RSS

Dodging the Elbow!

04 Oct

As soon as I stepped in the door of the physiotherapy clinic I could hear the chicken bones of fate roll once more…or maybe it was my legs rattling through lack of serious use.  Would this be another expensive disaster like the fiasco 2 years ago?  I hoped not. 

The results of some gentle probing confirmed I have a twisted pelvis and one leg which contrives (successfully) to be longer than the other.

(Even at this early stage there must be a few of you who are of the opinion nurse should never have let me out of the home for a wee stroll, never mind haul myself up mountains.) 

Any manipulation of my legs was gentle…but he threatened to go in with the elbow if I didn’t sign up for his “Back Classes”.  I think this is the physiotherapy equivalent of the slow readers group.  Unsurprisingly I found myself nodding with alacrity so I’ll be attending “Back Class” to strengthen my core.  I do hope this is less industrial than it sounds, but at least it staved off the attentions of the “elbow” for a few weeks.  My new tormentor runs a Hatha Yoga class as well…so I’ll sign up for that too.  An improved meditation technique will come in handy when the “elbow” finally puts in an appearance. 

The good news is I’ve been told I can go wander up mountains, even if it does hurt.  “Push the boundaries” he said. 

“Ouch!”  I thought. 

 
7 Comments

Posted by on October 4, 2010 in General Drivel

 

7 responses to “Dodging the Elbow!

  1. Tessa Park

    October 4, 2010 at 10:54 pm

    Hope the back sorts itself soon. As a paid up member of the bad back club due to an old accident you have my sympathy. 😦

     
  2. fenlander

    October 5, 2010 at 7:16 am

    Doesn’t sound as though your physio is even half as attractive as my Osteopath. She inflicts serious amounts of excruciating pain BUT looks gorgeous doing it. LOL

     
  3. fatdogwalks

    October 5, 2010 at 8:47 am

    Thanks Tessa 😀 . Hopefully the effort of the next couple of months will pay off…though I think in the meantime I’ll limit the amount of daily ascent. Apparently it is neural pain (same as referred pain?) which manifests itself in my bum and legs. This is a real sod because it’s now kicking in about the 2 hour mark or about at 600m (ascent). Then I begin to waddle.

    I’m looking at the lower Corbetts just now…as well as circuit class, back class, yoga class, exercise bike, back and stretching exercises…I’m knackered just thinking about it, but needs must!

    I take it you’re back in the gym…being stuck down south for the winter…or have you plans to come up?

     
  4. fatdogwalks

    October 5, 2010 at 8:48 am

    Robin…wanna do a swap? 😆

     
  5. fenlander

    October 5, 2010 at 9:19 am

    You have two chances…NONE and LESS 🙂

     
  6. Simon

    October 5, 2010 at 11:31 am

    ‘ “Push the boundaries” he said.’ He, he. I may remind you of this 🙂 .

     
  7. fatdogwalks

    October 5, 2010 at 9:42 pm

    That’s most uncharitable of you Robin 😦 … 😆

    …and as for you MrP, I know this will be cast up at any available opportunity 🙄

     

Leave a Reply

 
