RSS

The Blog is Changing

16 Feb

Some of you may have noticed that things have been a bit quiet here lately with output a bit down from a few months ago.  Truth is it’s becoming increasingly difficult to produce the hours of endless drivel necessary to keep the blog going the way I want it to.    

I have become a bit fussy both about the quality of photos and of the text, so now everything seems to take so much longer than it did when I was simply posting on a forum.  Hours are now spent in front of a computer screen in attempt to produce regular output with less time spent on reading and planning trips…and, it could be argued, getting myself out the door and back into the hills.  I also feel the raison d’etre of the blog has become compromised in recent months. 

The problem has been compounded in that I wanted to keep posting the “tails” on ScottishHills.com but the endless b*******g about with photos and text to fit both WordPress, and then Shills, has meant a lot of extra work.  Ironically it’s far easier to post on Shills and then copy to the blog than the other way about.  Also the amount of time I’ve spent on the blog, and the commitments associated with blogging in general, has dramatically reduced the time I have available to spend with friends on the Shills forum and has left me with an almost  “really can’t be a***d” mentality when I do eventually get there.   I don’t consider this to be a good thing. 

So what’s going to happen?

Firstly the intention is to have the blog solely as a hillwalking blog.  I still want to keep a “published” record of our escapades on the hills so I intend to continue to write The Fatdog Tails.  My intention is to post them on Shills and then post them on the blog…that way I can do a straight copy with only minor editing.

Secondly I don’t intend to write about much else (“Hurrah!” they scream) other than possibly a precursor to the trips and maybe a linking section between trips so that the whole thing has continuity. 

Thirdly the blog appearance will be changed in the next few days to freshen it up and to reflect the changes

My apologies to those who enjoyed the prattle on a variety of subjects but I’m afraid the time has come for me to concentrate more on the walking and less on the writing. I will always be grateful to those who have shown great faith and return week upon week to find out what we’re up to whether it’s hillwalking or other pursuits and hope that you are not too disappointed with the changes. 

I also hope you’ll continue to enjoy the Fatdog “Tails” and drop in to see how we are getting on and say Hi!.

 
7 Comments

Posted by on February 16, 2010 in General Drivel

 

7 responses to “The Blog is Changing

  1. alan.sloman

    February 16, 2010 at 4:13 pm

    Looking forward to seeing the changes. Change is good. And more time for clambering up the hills is even better.
    What’s this Scottish Hills thing then?
    I shall have a dig about and try to find it…

     
  2. Simon

    February 16, 2010 at 6:37 pm

    Hurrah!

    No Alan, don’t bother; you wouldn’t like it.

     
  3. scott

    February 16, 2010 at 9:47 pm

    It’s always quality stuff on here Ken, and I’m sure it’ll continue that way even if there’s a wee change of emphasis. Personally I seem to have given up blogging and hillwalking, so I’m jealous you’re finding time for any of it!
    😉

     
  4. Phreerunner

    February 16, 2010 at 11:30 pm

    I can understand your dilemma, Ken. Though I’m not active on Shills it looks like the sort of place where I would spend a lot of time if I lived where you do. The blog is your indulgence – you can put what you like on it. There are now so many ‘outdoors blogs’ that there’s too much to read anyway. This means there’s a tendency to skim through some of the entries (eg re gear that you can’t afford and will probably never need anyway) and read the shorter, punchier entries on actual trips. Having said that, I got caught out last night for two hours by someone who had described his HRP trip in a single posting!
    Anyway, have fun, whatever you do.
    Martin

     
  5. fatdogwalks

    February 17, 2010 at 9:50 pm

    Thank you gentlemen 😀

    Simon’s right Alan, you wouldn’t like it 😆 …too calm.

    I was wondering Scott…you seemed to be awful quiet on the hill front.

    Martin, you’ve hit the nail pretty much on the head there…I think there’s a tendency to spend a lot of time doing things you never intended to do…at the expense of things you really wanted to do.

     
  6. Iain-down under

    February 18, 2010 at 1:51 am

    I’m full of admiration for bloggers and the time and effort you put into your blogs but I can see that it can become a matter of the tail wagging the (fat) dog!

    I’ll keep popping when I get the chance.

    cheers & good luck
    Iain

     
  7. fatdogwalks

    February 18, 2010 at 10:08 pm

    Thanks Iain 😀 I just needed to move back to what’s important and focus more on that. Too many (not so bright) ideas all rushing around but not actually doing an awful lot.

    Now that I’m focussing and becoming more organised again, we’ll be back into the hills more often and more regularly. No whimping out now! 😆

     

Leave a Reply

 
