RSS

Diary – Monday 22 February 2010 – Corbetting tomorrow

22 Feb

Things are moving fast here 😀 .

I haven’t even had a chance to write up the walk from Saturday, following our trail as we rampaged through the snow above Drumochter under unbelievably blue skies, before The Fatdog and I are off on another adventure.

Tomorrow we’re picking up Cap’n Jack as we head off to Loch Leven for a brisk stroll up the Corbett, Mam na Gualainn – and possibly the Graham, Tom Meadhoin.  MWIS says west is best so after Saturday’s stunning views (ooops you’ve still to see those 😳 ) into the mountain mass of the Loch Ericht hinterland from the Munro, Geal Charn, I’m looking forward to sunshine on the sea lochs to the south of Fort William.  February doesn’t come better than this!!!  Here’s tomorrow’s planned route.

 
9 Comments

Posted by on February 22, 2010 in Diary Entries

 

9 responses to “Diary – Monday 22 February 2010 – Corbetting tomorrow

  1. Alex

    February 23, 2010 at 12:25 pm

    I took your planned route a few years back with the addition of the Marilyn to the north,Doire Ban.
    From memory there was a reasonable path up Mam na Gualainn from the high point of the col and a faint quad bike track up Tom Meadhoin from there also.Having said that they will probably be under snow tomorrow so that was good thinking on bringing Captain Jack along to utilise his younger legs on the trail breaking front 🙂
    Good views across to Ardgour .!

     
  2. Phreerunner

    February 23, 2010 at 4:59 pm

    Hope you had a good day out – that Corbett’s on my TGO Challenge route. It should have exc views…

     
  3. Simon

    February 23, 2010 at 6:21 pm

    Did this pair last month, at the Clachaig meet. I hope that you had a good day, and that you went straight up and down MnG from the bealach, rather than the somewhat longer route shown above.

     
  4. scott

    February 23, 2010 at 10:56 pm

    “The Blog Is Changing” – aye, probably because you’re never in your hoose to write anything anymore.

    😉

     
  5. fatdogwalks

    February 23, 2010 at 11:47 pm

    Alex – guess who was breaking the trail…you guessed it…ME!!! 😆 Took a wee bit longer than I’d planned to summit – 3 hours – so we did the Corbett and called it a day. Snow mainly from the bealach.

    We did get great views Martin 😀 – all around – it’s quite a viewpoint. The breeze up top today was greater than on Saturday in Drumochter – bloody Baltic it was! Your route seems very close to the WHW – some might consider that cheating 😉

    We did shortcut from the bealach Simon and after deciding not to do the Corbett we took another shortcut off.

    Scott…I detect a note of pure envy in your comment…just ’cause you’re not getting out to play 😆 !

    Got back from the walk…had a shower…and then it was back out for an hour of circuit training. I am soooooo crocked!!! 😦

     
  6. Phreerunner

    February 25, 2010 at 1:53 pm

    Ah. Yes. You spotted it!
    Yes, I’ve redesigned the WHW to make Mam na Gualainn the 13th Corbett on my dosser’s route across Scotland in May. I admit it then. I’m cheating by using a variant of the WHW for the TGOC.

     
  7. fatdogwalks

    February 25, 2010 at 10:36 pm

    Just read the stats for your TGO Martin, you mad b****r!!! 😆 Looking forward to seeing your route…mind you if you tell me the start I can probably work out the Corbetts you’re following. Hope you’ve decided to drop down to do the round of 5 at Tyndrum (only one day allowed…sorry) en route. 😉

    I think following the Mammore Ridge, parallel to your route (I’m guessing here), would have been a superb walk – mind you if the weather was crap it might not be so much fun. You heading towards Corrour?

     
  8. Phreerunner

    February 26, 2010 at 4:40 pm

    Haha
    Lochailort – it’s a dead giveaway. ‘No harm in being ambitious’ commented my vetter (an inveterate bagger). There are lots of escape routes so if the weather or my body (or likely both) don’t behave, I can easily exit to Corran.
    I am saving the ‘Tyndrum 5’ for a day out from Manchester sometime. (Will that do for an excuse!)
    I’ve been on the Mamores many times, so am skipping past them on this occasion in a bid to reach the east coast. I don’t expect to see many (any?) other Challengers until I reach Clova.
    Will be publishing an overview of the route shortly.
    I hope you’ll enjoy following the progress of the various bloggers, but you won’t find me with the others in Braemar, I’m afraid.

     
  9. fatdogwalks

    February 26, 2010 at 8:44 pm

    Should have guessed that one Martin…prime Corbett territory.
    I’m saving the Tyndrum 5 until after my attempt on Everest! Might just be ready by then. 😀

    Looking forward to seeing your route…always fascinates me, the TGO Masochists…sorry Challengers 😉 , you never know what god forsaken route they’ll come up with next…usually the ones I try to avoid like the plague 😆 Good luck Martin 😀

     

Leave a Reply

 
