RSS

Tomorrow – “Fiarach”

29 Dec

The BBC weather service tells me that the temperature here in Larbert is currently -7C, which is roughly what is predicted about midday tomorrow in the Tyndrum area.  Bad news is mwis reckons it’ll feel like -16C where we’re going – if the wind finds us.

This is liable to be our last serious excursion of the year and we’re heading for the snow.  Mind you all I have to do is step out the door – the bloody stuff has been sitting here for over a week and point blank refuses to budge!  With overnight temperatures of -7C we need crampons to get to the car.  I spent a chilly hour this morning removing 3” thick slabs of frozen snow off the tops of the “Tank” and the Panda.

I digress.

I’ve picked what should be a nice easy Graham (2000’-2500’) near Tyndrum called Fiarach and hopefully both myself and The Fatdog should be able to crawl our way to the summit.  I’ve packed the ice axe and my Spiders (mini spikes), but I’m praying the snow will have crusted over (but not frozen solid) so that we can make steady progress.  Soft 3’ drifts will see the Fatdog totally submerged with me thoroughly piddled off trying to dig her out.

FD and I don’t normally tackle snow of this potential magnitude but the whole walk is less than 10km with almost 2/3rd of it on forestry track so that should put it well within our acceptable range.  As long as we don’t have “the wrong sort of snow” that is!

 
4 Comments

Posted by on December 29, 2009 in General Drivel

 

4 responses to “Tomorrow – “Fiarach”

  1. annienz

    December 29, 2009 at 5:25 am

    You’re nuts. Well, I guess FD knows that her human is a little crazy and she’d better go out in the snow to keep an eye on him ……

    I’d be staying niiiiiice and warm and dry inside in such conditions. LOL

    Annie

     
  2. Simon

    December 29, 2009 at 10:19 am

    Hmm. I await report with interest. Or even an email. I have been putting off heading north until there are signs of it consolidating. I have to say that I haven’t seen it yet. Best of luck. (Maybe you could patent a FD snorkel?)

     
  3. fatdogwalks

    December 29, 2009 at 6:59 pm

    THE WRONG SORT OF SNOW!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 😦

    Unless you feel extremely fit Simon I wouldn’t bother – it’s like dust underfoot. We made it most of the way following a sheep trail 😆 but were less than a km from the summit when the east wind started to blow and the temperature plummeted (we’d started at -11C at Dalrigh nr Tyndrum). Maisie’s tail had been down for a while so we bailed out.

    Annie – crazy is mandatory if you do hillwalking over here 😀 . I’m sure Simon will back me up on this – once he stops gibbering in the corner and claiming he is Cleopatra come back to life.

     
  4. annienz

    December 30, 2009 at 10:28 pm

    LOL!!! The people that we know here who start slobbering at the sight of snow are generally skiers. PB & I think they are crazy too!!!
    It’s a good thing you have the Maisie tail-o-meter to help with your decison making. We go by the stubborn look on Neve’s face for some things.

    Annie

     

Leave a Reply

 
