RSS

Diary Friday 26 February 2010 – A post for the sake of a post!

26 Feb

A post for the sake of a post!

It’s been a hell of a few days since our Tuesday outing.  We could see the cloud build from the east as we drove back over Rannoch Moor and it didn’t stop building until it became too heavy to stay up in the skies.  Then the snow came back…with a vengeance.  It snowed here in Larbert…briefly, before turning to slush then disappearing altogether.  But north of Stirling things got really bad.  Over 600mm between Stirling and Perth.  Traffic chaos with all roads north closed at some point.

Looks like the weather on the hills could be ok by Sunday…assuming you could drive anywhere near them, or feel so inclined to risk doing so.  I have to admit that I don’t think my legs would take a full blown snow hill – top to bottom, I think I’ll wait until the white stuff recedes to about the 600m mark…at least!

The Fatdog “Tail” for last Saturday’s trip – “The Minor God of February Sunshine” sees a return to the original style of story, before the days of the blog, where The Fatdog’s fictional alter-ego is the centre of a totally different interpretation of a part, or sometimes all, of the day’s events.

For those of you not familiar with those earlier stories I used to include a couple of paragraphs, usually at the end of the text, which would expand a bizarre storyline usually from the previous week.  I haven’t done this for a while but with the blog now more focussed I think I’ll bring it back, at least for wee while.

The Fatdog Repository holds most of the old “Tails” but regrettably not in chronological order.  I expect this could make it quite difficult to make sense of some of the themes.  I could barely do so …and I wrote them.

The coming “Tail” – “The Weather Thieves” will expand on “The Minor God of February Sunshine” in a totally surreal manner and introduce a new character, who I’m tempted to develop as The Fatdog’s nemesis.

Meanwhile here’s a few photos from the Tuesday trip to Mam na Guallain.

 
4 Comments

Posted by on February 26, 2010 in General Drivel

 

4 responses to “Diary Friday 26 February 2010 – A post for the sake of a post!

  1. Bob

    February 27, 2010 at 4:34 pm

    Thats a great photo of ice crystals ken.Would not like to be an insect crawling over that lot.

     
  2. fatdogwalks

    February 27, 2010 at 6:18 pm

    That was on the summit Bob. There was a hollow filled with the stuff – like a giant pool of polystyrene beads! Incredible to walk through 😀 .

     
  3. annienz

    February 28, 2010 at 7:44 am

    Awesome ice crystals!!
    And how the heck did Maisie get her ears like that.

    On a completely different topic – I see that Maise’s Travel Bug is moving again.

     
  4. fatdogwalks

    February 28, 2010 at 12:14 pm

    I don’t do much winter walking so the crystals were new to me Annie…spectacular stuff though.

    When the wind blows into her face…the ears flap…just luck…I took 3 or 4 until I caught both ears sticking out 😆

    Looks like the TB is into another multi though 😦

     

Leave a Reply

 
