RSS

In Thoughtful Mood…

07 Jan

The blasted flu is gradually receding.

Just as gradually, my interest in food is increasing as is my interest in things outdoors.  After this enforced Christmas/New Year layoff I reckon it’ll be a couple of weeks before I am fit for the hills (or put another way – allowed out to play) but, if lucky, may manage something the weekend after next.  As the plague is still very slowly working its way out my system I think a walk this coming weekend is highly unlikely.

With the bug striking on Boxing Day the Christmas presents have been ignored until now.  This was a great shame as J had gone out shopping with the intent of updating some of my walking kit.

I have a new lightweight Paramo wind smock which ensures I will appear bright red on anybody’s horizon and will give even more people a chance to ignore me out on the hill.  A new long sleeved red and black icebreaker base layer is a welcome addition, its predecessors being worn thin through a number of years constant use.  I’ve also been bought a very cosy pair of Craghoppers insulated trousers, something I’ve never possessed in the past.  Given the number of times I’ve been in the chilly winter mountains wearing a thin pair of walking trousers I’m still puzzled as to why I never thought of getting something a bit warmer before.  Given I’m a bit slower because of the leg problems this can only be a good thing.  New Buffs – both polar and merino wool are ideal for Scotland’s cold windy weather…and more importantly my devil-may-care piratical look.

Another nod to my decreasing speed – I was presented with a head torch.  Says it all really.  This was surprisingly brought into use fairly early on considering my current flu-soaked condition…when I put our Christmas boxes up into the loft all ready for next year’s festivities.  I was impressed…I’ve never had one before and fortunately there have been only a couple of occasions in the past where I could have done with one.  Still there’s always room for something new and it’s a damn sight lighter than the torch I’ve been carrying around.  The Fatdog is terrified from the torch so what she’ll make of the head torch goodness knows.

Over the past couple of days I’ve begun to piece together some potential walking targets for this year, keeping in mind the need for shorter and less strenuous walks as suggested by my physio.  As a plan it was working pretty well in November so hopefully this wee bit of advance planning will see The Fatdog and I ready for action once the flu bug departs.

So far the list contains the basics of metres of ascent, distance and anticipated time to summit. I’m trying to keep us up to 12km distance preferably 600m max ascent and 2hr-30mins to summit.

Beinn Dearg – Glen Lyon                Corbett                4.5km    630m     2.10

Meall a Mhuic – Glen Lyon             Graham                3.8km    520m     1.40       guess

Beinn nan Imirean                           Corbett                5.0km    690m     2.20

Beinn Chuirn                                     Corbett                6.0km    700m     2.30

Tom Meadhoin                                Graham                3.6km    620        1.40       guess

Tinto Hill                                            Graham

Green Lowther                                 Graham                7km       390m     2.10

White Coomb                                   Corbett

Meall Tairneachan                          Corbett                3km       410m     1.20

Conic Hill                                           Marilyn

Conachcraig                                     Corbett                5km       470m     2.00

Creag nan Gabhar                           Corbett                6km       490m     2.10

Mount Blair                                       Graham                2.2km    425m     1.20

Monamenach                                   Corbett                2km       450m     1.20

Meall na Leitreach                          Corbett                3km       370m     1.20

Sow of Atholl                                    Corbett                3km       400m     1.20

The Fara                                            Corbett                4.5km    550m     2.00

Birnam Hill                                        Marilyn

Ben Donich                                       Corbett                3.5km    550m     1.40

Stob Coire Creagach                       Corbett                10.7km  810m     4.30       Total figs

Meall an Fhudair                              Corbett                6.0km    800m     2.40

Binnein Shaus                                   Graham                6.0km    500m     2.30       guess

As I expected when I began to compile the list, there are a good number of Corbetts and Grahams putting in an appearance but, so far, no Munros.  This may change if my muscles eventually do what they are supposed to.   I expect this list will be fairly fluid.  Already I’ve plans to do a few hills near Loch Goil which haven’t made it as far as the list yet.

Also I’ve still to slot in easy, non-hill, days but that will require yet another list.

It’s a bit difficult to tell how The Fatdog will cope this year.  She’ll be 8 in April and has been slowing up a bit without the constant hillwalking of a couple of years ago.  She’s also stiffening up of an evening especially after any sort of walk, so from her point of view we’ll have to take things nice and gentle.  If the problems persist then we’ll have to see about anti-arthritis medication.  She’s also having anxiety issues away from her daily dogwalk route so that may be another problem.  She’s always been fine in the hills so hopefully this anxiety only happens where there’s people around to make the “gunfire” type sounds that seem to set her on edge.

So we’re all set ready to go…well…other than new boots which are becoming inceasingly essential.

 
8 Comments

Posted by on January 7, 2011 in General Drivel

 

8 responses to “In Thoughtful Mood…

  1. alan.sloman

    January 7, 2011 at 2:39 pm

    That’s organisation, that is. A List of things to do. Oooh Err.

    I shall go and get something out of the freezer now for tea. That’s the limit of my organisational skills at the moment. That’s pretty good – it will only be the consistency of a wet house-brick rather than solid granite by tea-time.

     
  2. fatdogwalks

    January 7, 2011 at 5:42 pm

    Ah…sadly my defrosting skills are not at their best these days. 😦 I’ve forgotten defrost things so many times that rarely do I put anything in the freezer anymore, unless its for something like Christmas Day. That’s a “forget on pain of death” scenario…but one to which I respond quite well 😀 .

     
  3. Scott

    January 7, 2011 at 6:06 pm

    That’s making me weary just looking at all the hills on your list. Organised indeed. :0)

    The merino Buffs are great, btw – Marion got me one last year & it’s longer and more luxurious than the standard ones. Buffier, if you will. Oh, and you can never have too many headtorches. As my recent daylight miscalculation in Glenshee proves!

    Hope you and Maisie are both restored to prime hillwalking condition in no time.

     
  4. Oldmortality

    January 7, 2011 at 7:52 pm

    Well I’ve got 20.7 km and 510m on my 2011 spreadsheet already, so you’ll need to go some to catch up. Eat my dust !

     
  5. Anonymous

    January 8, 2011 at 8:23 am

    Excellent Ken. I look forward to assisting you in getting some of that list ticked off.

     
  6. fatdogwalks

    January 8, 2011 at 11:35 am

    Scott – don’t let the length of the list disguise the fact that these hills are at the “baby walking” end of the hillwalking scale. My list is to prevent my usual Friday night stress out when I put myself off going out the next day by over-researching at the last minute. This is how I used to do it when I started hillwalking. Iread almost everything about the hill, so that long before I go I am ready for fences, locked gates, parking, etc.

    I’m already working weeks in advance looking at Google Streetview for parking and sometimes access to the first part of the walk. I’ve also scoured the trip reports at scottishhills.com for any dribbles of useful info.

    Had the polar buff on yesterday for dog walking – superb! Will try the merino wool one today as we trudge through the 3″ of snow that appeared last night!

    OM – whoopee! A competition! 😀 Excellent – I love a challenge. I’ll give you a start until next weekend (weather permitting) then after that your arse will be well and truly kicked! 😆 .

    Anonymous – just has to be MrP. On that basis – I thought you might like the mainly Corbett list. I was planning this towards the end of last year to give me do-able hills closer to home. I knew I would be struggling to find “easy” Munros within my normal day trip range. Apart from that with most of my friends from shills doing Corbetts and Grahams it made more sense in terms of meeting up to do the odd hill. 😀 . I just have to remember to take it easy – I have a nasty tendency to speed up at times which has been counter-productive in the long term.

     
  7. Anonymous

    January 9, 2011 at 1:56 pm

    Walking with me should certainly cure that ‘nasty tendency’ 🙂 .

     
  8. fatdogwalks

    January 9, 2011 at 2:13 pm

    Why are you still anonymous MrP? 😆 Lost your identity? Afraid I’ve no idea how you get it back but I’m sure you’ll work it out. 😀

     

Leave a Reply

 
