RSS

“Baby It’s Cold Outside”

30 Dec

“Minus bloody 11 degrees Celcius!”

I stared goggle-eyed at the “Tank’s” temperature gauge in disbelief.  Normally we just don’t do those sort of negative numbers of cold.  The Fatdog was totally oblivious to this wee bit of winter chill and was gambolling around the car park at Dalrigh like a puppy on Irn Bru.  FD likes snow but I wondered how she was going to feel after a few hours in these arctic temperatures.  We were parked just south of the village of Tyndrum which had, the previous night, been the coldest place in Scotland at a nippy -16C.  It was to achieve the same distinction on the night of our visit, though thankfully not until we had departed south.

I had a relatively simple plan in mind for today’s walk – shuffle along an estate track for a few kilometres, then once arriving at a fence strike uphill beside it until we reached the summit of Fiarach (652m).  Plans don’t come much simpler.  Execution was as usual another matter.

I thought I was going to have to use my ice axe on a solidly frozen gate latch at the old masonry arch bridge across the frozen River Fillan but the contrary catch surrendered just as I reached over my shoulder.  Shame…I needed a bit of practice.  Maybe I would find something else …

Memories flooded back as I looked upstream over the stone parapet.  In 1982 my site office was where the Dalrigh car park is now and I used to bring our dog to work with me.  I remember rolling rocks on this same stretch of iced over river for Hovis to chase.

The River Fillan

Back in the present two barking border terriers had claimed the bridge as theirs and were giving FD a hard time.  Their owners looked up just as I reached over my shoulder…

Maybe I would find something else …

The Track heading straight towards the Tyndrum Munros. Ben Lui just right of centre.

The Fatdog studies the "old forest" for signs of wild Bonio - Beinn Dubhchraig behind

The Fatdog and I followed the track as it curved upwards towards the edges of the old native woodland.  Yesterday the sun was blazing down but today it was struggling to peek out from behind the cloud so the trees appeared a bit lifeless and decent photos were hard to come by.  Even the mountains were a bit dull through the lens.  One particular hill proved an exception and the eye was constantly drawn towards it…Ben Dorain.  This steep sided Munro with its narrow rounded top sits to the north beyond Tyndrum with easy access from Bridge of Orchy.   It’s been a couple of years since we walked in that area.

Ben Dorain

After an hour of plodding through about 100mm of powder snow on the track we reached the fence where our uphill battle would commence.

Now it's time to follow the "footprints"

It's much steeper than this makes it look!

I was pleased.  For the first hundred metres we followed a trail through the snow cut by a fellow walker in previous days.  I looked down to check the boot prints.  Hmm much smaller feet than the normal hillwalker…oh, that’s interesting …and four legs too!  Oh Bugger, we were following a sheep track!  Maybe we would be lucky and it would be a Graham bagging woolly quadroped.  We were lucky…up to a point.  We met our grass munching benefactor after about three quarters of an hour of uphill slog.

Having run out of sheep prints to follow I was now having to cut a trail.  Unfortunately the ground had steepened and the going was getting tougher.  I attempted to kick steps in the snow, which proved to be a bit pointless as it had the consistency of hour glass sand and promptly swept away from under my feet.

We would have been about 20m up the slope when I could sense gravity acting on both feet as they began to slip their way back down.  I thought of waving the ice axe at it to get some anchorage, but that was going to have sod all effect.  The snow was fine dust.

I had no option but to make the feet work frantically and hope that momentum would carry me up.  To be honest slipping down the slope would have been a damn site more fun than scrambling up it, but pride was at stake.   The legs windmilled and I staggered up the remaining part thankfully without the ignominy of creating a face-down “snow angel”.  The Fatdog sat and watched, waiting for me to do something clever or at least entertaining.  Deprived of any stimulus she turned and plodded on, puzzled at what all the fuss was about.

The battle temporarily over I had time to contemplate various ways of making easy our ascent, the most practical being to tuck The Fatdog under my arm, bum facing upwards and replicate the arm action mostly associated with the “playing of the pipes” – thus blowing the offending powder snow into the next county.  The Fatdog sensed my mood and backed away.

We had reached the broad north ridge…and a stiff easterly wind.  The temperature plummeted (forecast -16C) and I could feel the chill sinking into my bones.  FD was not looking happy at all.  Her tail had gone down earlier after some “popping“ sounds in the distance and she hadn’t recovered.  I couldn’t tell whether she was still stressed from that or whether it was the wind chill.  I looked at the distance we had still to travel and the terrain we had still to cross.  Possibly up to an hour at our current rate of progress.  Seconds later I had taken the decision to bail out.

Our tracks on the left mark the end of the road.

Time to start the descent

We thundered back down the hill in a cloud of sparkling snow dust The Fatdog’s tail spinning wildly. All was well once more.  It had taken an hour to clamber up this section…and ten minutes to come down!

The tension builds. the lycra chafes, the klaxon sounds....then to the sound of clanging cowbells we're off down the piste!

The sun tried its best to provide some decent light on our return trip down the estate track, glinting on tiny shards of ice on top of the snow.  This was going to make deadly spindrift when a wind picked up.

Panorama of Gleann Auchreoch

The "old forest" Scots Pine

Look closely for sparkling ice.

We were almost back at the railway line when I noticed a walker cutting across in front of us from the direction of Beinn Dubhchraig.  Maybe someone to walk back to the car with…we picked up speed.

As he crossed the railway bridge he passed a group of 3 guys heading our way.  We were about 20m behind at this point.  I should have sensed something was not quite right when the first of the group was a fraction of a second slow with the customary smile and greeting and the others seemed strangely slow to speak.

We got closer to the walker…and closer…but oddly he still didn’t turn around.  I moved to pass and still no reaction.  Once alongside I bellowed a loud “HELLO!” to be “greeted” by a mumbled, almost indecipherable, “hello” in return accompanied by an amazing lack of eye contact given we were the only 2 people on this section of the track.  I took one look at his face – lucky me!  Looked like today was the annual meet of the Association of Nerdy Hillwalkers – Sociopath Division.   The face had the semi-glaikit, f*** off look of one displeased to find another walker on his path.

I started to speed up – he had an ice axe.  The Fatdog had no such intentions.  The deep growl started and a “Don’t mess” warning bark blared out in his general direction.  FD is the quietest of souls but when she comes across someone, how can I put this – not quite right, she becomes a wee bit agitated.  This one she wanted to see off completely and I virtually had to drag her away.

Still humphing and grumphing The Fatdog was marched along the track with only a brief stop at the bridge for a last look at the River Fillan before the short stroll back to the car.

Ice on the the River Fillan

I started the “Tank” and checked the temperature.

“Still minus bloody 11 degrees Celcius!”

.

.

The Route

Our route is shown in green

.

.

…and a last shot of Beinn Dorain

 
7 Comments

Posted by on December 30, 2009 in Grahams

 

7 responses to ““Baby It’s Cold Outside”

  1. Tessa Park

    December 30, 2009 at 6:18 pm

    Some nice views there Ken. Not managed to get out yet, am desperate for a good walk but conditions are somewhat off putting.

     
  2. Simon

    December 30, 2009 at 7:30 pm

    Sounded like a right bugger Ken. Nice broody pics though. And yes – I am taking your sound advice.

     
  3. fatdogwalks

    December 30, 2009 at 8:25 pm

    I was reading about the type of hoar crystals that form into slip layers and become potential avalanche risks.

    http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/scotland/highlands_and_islands/8433886.stm

    Given the type of surface I was seeing on the snow – a dry dust of big glittering crystals I can see where the problem would exist should another layer of snow fall on top. The third last photo “Look closely for sparkling ice” was meant to show that surface.

    It was a real sod going up…but my God it was great fun coming down 😆

    I certainly won’t be heading back into prolonged snow. I like the type of snow day I had on Binnein Mor – where it looks good but in reality is barely there. 😀
    .
    .
    The big yellow chopper hovered for a minute over Beinn Dubhchraig when we were heading up and it looked as if it was going to come over to check us out…but it swerved away up to Bridge of Orchy.

    Sadly it must have been a bit busy today 😦 .

     
  4. annienz

    December 31, 2009 at 5:55 am

    Looks lovely – especially that pretty sparkly ice ……

    My weather has been a bit less rainy today – and about 30 degrees warmer in fact!!!!! Even when it’s rainy we can have temps of 18 or 20C.

    Our rescue helicopter most often has to turn out for tourists (in the mountains AND road accidents)- is it the same in Scotland?

    Annie

     
  5. fatdogwalks

    December 31, 2009 at 10:21 am

    “Sigh!”…Heat, wouldn’t that be nice. 😀 Our snow is starting to disappear, but as we lose snow normally after 24 hours (and this lot has been hanging around for 2 weeks) I have to say it’s pretty persistent stuff.

    The choppers are for any emergency so like in NZ it could just as easily be any of the 3. I’m not so sure about the helicopter call outs for tourists as the more publicised ones are usually climbers/walkers. I think the land based mountain rescue teams spend a lot of their time chasing after ill equiped people who are not “real” hillwalkers.

     
  6. Simon

    December 31, 2009 at 7:45 pm

    Ken, you want to get some snowshoes 🙂 . As seen here: http://www.scottishhills.com/html/modules.php?name=Forums&file=viewtopic&p=96776#96776

     
  7. fatdogwalks

    January 3, 2010 at 7:35 pm

    Thanks for the link Simon. I would however have enjoyed a video of you waddling across the snowbound peat bogs. I’m sure the leg action would have been…interesting. 😀

     

Leave a Reply

 
