RSS

Do Whales Sing in the Forest?

28 Nov

I thought I might do some walking this weekend but late on Friday the snow arrived…and my bottle departed.  Never mind the fact I hate driving in it, I know my legs ain’t up to hauling myself up a mountain in snow especially when the bloody stuff is down to sea level.  I suspect walking posts may be thin on the ground for the next month or so if this narsty weather keeps up.  Even here there’s snow, in normally snow-free Larbert.

Fortunately myself, Cap’n Jack and The Fatdog sneaked in ahead of the weather, and on Tuesday past headed for Meall Odhar, a trifling wee bump just outside Tyndrum.  It proved to be a leisurely leg-stretch with the just a hint of a nippy breeze.  It now appears the breeze was a portent of things to come.

We parked at the Tourist Information car park in Tyndrum, headed for Tyndrum (Lower) station, crossed the line, then took a sharp right along the forestry tack running parallel to the railway track.  As we wandered through the forest the plaintive wailing of whale song filtered through the trees. 😯

I appreciate your confusion…and no doubt your scepticism.  Let’s face it whales aren’t particularly common on our mountains, the absence of salt water normally being considered a limiting factor.  It was though, on the whole, a most impressive noise.

Less than a mile distant from our happy wanderers the bin lorry sighed, moved into position,  and heaved another few bin loads of stinking refuse into its gaping maw.  As the rubbish reached the point of no return before dropping into the lorry’s digestive system the straining hydraulics wailed in protest, the mournful sound echoing around the glen.  But the bin lorry liked Tyndrum…it was small!

Tyndrum...with Beinn Odhar behind. Somewhere amongst the white walled houses a bin lorry wailed.

Our route would take us past the old lead mines, most of which are fenced off.

The Fatdog stared in dibelief - "You want me to go up...THAT!"

One of the mine entrances...rope access only I think.

The famous "Green Welly"

Ben Lui looking impressive in the snow

Our hill was much less impressive...the summit is the wee rise just above the trees.

Cap'n Jack is totally oblivious to the bum-sliding Fatdog

On the summit - Behind Cap'n Jack lurks the Munro, Ben Challuim with Ben More and Stob Binnein just right of FD.

The summit lochan...well oversized puddle.

Howzat for an arty photo! I can do more than dogs on summits you know!

And here's...a...eh...dog on a summit...yes...well...

 
3 Comments

Posted by on November 28, 2010 in Grahams

 

3 responses to “Do Whales Sing in the Forest?

  1. Simon

    November 29, 2010 at 9:34 am

    Steady Ken, you don’t want to overdo things. At your age you can’t be too careful.

     
  2. Oldmortality

    November 29, 2010 at 2:18 pm

    I don’t know the answer to the question, but I did once discover an enormous plankton filled turd in a wood near there which might answer your follow up question ?

     
  3. fatdogwalks

    December 1, 2010 at 7:31 pm

    MrP – If I get any more careful I’ll be lucky to make it out of the drive!

    Mind you given the weather conditions up here I don’t think I want to venture any further than the end of my block paving anyway.

    Om (now there’s an abreviation for which I may have to apologise) – I have considered your statement for the past couple of days and have been overwhelmingly impressed with your ability to identify plankton in a wood. However I am somewhat disturbed at your apparent choice of hobby. I have most generously decided to give you the benefit of the doubt and assume that”turd hunting” is not your primary activity in the woods. It have the horrible feeling that you will now tell me what is. 🙄

     

Leave a Reply

 
