RSS

What You See is What You Get- Noooooooo!

19 May

To your average genealogical researcher old photographs can be a real bonus.  They can tell you a lot about how people looked, how they dressed, where they lived and just occasionally there are wee snippets in the background which add to their story and to your understanding. 

However the joy of finding such treasures is tempered with the sudden shock of how eh…ah…”unfortunate”… your antecedents can look!  I believe Billy Connolly once used the phrase “deeply f*****g ugly people” in one of his sketches…now I know where he was coming from.  From what I’ve seen some of my lot fell out the ugly tree bashing their heads on every branch on the way down.  It’s one of nature’s miracles that the gene pool survived at all.  Forget the ancestors, maybe I had discovered a new species.  I checked my old evolution notes for a late branch of (not quite) Homo Sapiens…nope…I may be onto something here! 

I did wonder if my ancestors were having to choose partners from a very restricted peer group, but I haven’t yet come across family ties that could be considered too close and neither myself nor Cap’n Jack counted more than 5 fingers on any hand on our recent trip.  There was also an apparent lack of banjo playing…which was good on more than one level.

Thank goodness the ugly gene had climbed its way out of the pool by the 1950’s…ahem! 😳 😉

 
4 Comments

Posted by on May 19, 2010 in Digging up the ancestors

 

4 responses to “What You See is What You Get- Noooooooo!

  1. Simon

    May 20, 2010 at 8:54 am

    I’m sure that I couldn’t possibly comment.

     
  2. fatdogwalks

    May 20, 2010 at 10:28 pm

    I expected something more original from you MrP (lol).

    I’m almost insulted by the lack of proper insult…if you see what I mean…

     
  3. Simon

    May 21, 2010 at 1:57 pm

    Ok. Try – isn’t it a good job that Lamarkism has been proved wrong?

     
  4. fatdogwalks

    May 23, 2010 at 7:25 pm

    That was much better MrP 😀 though I expect my grandparents were the first to be somewhat relieved by the debunking of that theory. They were nowhere near as bad as what had gone before. They were at least able to walk upright.

     

Leave a Reply

 
