RSS

Ben Gulabin – The Fatdog’s back on Track (all the way to the summit)!

01 Aug

The Fatdog has been taking her customary summer siesta from the hills with only a quick dash up the Meikle Bin that could loosely be  described as hillwalking.  Having refused to go on last week’s walk up CMD and “The Ben”, citing my unacceptable slowness as her perfectly acceptable reason, she indicated that she would be prepared to accompany me up something where I could cause her much less embarrassment.   We settled on an easy Corbett, Ben Gulabin, at the south end of Glenshee.

The SMC book says 1hour.20mins.  We took less than 1hour!

We left the house at 6.55am, arrived at the start of the track at 8.45am and had reached the summit by 9.40.  We wandered a trifle aimlessly around the top of the hill for 20 minutes, had a tea break and then trotted back down, to be back at the car and ready to go by 11am.  We were back home by 12.40pm.  That has to be one of our quickest days out…ever.  Oh yes, Glenshee is 82 miles away 😯 !

In fact today was perfect for us after the mega walk I did last weekend.  This was a chance to make sure the niggles were no nastier than before.  I also needed to see how Maisie would fare after a few months off.  We both appear to have passed muster.  We also did ok weather-wise by going early and limiting ourselves to a short walk – only one 10 minute drizzle.  The forecast wasn’t so good for the afternoon and the rain was pretty heavy coming back on the A9.

This is not an exciting hill and I would suggest saving it for some dramatic weather just to make it a wee bit interesting.  A landrover track will take you to the summit (almost).  If you then walk west from the summit to the crags, there’s a decent view south east down to Spittal of Glenshee and north to the once Munro, Carn Bhinnein, with its characteristic pointy top.

And that’s about it.

 
3 Comments

Posted by on August 1, 2010 in Corbetts

 

3 responses to “Ben Gulabin – The Fatdog’s back on Track (all the way to the summit)!

  1. Tessa Park

    August 3, 2010 at 7:40 pm

    Gotta love Glenshee for the high starts though… 😆

     
  2. Alex

    August 5, 2010 at 6:58 pm

    Fatdog has surpassed herself with the wind speed photograph.I wish I could think of a better caption..!

     
  3. fatdogwalks

    August 5, 2010 at 9:09 pm

    I have to say that walking out of Glenshee is not one of my favourites Tessa but it is handy for a quick hill. I think I’ve used it 3 times now after the summer break to ease myself back in. You may notice I don’t consider CMD and The Ben as coming into that category. I prefer to think of those as temporary abberations. 😀

    Alex, I think I’ll just do photo captions instead of writing all this drivel…it’s much more fun. I’ll have to start a compilation of some of the (in my opinion) better ones. 😆

     

Leave a Reply

 
