RSS

Where Egos Dare

15 Jan

“I still don’t understand the need for accumulation of hill ‘experiences’. It seems like a lot of people go out on the hills just to talk the next day about what they did the day before. Isn’t this called an ego trip?!!”

.

I copied this, some might say provocative, question from a forum some time ago intending to write a tongue in cheek reply.  The way things worked out I never really got around to it but I’m sure there’s some egotistical blogger out there who would want to respond.  C’mon justify yourself!  😀

 
15 Comments

Posted by on January 15, 2010 in General Drivel

 

15 responses to “Where Egos Dare

  1. Simon

    January 15, 2010 at 9:52 pm

    Justify? Who ever wrote that seems to have it spot on. It’s all ego. Ego and the blood, toil, tears, and sweat.

     
  2. fatdogwalks

    January 15, 2010 at 11:19 pm

    I was hoping for a little more debate before we got to the truth Simon! 😉

     
  3. fatdogwalks

    January 17, 2010 at 11:28 pm

    Did I mention the word debate?
    …silly me!

    Given an OB’s usual propensity for jumping upon any possible slur to their good name (if doubtful character) I am left pondering the absence of any meaningful, sorry any, response at all. Simon doesn’t count (I know, I’ve been to the pub with him)

    So…does this mean their egos are so big the possibility has bypassed them competely? Or…it could be just mass denial. Another possibility is that having been faced with the prospect of admitting to their rampant egotism, they are all in therapy.

    Is the equation blog = ego a valid one? Or am I just flogging a dead horse?

     
  4. Linda

    January 18, 2010 at 2:06 pm

    If hillwaking is defined as being an ego trip to some then I confess to being an egotist! I wouldn’t call it an ego trip myself, I see it as more of an experience that climbers like to share with other like minded people.

     
  5. fatdogwalks

    January 18, 2010 at 8:39 pm

    I would have to admit that there is a bit of truth in the premise as far as I am concerned. 😳

    Once I found I could do it – it was all about how I could better it. Unfortunately it doesn’t necessarily work that way, as you do get into the rut of feeling you have to churn out a quality story from every trip. This leads to the production of(again regarding my own output) fairly mediocre stuff. The trouble is that the whole process leads you into believing you are an author – not a blogger 😆

    Anyway us bloggers are all hoping for some sort of literary “gong” Linda…the fact that there isn’t one hasn’t really stopped us. Which only goes to show – you don’t have to be bright to be an egoist. 😀

     
  6. Alex

    January 19, 2010 at 8:31 pm

    It`s nothing as deep as that for us Ken.We only started the blog in order to attract loads of women into joining us 🙂

     
  7. fatdogwalks

    January 19, 2010 at 9:33 pm

    Aaaahhh…mmmm…eh…How do I respond to that. 😆

    Faaaaaarrr too deep for me (he says playing safe). 😉

     
  8. alan.sloman

    January 20, 2010 at 12:12 pm

    “We only started the blog in order to attract loads of women into joining us”

    So true! I have been fighting them off. Get Down, Marlene!
    That blasted Dietrich woman can be so trying!

     
  9. fatdogwalks

    January 20, 2010 at 2:54 pm

    Eh, Alan…Ms D. passed away some years ago now. You are being stalked by an imposter…or a corpse…neither bodes well! 😦

    It is not the blog but The Fatdog’s pink sparkly collar which is the fail safe ”babe magnet” 😀 . It attracts women hillwalkers faster than a Ferrari. I mentioned this to J – who howled in derision for a week afterwards. I was crushed. 😦

     
  10. Simon

    January 20, 2010 at 4:08 pm

    Ken, a fast car may attract women more slowly; but of a different type that those magnetised by a sparkly pink collar.

     
  11. fatdogwalks

    January 20, 2010 at 6:39 pm

    OK Simon…I suppose you won’t have any objection then to me creating a link from here to the “Blether Girls” at ScottishHills! Some of the responses might be interesting.
    As I recall you don’t run very fast which may give you a wee bit of a problem 😆 😉

     
  12. Simon

    January 21, 2010 at 1:49 pm

    Ah. Umm. But I do drive fast 🙂 .

     
  13. fatdogwalks

    January 21, 2010 at 11:22 pm

    Dobbed you in Simon…they’ll be after you soon! 😀

     
  14. Hils

    January 21, 2010 at 11:44 pm

    Great site FDW, you must be well proud of it.

     
  15. fatdogwalks

    January 22, 2010 at 12:03 am

    Thanks Hils 😀 It’s takes a fair bit of time to keep it going and unfortunately I can’t seem to lift the posts straight out of here and into Shills. That’s why you don’t see so many there now.

     

Leave a Reply

 
