RSS

Is it just me?

07 Nov

I was about to construct a post which covered  the X factor, Strictly Come Dancing and today’s little jaunt up a wee hill just north of Callander…but then the red mist descended.

It must be an age thing, but sometimes my tolerance levels hit a point where lumps of hair are hauled out by the roots as I stare in despair at the omission of the feckin’ obvious.

I was about to write a constructive reply to a post on ScottishHills.com, put up by an estate owner who genuinely appears to be trying to accomodate walkers and stalking activities but…before I pressed the button…my principles got in the way. 😯 Red mist time.

No matter how accommodating estates are and how much the may wish (or not) to see walkers on the hills, there is one fundamental flaw in their make-up that sits in the way of their credibility.

I found I couldn’t post it without the final paragraph.  Neither was I prepared to post it with the final paragraph and disturb the unspoken “no aggro” policy on Shills.  It’s a great forum that can do without that type of hassle.

I’ll return to this theme in the posts covering the Hebrides trip.

So here is the post that was never posted, it’s fairly self expanatory…make of it what you will…

Many thanks.  I think it’s a good thing for us to hear the other side of the story.  No matter the circumstances it’s always disappointing to learn that anyone has had bad experiences through contact with hillwalkers.

You will no doubt appreciate that walkers can be faced with signs that are years out of date with a good number of estates forgetting to remove them.  I would like to think that this is an oversight on their part.  It sounds like you have taken a more proactive approach which is to be commended.  I for one would hope to be able to comply with a current re-direction posted up by an estate.  I know some would prefer to walk where they wished, but as in most of life compromises are required and I’ve found a number of estates providing good route information through boards and signs for which I have been grateful. I have yet to meet a hostile reception…but I have to say I’m not hopeful of this as a long term statistic.

The subject of signs brings me neatly to a point made by Foggie, though maybe from a different tack.  Health and Safety (groans from the assembled hordes).  One of the basic rules of hillwalking is to leave a copy of your route with your nearest and dearest…in case things don’t work out as planned and the MRTs need to be involved.  Having driven for many hours, then being faced with a “No Go!” sign…and then finding no mobile coverage – obviously this can lead to a problem with a change of route.  A difficult decision has to be made.  If faced with a non-current “shooting all year” sign there is a matter of credibility and trust to be considered before acting.

While it is possible to contact estates with a view to ascertaining where stalking is taking place there is an assumption of prior knowledge…and where to obtain that knowledge.  I would suggest that this is patchy at best.

I hope this is of some use.

Just to keep the record straight I would like to state that, while I have no particular views on estates shooting deer to sell as food or to cull the herds (if required to prevent long term suffering), I have a complete abhorrence of the principle of encouraging psychopaths to kill for enjoyment.  It does little to promote our role as a species…and carries little honour for either party in the bargain.

 

PS  I eventually had to post something…toned down red mist!

 
6 Comments

Posted by on November 7, 2010 in General Drivel

 

6 responses to “Is it just me?

  1. alan.sloman

    November 8, 2010 at 1:33 pm

    Well said, Ken.

     
  2. Simon

    November 8, 2010 at 4:49 pm

    The toned down version was provocative enough. 🙂 I liked Ouakha’s vegan orientated but thoughtful comment. Assuming that one is not vegetarian I think that there could be an interesting debate between the morality of psychopathically killing your own steak or hiring a professional to do it for you impersonally.

     
  3. fatdogwalks

    November 8, 2010 at 5:47 pm

    I’m afraid that’s about as close as it gets to me having a deeply held view. 😦 – shallow person that I am 😆 . I thought it was fairly restrained statement all things considered.

    I don’t intend to post on the shills thread again so I will respond to MrP here. This will disappoint him greatly as he hoped I would comment further thus stirring the pot that wee bit more. 🙄

    Simon – the advertising for “come kill a deer” was in the author’s first post of the thread where he outlined his proposed cheapo day out for the less well off.
    I don’t think a hillwalking site is an appropriate forum for the subject plus there is the issue that any form of commercial advertising should be up to our Glorious Leader. If he had just stuck to access arrangements I probably would not have made any comment at all.

    I deliberately avoided all side issues and kept it simple, which posed the question “Should we condone killing animals for enjoyment?”. …and they still managed to get sidetracked onto less fundamental issues. That’s democracy for you. While here in my autocratic little blog… 😀

     
  4. Scott

    November 8, 2010 at 6:12 pm

    I liked the bit where he had to pay the farm next door to be allowed to shoot what he regards as “his” deer.

    But no, it’s not just you Ken. I think folk who enjoy killing things – whether for food, for trophies or for general jollity – are too far down a particularly slippery slope for me to give them the time of day.

     
  5. fatdogwalks

    November 8, 2010 at 8:40 pm

    Had forgotten about that Scott 😆 Visions of the deer sneaking across a de-militarised zone between estates with stalkers either side blasting away at each other over no-man’s-land 😀

    On reflection maybe not such a bad idea 😀 .

     
  6. fatdogwalks

    November 9, 2010 at 10:03 pm

    Simon…he just did it again! 😯 … on page 4 of the thread. 😉 I am tempted…

     

Leave a Reply

 
