RSS

Remembering Gramaphones

28 Dec

I’d been involved in a discussion about operatic tenors in the office last week.  Not the norm I must admit, though it’s not the first time we’ve had a debate on the subject.  My mate likes Gigli whereas I reckon he’s too much of a belter and prefer the effortless voice of Pavarotti.  Another of my favourites is the bel canto tenor Raul Gimenez.  Anyway, too cut a long boring story short I remembered an old wax ’78 that my folks used to have with a song that was my introduction to operatic tenors…but could I remember the singer’s name?

It took me a week of not thinking about it at all, then today out of the blue a name popped into my head – Tino Rossi.  Result!  My brain may be slow, but it gets there in the end.

We had to play our gramaphone through an old tube radio.  Although the record deck was decidedly more modern than the one in the clip below (1950’s I believe) the sound was about the same.

As the record hisses and crackles as it turns, I can almost smell our old gramaphone’s stuffy felt lining and sense the heaviness of its industrial weight turntable.  Smells and sounds of a time long past.

and for Oldmortality…

Don’t say I’m not good to you. 😀

 
4 Comments

Posted by on December 28, 2010 in General Drivel

 

4 responses to “Remembering Gramaphones

  1. Oldmortality

    December 28, 2010 at 7:01 pm

    I would have preferred a Gigli piece.

     
  2. fatdogwalks

    December 28, 2010 at 7:09 pm

    Done! (he’s still a belter or fortissimo as it’s politely called) 😉

     
  3. Florene

    December 28, 2010 at 7:18 pm

    You ARE good to us! This takes me back to my days in the 1940s when we had a Victrola crank console gramaphone. I must’ve been about 10, and my sister, brother and I had a lot of fun with that machine. My brother loved to do the crank. I sent you a picture (via regular email) of the old house we lived in….. as the house appears today.
    Looks like the Munsters might be residents now!

     
  4. fatdogwalks

    December 28, 2010 at 9:17 pm

    I thought all Americans (outside New York) lived in houses like that Florene. 😆 That’s what I see on the movies. 😀 J wants a porch like that…though how we could ever sit out on it God only knows! Too cold in winter (too cold in summer) too many midges!
    When we were in Canada a few years ago she took every opportunity so sit on one wherever we were staying.

    You’re right, the old house is beginning to show its age…though not as creepy as The Munsters establishment I would venture 😀 .

     

Leave a Reply

 
