RSS

Depression is – Going Back to Work

10 Jan

It was bad enough having to return to the old regime of the early morning trail around the streets in the winter dark – The Fatdog in tow; but even worse, today it was back to work for yours truly.  The Christmas holiday had been well and truly buggered up by my wee flu-like germ and now it was back to the daily grind, with me still coughing its remains out of my system.

As I sat at my desk, cup of tea in hand, staring blankly at the computer screen I realised the day wasn’t going to get much better…dentist at 3.30 followed by a shopping trip to Asda.  I could hardly contain my joy.

It appeared that I’d had a fairly decent holiday period compared to others at work; one in hospital with a stroke and others, worse than myself, sounding one step from the netherworld.  The attrition rate of elderly relatives had been far higher than the seasonal norm with local crematoriums suffering lengthy backlogs thus adding to the general misery.  Then there were friends of colleagues families who had departed this earth or were diagnosed for imminent departure.  I don’t recall a return to work quite like it.

I checked my wrist for a pulse…just to make sure. 😉

 
2 Comments

Posted by on January 10, 2011 in General Drivel

 

2 responses to “Depression is – Going Back to Work

  1. Florene

    January 10, 2011 at 11:12 pm

    You just confirmed a suspicion I’ve had over here. Having been a resident of this area since 1959, and being in the advanced senior population, I tend to browse the newspaper obits. Often there’s someone listed whom I knew. In the past few weeks, the Sunday edition obit section has gone from an average of 2 pages, to three. It’s happened the past three Sundays. We’ve had exceptionally cold weather for us. This morning it was 27 degrees, with ice fog. That just isn’t our normal weather. You’ve had your series of exceptional cold and snow. Wonder if there’s a connection to mortality. Probably.

     
  2. fatdogwalks

    January 11, 2011 at 10:21 pm

    Not to sure how it works. I always thought that the flu-bugs didn’t like the really cold weather (which we’ve had this year in abundance) so guessed that flu deaths would be down – but I don’t believe that is the case as there seems to be a bit of an epidemic this year. I think there’s always a bigger risk to old people when the temperatures are low anyway eg houses not being heated properly. Fire deaths are up with people either heating their houses carelessly…or being under the influence and accidentally setting fire to their homes. So it’s a real mismatch of reasoning. I think we’ll stick to colder weather = greater risk. That should sum it up. 😀

     

Leave a Reply

 
