RSS

Following Doctor’s Orders

21 Jan

She said walks.  I distinctly heard her say walks.

It’s not very often that you’ll ever agree with a GP but mine was most definitely on the button.  Walks were just what The Fatdog and I needed.  I was never going to convince J that the odd hillwalk would be in order in the coming 7 days.  She is firmly of the belief that there is no way on earth the doctor would ever have suggested walks to me if she so much as suspected that I’d cheerfully head up the nearest mountain a couple of days after a 3 week illness.  FD and I were TOLD we were going to have to settle for something less strenuous.

We hadn’t been to the country park at Plean for over a month now so, on a frosty -4C morning, we popped into The Tank and drove the few miles along the A9 to the old estate for a wee amble.

As we left Larbert the place was shrouded in a grey blanket of fog…but as luck would have it a few miles distant the country park was bathed in bright winter sunlight.

The first thing to grab my attention was a thin layer of ice covering a leaf filled ditch.

Once away from the tree lined main avenue the effects of the morning’s frost became apparent.

The Fatdog was happy.  The frost had crisped over boggy ground leaving the reeds an ideal rolling pit.  It took me at least 5 minutes to move her from here.  We weren’t in a hurry anyway.

On the old south coal bing, planted over some years ago with silver birch, there was a distinct winter wonderland setting.  Further plantings of heather, pine and other native Scottish species of plant are beginning to mature – a beautiful combination at any time of year but especially worth seeing when covered in frost.

A small flock of bullfinches crossed our path.  This was the best I could manage with the wee Fuji.

Well…it was a nice wee walk…for starters! 😉

.

Here’s a link to the photo slideshow in Flickr

 
7 Comments

Posted by on January 21, 2011 in Plean Country Park

 

7 responses to “Following Doctor’s Orders

  1. Gayle

    January 21, 2011 at 9:03 pm

    Oooh, you’ve still got it all hoary up there. I’m jealous! (Of the hoariness that is, not of the three weeks of illness that have led to the ‘enforced walking’ 😉 )

     
  2. Florene

    January 21, 2011 at 9:22 pm

    FD lying on her back in pure ecstasy….. what a photo, and what a message it sends!
    That made the walk even more worthwhile.

     
  3. fatdogwalks

    January 21, 2011 at 10:39 pm

    Hi Gayle 😀 It was a cracker of a morning. We don’t get frost like that too often – usually it thaws pretty quickly and its gone fairly early. I’ve been promising myself a walk around that old coal bing in the frost for a few years but that’s the first time opportunity, frost and sun have coincided. I could have done without the preceding weeks however 😆 but, I suppose, if hadn’t been signed off I would have missed the frost…so I suppose it’s an ill…etc. Bad choice of phrase really wasn’t it. 😀

    There are about half a dozen similar photos Florene…I couldn’t get her to budge! It was good to see her enjoying a walk although there were a few bangs in the distance which meant I had to distract her on occassions. All in all it went pretty well though. 😀

     
  4. Simon

    January 22, 2011 at 2:43 pm

    Ask your GP if you can do ‘moderate exercise’.

     
  5. fatdogwalks

    January 22, 2011 at 3:35 pm

    It’s not the GP I’m scared of MrP 😳 . It took her so long to get me to the GP that she’s not going to be tolerating any hillwalking nonsense 😦 . Just now I’m planting seeds in her mind that I’ll hopefully be doing a longer walk “on the flat” – somewhere nice – by Tuesday or Wednesday. I reckon playing poker would be easier.

     
  6. annienz

    January 24, 2011 at 7:24 am

    Looks very pretty, and it’s great to see & hear that Maisie enjoyed herself! Have you also had some good meals as instructed??

    🙂 Annie

    PS – The last post that I put a comment on seems to have disappeared???

     
  7. fatdogwalks

    January 24, 2011 at 11:00 am

    Putting on weight again – fast! 😆 Glad my appetite came back. It’s really been missing since Christmas. Made a butternut squash and lemon rissoto which worked out well 😀 .

    The post will magically re-appear soon. For some reason some of my new posts are being viewed regularly by some odd sites. I don’t know if they can do any harm but I’m not taking any chances and am trying to throw them off the scent. This means converting posts to “drafts” then making them live again a day or so afterwards.

     

Leave a Reply

 
