RSS

The Advent of the Bondage Jelly Beans

15 Dec

There is something very satisfying about crunching one’s way over a couple of miles of thick sheet ice. While The Fatdog was secure on her inbuilt crampons I was, at last, now equally secure on my microspikes. I bought the Kahtoolas early last February, carried them up a few winter mountains…and never used them once. At last, instead of being unwanted ballast in my pack, they were on the feet and doing what they do best. Oh joy!

When I first opened the package containing the Kahtoolas I recall being faced with a writhing mass of red rubber and spike encrusted chains. Oops, had my order been mixed up? I gingerly picked up an edge of red rubber and tugged. Ah…good…at least it was foot-shaped, in fact the cut of the rubber reminded of the ever popular “jelly-bean” sandals. The chains reminded me of…well…eh…yes…let’s not go into that now.

It was pitch dark, 7am, and the sharp staccato of punctured ice reverberated off the surrounding houses. Serves the buggers right! If they had cleared the snow from the footpaths and the streets outside their houses (like we, in our street, had taken the trouble to do) then I wouldn’t have had to put on the machine-gun feet and they would still be sleeping. Below my spike clad trail shoes the ice screeched in pained agreement.

Those ill-fated enough to be out at the same time as The Fatdog and I stared enviously at my non-slip feet then quickly stepped out of The Fatdog’s determined path lest they be trampled under-paw. This time of the morning is toilet time in FD’s world and she has a very fixed routine…and it’s not a routine you want to mess with.

 
8 Comments

Posted by on December 15, 2010 in General Drivel

 

8 responses to “The Advent of the Bondage Jelly Beans

  1. Martin B

    December 15, 2010 at 2:23 pm

    Awesome – the Pavement Juggernauts…

     
  2. fatdogwalks

    December 16, 2010 at 11:16 pm

    Now beginning to run out of ice after last night’s partial thaw (although it’s back below freezing again). Most areas are clearing. Fortunately (for me) the pavements are still coated in 2 inches of compacted ice…so the “juggernauts” roll on.

     
  3. Scott

    December 17, 2010 at 9:34 pm

    Those things are really beginning to look essential.

    They were sold out everywhere last winter. Indeed I vividly remember deciding at precisely this time last year that I’d definitely buy a pair once we got into the summer, to avoid that problem arising again. Guess whether I followed through on that sensible plan?
    ;0)

     
  4. fatdogwalks

    December 18, 2010 at 1:06 am

    I remember the shortage 2 years ago Scott…just when they became “famous”. Scarce as hen’s teeth. I’m sure I ordered mine in January this year…no problem getting them. Just lucky 😀 .

    I assume that (given your own plan fell through) Santa has been asked to do the needfull? 😉

     
  5. fatdogwalks

    December 18, 2010 at 11:13 pm

    That’s an impressive price…though I was talking to our postgirl who said they’d been issued with spikes by Royal Mail…which promptly fell to bits after a couple of uses. Beware the cheapies! 😆

     
  6. Tessa Park

    December 21, 2010 at 1:27 pm

    Aha, another Microspikes convert! 😆

     
  7. fatdogwalks

    December 21, 2010 at 11:02 pm

    Was annoyed that I didn’t have the chance to try them out last winter Tessa. They are excellent I have to say, even on sheet ice. 😀

     

Leave a Reply

 
