RSS

What Doesn’t Kill You…

31 Dec

The old year’s end is only some 7 hours away and sadly I have nothing new to blog about 😦 .

The year was ending on a disastrous note – more problems for my back and legs after snow shovelling and, oddly enough, a long kitchen shift on Christmas Day with that continual slight bend at the worktop.  This was closely followed on Boxing Day by Bubonic Plague and legs which barely made it down the estate and back with The Fatdog.  Today is my first reasonably coherent day since then.  I’ve been put through hot flushes, sleep deprivation a racking cough and worst of all…a loss of appetite! 😯

However

It’s too early to tell, but, it would appear the nasty little virus has done something to the problematic muscle spasms in the legs…like sent them on holiday somewhere..because they ain’t there just now! I don’t know how it has achieved this or for how long, but I ain’t complaining.

Better than that…just before Christmas I sensed my weight rocketing – vast intake of food and no exercise.  I reckoned I had to be at least 13-5.  This morning I was weighing in at 12-10.

So…not all bad news then! 😉

HAPPY NEW YEAR TO YOU ALL!

 
8 Comments

Posted by on December 31, 2010 in General Drivel

 

8 responses to “What Doesn’t Kill You…

  1. Simon

    December 31, 2010 at 7:23 pm

    Clearly what you need is a good long walk in the fresh air. Or failing that, somewhere in Scotland.

     
  2. Florene

    December 31, 2010 at 8:04 pm

    “…continual slight bend at the worktop.”

    I have lower spinal osteoporosis, and I never feel any discomfort UNLESS I spend too much time working in the kitchen. Even my doc looks at me quizzically when I try to describe. Our vacation home was custom built for the owners who are each over 6-feet tall. I’m not tall at all (5′ 5″), but their counter tops are the perfect height for me.

    All you need to do is remodel your kitchen… Ha, Ha….. and a HAPPY NEW YEAR, too!

     
  3. Martin B

    December 31, 2010 at 11:21 pm

    Happy New Year, Ken – sounds like a bit of a miracle that you made it. Hoping you dream of more miracles for 2011!

     
  4. fatdogwalks

    January 2, 2011 at 1:05 pm

    As the plague still continues its occupation I checked the NHS 24 site for current advice. 5-10 bloody days for flu it says! I’m starting on day 8 today. So MrP, given that one of the main pieces of advice is stay put and do almost nothing I’m afraid a long walk is not on the cards 😦 . I believe after 10 days you present yourself at the nearest vetinary surgeons to be put to sleep.

    Florene – my physio told me that the slight bending eg brushing teeth, was one of the worst strains you can put on your lower back. I hadn’t been thinking about that when I spent all that time in the kitchen. Was quick to realise the next day though 😆 .

    Martin – thank you for the hope of dreams 😀 . We’re pretty good on the miracle front – still don’t know how I managed the Carn Mor Dearg Arete and up The Ben in July last year. Given how little I’d been walking and how badly my legs had been functioning prioir to that, it just shouldn’t have been possible. Next trick…anybody got some loaves and fishes…?

     
  5. Linda

    January 4, 2011 at 12:26 pm

    Hope you recover soon Ken.

    Happy New Year to you, J, Maisie and Cap’n Jack 😀

     
  6. fatdogwalks

    January 6, 2011 at 9:31 pm

    Thanks Linda 😀 Hope you enjoyed having your “outlaws” for Christmas dinner. Wondered what temperature you did them at and what type of stuffing you used? 😉

    The flu is at heavy cold level now…so a couple of days from now I should be as right as rain. Famous last words.

     
  7. Tessa Park

    January 6, 2011 at 9:49 pm

    Happy New Year – hope you are feeling better. Stuart has had the lurgy too, seems to go on for ages. 😦

     
  8. fatdogwalks

    January 6, 2011 at 9:59 pm

    Happy New Year to you too Tessa 😀 . I trust Stuart is on the mend…it certainly takes a while to shift. It’ll be 2 weeks come Sunday for me, though the remains are merely annoying.

    I’ve started to plan out this years walking…at least the easy stuff. Looks like a Corbett year judging by what’s appearing on my list. What’s on yours?

     

Leave a Reply

 
