RSS

Fired up and ready to go!

14 Jan

I’m fired up and ready to go!  😀

I trust you really didn’t believe that?

Truth be told, it’s more a case of me being hopeful.

Hopeful that the tummy bug that struck this week has died away; hopeful that the “toothache” (more than likely post flu sinus generated effects – according to my dentist) doesn’t get any worse; hopeful that the paracetamol does its stuff and hopeful that Sunday’s weather is good enough to make a walking trip worth while.  This is not the full “up and at ‘em!” attitude I would have liked to have portrayed but, in the absence of anything more enthusiastic, I’m afraid it will have to do for now.

I’m very rarely ill, so this lurching from one minor heath issue to another is becoming the proverbial pain in the arse, though fortunately I don’t seem to have caught that…yet!

I have plans for FD and I to tackle Tinto on Sunday, a gentle wee stroll up a hill with a path all the way to the top giving us another tick on the list of Grahams.  It’s an odd direction for us to take, heading south to Lanark.  Other than a couple of expeditions to the Lake District we’ve never before headed south to go hillwalking.  It’s probably good to start the new year doing something different, rather than our normal northerly trail up the A9 or the A84.

On a more depressing note I was checking back the past few years to see how dismal our hillwalking record had become and sadly was not to be disappointed.  Yes, it had become increasingly dismal.

In 2007, our first full hillwalking year, we did 37 hill walks.  We managed 31 in 2008, dropping to 17 in 2009 and a further 17 in 2010; a noticeable downward trend.  The hypothetical report card states the obvious…must do better!  😦

Will we do better this year…I do hope so.  😀

 
7 Comments

Posted by on January 14, 2011 in General Drivel

 

7 responses to “Fired up and ready to go!

  1. Florene

    January 14, 2011 at 8:18 pm

    Hope placing the web link in the above spot will work. We saw the program last night. I always wonder what’s truth and what’s fiction. Do you get Rudy’s programs?

     
  2. fatdogwalks

    January 14, 2011 at 8:26 pm

    Took me a minute to work out what you’d done Florene 😀 …the link appears in the email I receive telling me you’ve posted. Having a wee problem getting it to work just now…maybe a server problem.

     
  3. bob

    January 15, 2011 at 1:42 am

    Tinto and the southern hills have a soft rolling beauty which really grows on you Ken.Great for photography and they are handy now petrol is reaching £60 quid a tank:o)
    bob.

     
  4. Florene

    January 15, 2011 at 3:42 am

    Try this….. being in a hurry often makes waste, and I end up spending more time than less. Duh!
    http://www.iptv.org/series.cfm/9595/smart_travels_europe_with_rudy/ep:402

     
  5. fatdogwalks

    January 15, 2011 at 9:19 am

    A tank for “The Tank” is more like £80 Bob 😦 . One of the problems doing most of my walking with just me and Maisie. Given that I’d have to bribe anybody to travel with us (Maisie being known for mugging people for lunch) a walking partner would probably be counterproductive anyway – money wise.

    Florene still can’t make that link work. Can’t even get http://www.iptv.org to work. Maybe it’s only available in the US as there seems to be a British iptv.co.uk. Thanks for trying 😀 .

     
  6. Simon

    January 16, 2011 at 4:42 am

    Shameful Ken, shameful. I can see that it is my manifest duty to drag you up more hills this year. If necessary kicking and screaming. The conquerer of the CMD Arete should know no fear!

     
  7. fatdogwalks

    January 16, 2011 at 5:53 pm

    I never hold fear…only apathy 😦

    I look forward to being dragged…it implies less effort on my part 😀 .

     

Leave a Reply

 
