RSS

A Wee “Burd”

21 Mar

Today FD and I were doing a bit of geocaching above North Third reservoir near Stirling.  The walk followed a forestry track through a commercial plantation up onto a wee bit of moorland.  Near the top we came across this wee “burd”.  I have no idea what it is but it appears to be about the size of a starling and has a hooked beak.

Here are some photos taken on the wee camera’s max zoom (into the light) 😦 .  These may be the worst photos ever to appear on the blog, but I wouldn’t mind knowing what variety the wee “burd” is.  The last shot is of a different bird but it was with the one photographed in the tree.

Anyone have any idea?

 
5 Comments

Posted by on March 21, 2010 in General Drivel

 

5 responses to “A Wee “Burd”

  1. beatingthebounds

    March 22, 2010 at 12:24 am

    I think it might be a crossbill Ken. Confusingly, there’s also a scottish crossbill and a parrot crossbill all of which can be found in Scotland apparently.

     
  2. Phreerunner

    March 22, 2010 at 9:43 am

    Agreed – Crossbill in my book.

     
  3. fatdogwalks

    March 22, 2010 at 1:27 pm

    Many thanks Mark, Martin 😀 .

    I also have confirmation from a friend from ScottishHills.com who is far more knowledgeable than me in these matters. He was certain it was the female of the species.

    I know they’re fairly rare or if not exactly that then at least limited in their choice of environment (pine forest). Just wish I’d got a decent photo. Never mind it’s a first for me 😀 .

    I’ll have to read up on them now.

     
  4. Alex

    March 22, 2010 at 2:50 pm

    Crossbill for sure :o)

     
  5. fatdogwalks

    March 22, 2010 at 9:30 pm

    Thanks Alex…I reckon the decision is pretty unanimous 😀 😆 . I think I’ll go with…the…CROSSBILL!!!

     

Leave a Reply

 
