 😀 .

     
  20. Mike Knipe

    December 8, 2009 at 10:07 pm

    22 May should be the main date by my reckoning. I expect details might get firmed up nearer the time, but there’s not all that many boozah’s in Braemar, so it shouldn’t be too difficult….

     
  21. Phreerunner

    December 8, 2009 at 10:09 pm

    Oh dear. Just found this. Back to the drawing board. My route didn’t go anywhere near Braemar. Is that another rule I’ve missed?
    ….searches for Uncle Roger’s 10 volume tome of rules….

     
  22. Martin Rye

    December 8, 2009 at 10:46 pm

    I will be in the North West for a week in May Ken. Hopefully a high level walk. Not got time for two weeks in one go next year. Will be looking to Challenge in 2011.

     
  23. fatdogwalks

    December 8, 2009 at 11:16 pm

    Thanks for the date Mike 😀 …I’m sure you wouldn’t give me the wrong one 😉 . Might be safer for me heading for Braemar in May anyway. The past 2 years I’ve been in Glen Etive in May and burned myself out(both times)to the point where I contemplated giving the hills a bodyswerve altogether!

    I see we have a little technical problem. Did someone forget to tell Martin (Phreerunner) that all roads must lead to Braemar? Who else has been kept unaware of this I wonder? Has the whole thing been set up by an OB splinter group?

    Come to think of it who decided on Braemar anyway…and in God’s name WHY?

    Hope you have a great week in the NW Martin (Rye) – it’s a fantastic part of the world – any walks you really want to do up there? You’re spoilt for choice in that part of the world. How far north are you intending to go?

    BTW any more Martins out there? (Hmm, maybe I should ask them to post on different days to save confusion)

     
  24. Phreerunner

    December 10, 2009 at 6:08 pm

    Can I have Tuesdays, Thursdays and Saturdays, please? Then we can both have Sundays off.
    OK – found the rule hidden away in volume 9 – have adjusted plans to head up Glen Tilt, but I’ll sorely miss the other-worldly hospitality at the Spittal….

     
  25. fatdogwalks

    December 11, 2009 at 9:39 am

    Well done Martin (Phreerunner) ! 😀

    I would love to see all these route plans – just to see how much of a deviation they take to reach Braemar on a certain date.

    You could maybe have a prize for the biggest deviant! 😯

    (Hmmm…maybe I got that wrong) Remember Martin (Phreerunner)you can’t comment comment until tomorrow and if you miss that slot it’s Tuesday. 😉

     
  26. alan.sloman

    December 11, 2009 at 11:17 am

    I would like to put in a claim for the biggest deviation (Ooh! Madame!)
    In 2008 Lord Elpus & I strted at the most southerly start point (Yes, we have prescribed start points as well…) walked all the way up to Braemar and then finished near St Cyrus; ie heading a lot south again.
    The good thing is though that in recent years the beer has improved markedly in Braemar (but not in the Fife, which is still fizzy piss.)

     

Leave a Reply

 
