RSS

Important Change Coming Up – Please Note

17 Feb

In a weeks time you may not be able to find the blog via search engines…so please bookmark the main page…or save the blog address somewhere…or note down my email address.

Being naturally grumpy I’m fed up with a lot of hits on the blog that are spammers/wasters etc, all buggering up my stats for no good reason.  🙄  All new posts seem to be affected.  I’m not particularly bothered about the stats…but I want to stuff the irritants as a matter of principle!  😆

Not being a computer genius I reckon step one to getting rid of them is to make the blog invisible to search engines.  If that fails the blog will go private. 😯

I have also set up a replacement blog…just in case. 😀

 

 

 
13 Comments

Posted by on February 17, 2011 in General Drivel

 

13 responses to “Important Change Coming Up – Please Note

  1. Florene

    February 17, 2011 at 8:33 pm

    Thanks for the heads up! I’ll save your blog URL in my address book…. already have your email address. Wish I had some good pointers for the easiest way to solve this problem, but I don’t. My tech knowledge is so limited, unless I’ve actually been through a trial ‘n error process myself.

     
  2. Oldmortality

    February 18, 2011 at 7:34 pm

    Feel free to borrow some ideas from my blog. This is sure to dramatically reduce the number of visits you get.

     
  3. fatdogwalks

    February 18, 2011 at 8:48 pm

    Thanks Florene…I’ve considered doing this for a while but always put it off because I noticed that most days someone typed in fatdogwalks (or some variation of that) into a search engine to find the blog – I assumed it was the same person/people.

    If it wasn’t…then FD and I are MEGA-famous! 😆 😆 😆

    Many thanks for the offer Om…I’m now trying to decide how over-effective your offer might be. 😉 I could forward you some of my spammers and wasters by way of compensation…but that would then reduce my visitors to…um…one! 😦 Maybe we need to start doing…gear reports!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

     
  4. alan.sloman

    February 19, 2011 at 3:29 pm

    Gear reports… Yes… I knew there was something vital missing from this place. Goretex laces or Paramo laces?

     
  5. russell campbell

    February 19, 2011 at 5:16 pm

    Hi Ken. I’m not sure I understand your comments about “spammers and wasters buggering up my stats.” I frequently click on your website, often to re-read an article or to look at the photos. I do this because I enjoy reading about hillwalks / looking at pictures of hillwalks. Does this make me a “spammer and waster” and “stat buggerer-upper”? If so, I apologise. This was not the intention. All the best, Russell

     
  6. fatdogwalks

    February 19, 2011 at 7:08 pm

    Hi Russell…whoops…my apologies for not being clear. 😳

    I wasn’t referring to actual blog readers, but sites which are “hitting” the blog. These are not readers like yourself but eg foreign insurance companies, joke sites and general weirdos – not anyone who actually reads the content of the site. They will “hit” multiple times trying to get me to click on their links. You won’t be able to see them because they only appear on my stats page. For a while I was getting more nuisance hits than real hits.

    I reckoned that taking the blog off the search engines might stop leading them to the site. I can tell that that a number of readers find the blog by continually typing in the address in a search engine…hence the warning to them to bookmark or note my email so they could find me again.

    Hope that this explains a wee bit better the thinking behind the post…and my apologies again for any misunderstanding. Many thanks for reading the blog and I hope you will continue to keep dropping in to see what we’ve been up to.

     
  7. fatdogwalks

    February 19, 2011 at 7:10 pm

    Any more gear talk Mr Sloman and I’ll appear on your blog extolling the benefits and aesthetic qualities of windfarms in the NE and how all we hillwalkers like them – cause if we see one we have some idea of where we might be! 😉

     
  8. russell campbell

    February 19, 2011 at 7:36 pm

    Thanks, Ken. Keep the articles coming. Russell

     
  9. Dan

    March 4, 2011 at 11:01 am

    I’m trying to think if there’s anything you can do that’s not as drastic as removing yourself from Google, but can’t think of any.

    It’s a shame, but for blogs like these, the most important thing is your readership and word of mouth.

     
  10. fatdogwalks

    March 4, 2011 at 8:45 pm

    Well Dan – today I decided I’d had enough! I’m now overrun with “views” from waster-sites, about 70% of the total views.

    I’ve been setting set up a new blog to mimic (sort of) the old one and it will be going online tonight. Hopefully that should do the trick 😀 .

     
  11. Dan

    March 7, 2011 at 2:21 pm

    Good luck with that!

     
  12. fatdogwalks

    March 7, 2011 at 5:44 pm

    I think I managed it Dan! It was a somewhat fraught weekend as the new blog theme had a number of differences from the old. I still haven’t sussed out all the possibilities yet. Just hope thaqt people remember to follow the link on “The Last Post” post. 😀

    http://www.wherethefatdogwalks.wordpress.com

     
  13. günstigster online-kredit

    September 1, 2017 at 7:30 pm

    Some really wonderful content on this web site, thanks for contribution. “The key to everything is patience. You get the chicken by hatching the egg, not by smashing it.” by Arnold Glasgow.

     

Leave a Reply

 
