RSS

And of the Cannibals that each other eat…

12 Jul

And of the Cannibals that each other eat,
The Anthropophagi, and men whose heads
Do grow beneath their shoulders.
Othello, 1. 3

.

Why?

Just liked the quotation…that’s all.

“But why Othello?”,  you ask. 

You all knew it was Othello didn’t you?  Of course you did.  Not that I had to Google Othello quotes to find one to start off this piece you understand.

As usual I digress.  I’m trying to catch up with what has gone before…specifically in the days before we reached Cornwall. 

Following MrP’s instructions to get myself fit for the wee stroll up his final Munro I had to find something to climb.  There’s not a huge selection of big mountains in the Herefordshire/Shropshire border area, so after a bit of thought I came up with a cunning plan…

An unusual first shot you think…and you’d be correct.  Here at Ludlow Castle there is currently an open air production of Shakespeare’s Othello and you’re looking at the stage.

And this is the stage from a bit higher up.  Quite a setting.

MrP would be pleased.  Thumping up and down medieval castle towers would be decent practice.  The ascent of spiral staircases was far more scary than the ascent of your average Munro!  I had to substitute pigeons for ptarmigan but the overall effect was basically the same.  Yes, J disliked the whole idea altogether.  Up is up in her book…and is not necessarily a good thing!

Back down to earth I found this wee mole burrowing out from under some of the stage set.

The shops in Ludlow were taking part in a window dressing competition.  One of the top displays opted for a Shakespearian theme…

Blow me about in winds! roast me in sulphur! Wash me in steep-down gulfs of liquid fire! O Desdemona! Desdemona! dead!. Othello, 5. 2

 

 
11 Comments

Posted by on July 12, 2010 in General Drivel

 

11 responses to “And of the Cannibals that each other eat…

  1. Tessa Park

    July 12, 2010 at 9:18 pm

    I like castles but spiral staircases are a bit of a pain!

    Hmm fitness.. what was it you said about taking the walk very slowly? Sounds good to me…

     
  2. Linda

    July 13, 2010 at 11:45 am

    I went to Ludlow castle, circa 1988, whilst visiting some relatives in Bridgnorth. The only wildlife I saw were a few bats inside one of the upper parts of the castle. That mole looks very cute.

     
  3. fatdogwalks

    July 13, 2010 at 9:46 pm

    C’mon Tessa..you’ll have to get into the spirit of the thing…or crash and burn in the walk-in like me! 😦

    The mole was very cute Linda. Unfortunately I had to take the photos with the wee camera which didn’t capture the exact moment I wanted…the one where it was actually recognisable as a mole! 😆

     
  4. Tessa Park

    July 14, 2010 at 7:35 am

    Hopefully neither of us will crash and burn! Been bashing away in the gym but the only thing that seems to get you fit for doing hills seems to be doing hills 😦 Might take out a small bump in the Lakes on the way up.

     
  5. fatdogwalks

    July 14, 2010 at 3:46 pm

    I consider all this gym training of yours as cheating Tessa. Ease up a bit or I’ll be on my own, an hour behind everyone else. I remember ChrisM,s completion – not so much remember as made it up – I hardly saw anyone all day I was so far behind 😆 .

    When I get home it’s a week on The Cupcake Queen’s spin bike if it’s wet and maybe a couple of forays into the Ochils of an evening if it’s dry.

    Hopefully I’ll damage myself enough that my apologies for not managing the mountains will at least appear sincere 😉 .

     
  6. Tessa Park

    July 15, 2010 at 7:47 am

    Ken, we are very slow so you certainly won’t be an hour behind everyone! Besides I am having a few days off the gym as of today as I seem to have tweaked something 😦 Stuart hasn’t been much either, got too much on at work 😦

    Besides we will have to get up at 5am to get to Fort Bill from Irvine so will probably still be mostly asleep!

     
  7. fatdogwalks

    July 15, 2010 at 2:49 pm

    Sorry to hear about the (muscle?) tweak Tessa 😦 . Bit of a sod only a week before a big walk like this one coming up.

    We’re staying the night before so I’m lucky in that it’s not a really early start. 5am!!! That’s dedication 😆 .

     
  8. Tessa Park

    July 16, 2010 at 7:51 am

    Would probably have stayed the night before if we could have but Stuart doesn’t fly in till 10.30pm. I’m driving up a couple of days beforehand.

    Tweak seems to be easing off already so I will just avoid the gym for a couple of days and go to the new Go Outdoors that’s just opened in London instead. :lol:. Might drag myself up something in the Lakes en route up North as a warm up if the weather’s decent.

     
  9. fatdogwalks

    July 19, 2010 at 6:07 pm

    Good to hear you haven’t done anything nasty Tessa. 😀

    I see from Shills that your Lakes warm up is looking unlikely now…no luck! 😦

     
  10. Simon

    July 19, 2010 at 9:38 pm

    Oh, we are going to have so much fun on Saturday 🙂 . (My training has consisted of going walking with Kathy!)

     
  11. fatdogwalks

    July 19, 2010 at 9:49 pm

    Any more of that MrP and you’ll be carrying both myself and Tessa up CMD! 😀

    Training with Kathy…ouch! That would have hurt 😆 . Is it possible to “walk” with someone who’s 3 miles in front?

     

Leave a Reply

 
