RSS

The Maddening Malaise of May

11 May

The Maddening Malaise of May has struck once again.

For the third May running my enthusiasm for the mountains has almost totally vanished and I have spent a frustrating couple of weeks sorting my head out.  Even taking Maisie for a walk has been an effort, with my brain constantly going in circles as I wait for the little roulette ball of choice to stop bouncing around and let me know what I’ll be doing next.  Will it be geocaching?  Will it be coastal walks?  Will it be trails through the glens?  Possibly some or all…and no doubt I’ll be up the odd hill as well as the mood takes me.

I’ve just missed a crackin’ dry weekend to explore somewhere, anywhere, as my indecision crippled me yet again.  I found myself plodding sadly around Plean Country Park, mind a total blank and enthusiasm for anything, including the blog, almost gone.  Admittedly there have been a number of contributory elements to this gloomy state of mind but it is my nature to bounce back once I can focus.  Then a new project sprang to mind.  I picked up the phone to see if the Cap’n fancied the idea.  There was a lull at the other end of the phone as I could sense him mulling over the prospect of a different sort of walking experience.  Then I explained the real reason for the trip.  Intrigued, he said he was up for it.

So…where will we be going?

Our destination will be a stretch of North Sea coastline north of Montrose between the towns of Johnshaven and Gourdon following what I think is a section (off road) of a national cycle route.

Hmm…very specific you are no doubt thinking…and the Scottish walkers amongst you must be also thinking – a very obscure spot indeed!

We aim to confuse.

You will by now have quite correctly assessed that I’m not going to tell you why we’re going, that is for later.

 
7 Comments

Posted by on May 11, 2010 in General Drivel

 

7 responses to “The Maddening Malaise of May

  1. Simon

    May 12, 2010 at 9:18 am

    Hmm. Wild guess – you’re both going to do the chain walk? That should sort out your jaded enthusiasm 🙂 .

     
  2. Paul

    May 12, 2010 at 1:24 pm

    Aren’t there places nearer to home were you can go for a paddle Ken?

     
  3. scott

    May 12, 2010 at 7:27 pm

    Now there’s a coincidence – part of our trip to Aberdeen for a stag do a couple of months back included a coastal pub crawl via minibus.

    There’s a cracking pub in Gourdon – the Harbour Bar. They gave us free stovies! 🙂

    I’m no’ saying that’s why you’re going, of course!

     
  4. fatdogwalks

    May 12, 2010 at 8:50 pm

    Interesting thought MrP…but I just get this Wallace and Gromit image in my head when I think of us tackling Fife’s low level via ferrata. 😀
    .
    The banks of the Forth and not particularly spectacular Paul…just very muddy!
    .
    There was a grand smell coming out of the place when we walked past it Scott…sadly there was not enough time for a visit 😦 . And no…we didn’t go there for a pub crawl…but if we’d known about the stovies it might have been another matter :D.

     
  5. bob

    May 12, 2010 at 10:46 pm

    I get that way as well Ken.Its sometimes an effort to think of somewhere new and differentI havent been or the forecast is uninspiring.Once I force myself out though I always enjoy it and even trips I,ve done before reveal something different.I even went through a period bagging all the country parks so I,ve been to plean :0) Bob.

     
  6. fatdogwalks

    May 13, 2010 at 7:39 am

    Like you Bob I nearly always enjoy my trips out.

    I think my problem comes from our association with hillwalking and the feeling that the blog wouldn’t be the same if we didn’t head off up a mountain every week or so 😆 . In my head I probably feel that I still have to do it to keep the blog going…nonsense really. Maybe I could just blog about dog food 😀 !

    I know I’m kinda fed up doing the big “trip report” type posts…mainly because of the time it takes to do. As you know between the writing, the photo editing and puting the 2 together the whole thing can occupy days if you let it. Now I find myself days behind the event whereas I would like to blog about the here and now!

    I need a strategy 😉

     
  7. fatdogwalks

    May 13, 2010 at 7:40 am

    You’ve been to PLEAN ???????????????

    Nobody goes to Plean 😉 !

     

Leave a Reply

 
