RSS

Hingin’ on a Shoogly Peg

25 Jun

The blog has ground to a halt and its continued existence hangs on a shoogly peg.

I’m staring blankly at the computer waiting for the slightest glimmer of original thought…but nowt appears.  It’s been like this for a few weeks now.  A spell of unusually warm weekends and non-walking commitments have led to an extended lull in blogging.  There’s also a wee problem with the walking which isn’t helping.  With the hols fast approaching it may be that the lull extends for another few weeks yet.  I can’t say I’m missing sitting in front of the computer most evenings, for one thing my eyes are feeling a lot better for my absence.

I would like to thank all who took the trouble to take part in this less than meaningful poll – your participation was greatly appreciated.  In total a truly magnificent 11 votes were cast.

There were 3 votes against change, 3 for change and 5 who couldn’t give a monkey’s.   I have assumed that the other (ahem) 20,000 readers have been busy this past week or so and have been unable to put cursor to button.  I suppose they could slot into the  “couldn’t give a monkey’s” category.

So…what will happen to the appearance of the blog?

We put this and other obvious questions to the CEO.

“Given the indeterminate nature of the response to the poll, what will happen to the appearance of the blog?”

“Good question.  No idea.  Next question”

“Given the distinct lack of new material will the blog keep going in its present form?”

“Better question.  Still no idea.”

“Given the obvious lack of enthusiasm shown from top management is there a possibility the blog may close?”

“Oh…much, much better question!  I don’t think we should use the word “close”.  I think we should call it a temporary shutdown for routine maintenance.”

Well there you have it…the answers straight from the top.

 
18 Comments

Posted by on June 25, 2010 in General Drivel

 

18 responses to “Hingin’ on a Shoogly Peg

  1. Alex

    June 25, 2010 at 10:45 pm

    I`m sure your readership will happily wait unti you can be bothered posting something Ken.Your blog is always entertaing 🙂

    If it becomes a real chore then have a break from it for a wee while.Plenty of other folk do.!

    I`m away to Galloway for the weekend tomorrow morning.Got an appointment with the southernmost trig point in Scotland.Sad,isn`t it ? 🙂

     
  2. Simon

    June 26, 2010 at 11:39 am

    Hey, wait a month and you can write up how the MRT choppered you off the CMD arete 🙂 . That should up your hit rate.

     
  3. fatdogwalks

    June 26, 2010 at 12:38 pm

    Alex – when you talk so enthusiastically about those trig points it makes me think that there’s somebody else out there who might also benefit from a wee break 😆 😉

    Have fun in the south :D!

    Mr P, I still physically have to get onto the arete to be ‘coptered off. In fact I still physically have to get out of the car park! I have no idea how this ascent is going to go and which one (or more) of my mulktiple complaints will kick in and when.

    If it’s warm it’ll be bloody hard work. I’m praying for a tail wind on the ascent followed by a dead calm for the arete. Oddly the boulderfield ascent will possibly be ideal…where I can’t attempt to go faster than I should :D.

     
  4. bob

    June 27, 2010 at 8:05 am

    Ken.Both myself and Alex went through a dark period where we couldnt do the things we wanted to do or lost interest because of that.After the Alta via 2 I could hardly walk around the shops without my knees crunching badly and at one point Alex thought he would need an operation for the same thing.I took up Kayaking and cycling to give my knees a complete rest from major hills for a a couple of years,Alex did different things too and its only now we can enjoy the hills again.I really enjoyed my new pastimes too and visited some amazing places.Maybe a switch to island bagging(Have you read “the scottish islands?”)would bring back your motivation and wouldnt be so hard on the knees til they recover.
    It is a fair amount of work posting and writing these things with not a lot of reward and I know where you are coming from(Hands up. I,m guilty of reading a lot of things and not commenting much due to time or natural lazy git mentality but it would be a sad loss if you do decide to pack it in as we will too someday when we run out of new ideas and places to go.You,ve been going the distance a lot longer than us.
    ps. Loved the pics of the mayfly and garden insects. Never seen one so close before.
    If you dont get seasick Island bagging is a great new adventure.Mostly dog (and wife)freindly too.Bute, Great cumbrae and Arran have so much going for them that we havent touched on and are worth a visit even to see them without bagging major hills Cool sea breezes too in summer).I know you love the greater ranges ken but sometimes a change brings rewards that you didnt expect.
    Best wishes fellow blogger. two finger typist bob.

     
  5. fatdogwalks

    June 27, 2010 at 9:40 pm

    Thanks for the support Bob…greatly appreciated. I suppose I was worried that taking a couple of years off would make it too late for Maisie. She’s just gone 7 and Labs ain’t naturally mountain dogs 😆 . I don’t see her making a comeback at 9+ !

    When my “sciatic” problems began in 2007 I was told then by a sports physio that continuing with the hillwalking was likely to keep the problem festering away because of the load on the lower back…chickens coming home to roost I suspect. On the other hand I’ve managed to push past it a couple of times now, although I have to admit the problem is a wee bit worse this year. I’ve also picked up a problem in my left knee which is new…but it seems to be ok with load on it.

    I have only one hill day planned – MrP’s Munro compleation on the Ben via Carn Mor Dearg – this will be on a wing and a prayer, but with no Fatdog on this trip it will allow me to “zone out” if need be on the ascent, so I’m pretty sure I can make it. Apart from that there will be company which always makes it easier. After that…who knows?

    Island bagging…maybe not…you might want to read both of these…

    http://www.scottishhills.com/html/modules.php?name=Forums&file=viewtopic&t=3123

    http://www.scottishhills.com/html/modules.php?name=Forums&file=viewtopic&t=3641

    I am looking for something new to tackle…and the required enthusiasm for the task. Everything is on a wait and see basis just now. The second half of July into August is when I usually get the urge to head back into the hills so I’m keeping my fingers crossed. If it doesn’t happen for whatever reason then I’ll just come up with something else to do. Just now I’m more worried about the writing! 😆

    Again my thanks for the advice and your good wishes 😀 .

     
  6. fatdogwalks

    June 28, 2010 at 9:35 am

    Meant to say to read the comments on the Shills posts – that’s where all the fun was 😀 .

     
  7. Tessa Park

    June 28, 2010 at 8:05 pm

    I didn’t vote on the blog appearance because I’m sure whatever you do with it will be good!

    Looks as though we will see you on the 24th then. Although the prospect of the CMD is a bit daunting. Not the arete but the amount of ascent involved given our walking has been a bit slow to get off the ground this year.

     
  8. Tessa Park

    June 28, 2010 at 8:07 pm

    I just tried to post something and it didn’t work! Sorry I didn’t vote in the poll but I’m sure whatever it looks like it will look good!

    Looks as though we will see you on the 24th then. Have to confess to feeling a bit daunted by the prospect of the CMD. Not the arete particularly but the amount of ascent involved!

     
  9. Tessa Park

    June 28, 2010 at 8:08 pm

    Arrgh double post – sorry!

     
  10. fatdogwalks

    June 28, 2010 at 8:50 pm

    No probs Tessa 😀 .

    I’ve still to look at the book on this one…hold on a minute.

    “Oh S**t!” I’ve just looked at the book…and the map.

    Not quite 20km but 1750m of ascent!!!!!!!!! and 5 hours 10 to the top of the Ben. You’re right, the arete is the least of our worries! Any wind/damp etc could make this hell on earth.

    Very slow and very steady is what I’m thinking here 😆

    I reckon a good time to rethink the blog…will be after July 24 😯 .

     
  11. Iain - down under

    June 29, 2010 at 12:35 am

    Hi Ken,

    I’m always full of admiration for those that write blogs, particularly entertaining ones such as yours, and are able to keep at it for so long. I can ‘console’ myself if there is no new Fat Dog Tales by re-reading your past ones.

    Take care, look after yourself and give Maisie a pat for me.

    Cheers

     
  12. fatdogwalks

    June 29, 2010 at 8:09 am

    Thanks Iain…consider Maisie well patted 😀 !

    I’m certainly hopeful that the blog will continue. The walking problem arises every summer. I seem to be able to “ignore” the sciatic problem most of the year but in the warmer weather the heat just seems to add another negative factor to overcome and I slow even more dramatically than in the rest of the year. Apart from that Maisie doesn’t like walking in the heat and can drop to the pace of a geriatric snail.

    As I mentioned earlier the problems have been a wee bit worse this year so I’m still trying to assess whether continuing to attempt the hillwalking is the right thing to do…long term. I’ve a BIG walk to do with MrP (Simon) and the rest of the ScottishHills.com mob in 4 weeks time so my main aim is to be fit enough to do that – or at least make it out of the car park.

    This years problems have led to a bit of a re-think with the blog and what I would like to cover in it. I wouldn’t want it to just stutter along so I have to find something to drive it if the hill walking has to end. I’ve had loads of suggestions in the past from the likes of Alex and Bob (thanks again guys), some of which are real contenders and would be exciting to walk and photograph…so you never know… 😀

     
  13. Andrew

    June 29, 2010 at 10:43 pm

    Good luck with the walk Ken
    Would like to have attended but saving CMD until last as the Ben was our first Munro.
    Really hope that the blog continues.
    Cheers
    andrew

     
  14. Tessa Park

    June 30, 2010 at 7:18 am

    Very slow and very steady sounds good to me Ken! 😆

    I think Simon’s route has a bit less ascent as he’s planning on starting from the North Face car park which means you don’t have to drop down from the halfway lochan to the CIC hut. Still about 1500m plus though – eek!

    I also need to hit the gym over the next few weeks 🙄

     
  15. fatdogwalks

    June 30, 2010 at 9:05 pm

    Hi Andrew – long time!! 😀

    Never mind…hopefully we’ll catch up at a future meet…there seems to be enough of them these days…one must coincide with our respective diaries 😆 .

     
  16. fatdogwalks

    June 30, 2010 at 9:09 pm

    Tessa…only 1500m…thank goodness for that I thought it was going to be a hard day. Aye right!

    Unfortunately we’ll soon be off on holiday…so I won’t have any time to build up to it 😦 . It’s more important for me to stretch than anything else…so hopefully I’ll be like a bendy toy by the 24th 😆 .

     
  17. Andrew

    June 30, 2010 at 9:34 pm

    Yes quite a long time
    Finally managed a shiny new computer type thingy that doesnt shut down when it feels like it.
    Sadly not been able to make a meet for some time.
    Possibly may make the October one in torridon but that is a slim chance as we are there a couple of weeks before.
    Would be great to meet up again
    cheers

     
  18. Tessa Park

    July 1, 2010 at 12:55 pm

    Have a good holiday and hope the stretches work. Maybe I better do some of those too 😦

    Andrew, I’m not making any of the other meets this year sadly – bah! 😦

     

Leave a Reply

 
