RSS

I to the hills will lift mine…feet?

23 Oct

Tomorrow, The Fatdog and I head back to the hills for the first time in 2 months.  Am I looking forward to it?  Not sure…I have no real feelings about it one way or the other.  The wild enthusiasm of a year or so ago has gone and only a detached ambivalence remains.  It’s odd to think that while the carry on with the aching legs hasn’t effected my determination (as ably demonstrated on Carn Mor Dearg Arete), it undoubtedly has had a dampening effect on my enthusiasm.

I’ve had a couple of sessions with the physio, been doing my exercises, started my “back class” and have been back to my once-a-week circuit training.  Will this help?  Eventually  I hope.  For now it’s all still a bit achy and unpredictable.  I’ve no idea whether it will go well or whether I’ll be hobbling along wishing I’d never left the house.

A chance conversation yesterday with Ol’ Steve, as I was heading out the office door for lunch, has resulted in a wee stroll up Fiarach tomorrow, a short day out and ideal for a first outing.  The last day on the hills with Ol’ Steve was way back in April of this year when we spent a day in driving hail on the Corbett Beinn a Chuallaich

Oh what fun we had 🙄 .

FD and I were on Fiarach last December when the temperature was down to a balmy -16C.  We bailed out after a big drop in the mercury when we reached the more exposed part of the walk.  Tomorrow shouldn’t be quite so cold, I hope 😯 , but I notice there is a first dusting of snow down to 600m on the Ochils.  The Fatdog will be seriously happy if we find some white stuff. 😀

 
2 Comments

Posted by on October 23, 2010 in General Drivel

 

2 responses to “I to the hills will lift mine…feet?

  1. Tessa Park

    October 24, 2010 at 1:40 pm

    Hope it goes well!

     
  2. fatdogwalks

    October 24, 2010 at 8:52 pm

    Thanks Tessa…it did go very well! 😀 Taking it easy and keeping the distance down should hopefully get me through the winter on the hills…fingers crossed 😆

     

Leave a Reply

 
