RSS

Busy Doin’ Nuffin’

10 Jun

Sadly circumstances dictate that The Fatdog and I are in a period of relative stasis.  In other words bugger all is happening.  The wee Fuji tavels with us on our daily dogwalks in the hope of catching something that might be interesting enough to stick on the blog.  Today we have 3 offerings from Plean Country Park and 1 from the tiny patch of ground that is our front garden.  Hardly the wilds of Scotland but needs must…etc…etc…

It's a bug on a flower! Naturalists please identify.

Fungus...somebody must know what it is?

Maybe dragonfly family?

It's a delicate paper-pink poppy from our front garden

OK…we’ll try harder for next week 😉

 
7 Comments

Posted by on June 10, 2010 in General Drivel

 

7 responses to “Busy Doin’ Nuffin’

  1. Alex

    June 10, 2010 at 9:05 pm

    That third one is weird looking…never seen anything like it.
    Any nuclear power stations near you ? 🙂

     
  2. fatdogwalks

    June 10, 2010 at 9:31 pm

    Was watching Springwatch this week…it looks like a Mayfly nymph. You can’t see the body in the photo but it’s the daddy long legs sort. I’ve seen dragonflies in the same area that’s what made me think it might be a stage in their development.

    On the other hand it’s Plean – 6 fingered banjo players – doesn’t need a nuclear source 😯

     
  3. beatingthebounds

    June 11, 2010 at 9:48 pm

    Second one looks like oyster mushrooms. Tasty. (But I wouldn’t take my word for the identification!)

     
  4. fatdogwalks

    June 13, 2010 at 4:55 pm

    Thanks Mark. I’ve eaten oyster mushrooms in the past but I sure as hell wouldn’t want to eat these ones … they were big, thick and distinctly unappealing 😆 an industrial strength variety!

     
  5. walkingDi

    June 13, 2010 at 9:51 pm

    Is the second one not a lacewing? I don’t know, I’m taking the opportunity of asking by way of introducing myself as a follower of this blog

     
  6. walkingDi

    June 13, 2010 at 9:52 pm

    And I meant the third one. Sorry!

     
  7. fatdogwalks

    June 13, 2010 at 10:14 pm

    Thanks Diane – great to hear from you 😀

    I’m afraid my knowledge of the natural world equals my knowledge of nuclear physics – sod all – therefore all help is greatly appreciated.

    This year I acquired a “big book of burdz” which improved matters and it now looks like I require an equivalent for insects, flowers trees and fungi 😆 .

     

Leave a Reply

 
